Home » Gate Guarding » Mud Doesn’t Begin To Describe It

Mud Doesn’t Begin To Describe It

January 11, 2011  by Debbie

Good golly it’s cold in Texas! My feet didn’t get warm until 5pm. The vacuum kept tripping the space heater, the space heater tripped the tea kettle which in turn, tripped the breaker that makes the outside bells ring! It was so peaceful until I realized what had happened. I almost froze Willie (Danny Glover) because he’s too polite to honk.

It’s so cold that Larry came by and told us to fill our water tank and disconnect the water. Since we can’t vacuum and run the heaters and now have the water turned off, I’m resigned to the fact that it’s not possible to be both warm AND clean. While my rational self knows, it’s much more important to be warm, I have to see, clean runs close second.


Cleanliness is next to Godliness (did anyone really teach me that?). I’m not sure if the axiom was somehow ingrained in me when I was growing up or if it’s just a personal fetish. Either way, I’ve come to the realization that the hardest part this job for me is that I really don’t like dirt.

I don’t like dust, which is comprised of tiny pieces of dirt, covering every surface about 30 minutes after I clean them; then there’s the plane dirt which, along with Henry, we regularly track in requiring twice daily vacuuming; finally there’s MUD. I really don’t like mud.

I hate the way is sucks my shoes off and fills in every grove so that I’m walking on a smooth, grippless, slippery plane. I hate hearing the bell and scrambling down the steps into wet, cold mucky shoes (3 pair now) that I only half put on. I especially hate mud when I’m standing in the headlights of a huge fuel truck and I have to pick up my mud-stuck shoe and carry it back with me to the RV while my sock soaks up the wet dirt.

The fact that mud is far more distressing to me than getting up to open the gate at night, or not having TV or Internet access indicates raises some questions about my mental well-being. I just finished reading Shades of Grace (about an advice columnist who develops Alzheimer’s) and actually have had plenty of questions regarding my mental acuity every since.

I spent 4 hours today at the Three Rivers library, trying to get this blog up and running and found that I couldn’t find Day 3, 4, 5, 9 & 10. I was about to start reading Your Heart Belongs to Me by Dean Koontz but you know how Koontz novels go and I seem to be in a suggestible state. Maybe I should read something by Nora Roberts instead?

6 thoughts on “Mud Doesn’t Begin To Describe It

  1. Pingback: Joe Series – More Cons « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Pingback: 40 Days and 40 Nights « FORK IN THE ROAD

What do you think?

