Home » Gate Guarding » Why Gate Guard in Texas?

Why Gate Guard in Texas?

I’ve been drawn to the simple life as long as I can remember.

“In the popular mind, the phrase simple living has often been associated with self-denial… In reality the phrase can just as easily be associated not with what is lost, but with what is gained.” Frank Levering.

It’s not what I had to lose that got me here, it’s what I hoped I’d gain.

  • No yard work means I’m picking the wildflowers and weeds from beside the road and in fields.
  • No basement, attic or garage means I’m free to make organization under the RV into art form.
  • No critical or nosy neighbors means I can be pleasant to everyone at the gate because they are transients like me and we’re not placing expectations on each other.
  • No walls to paint or wallpaper to strip means I can focus on the symbolic and treasured art I’ve chosen to hang in the RV.
  • No evenings planning ‘fix-it’ lists because I can fix things quickly or I call someone to help us.
  • No snow to scoop or leaves to rake means I have joy in taking pictures of the seasonal changes.
  • No bushes to trim or gardens to weed means I have fun collecting bits of nature and putting them outside on the bench or picnic table.
  • No holidays to plan means that whenever I want I have time call my son and my mom and I have time to pray for them during their hectic seasons or their crises.
  • No large surfaces to clear means my stuff is right where it should be and easy to find.
  • No bookshelves, display cases or end tables means I can rotate all my precious things and focus on them.
  • No weekends spent housecleaning because it takes 15 minutes or less to completely vacuum and pick up.
  • No dust collecting for weeks in a spare room. Now it takes 5 minutes to dust the whole RV.
  • No storage sheds to rent and sort out means I give my extra things to people along the way.
  • Fewer chores means I have time for writing, reading and praying.
  • DVR and direct TV means I never watch TV by accident anymore. I have time to listen to the birds.
  • No big closets or cupboards means I know where everything goes and I have only what I need or love.

Not attending to what matters little so I can gain freedom to do what matters most.

Life Is Good: Simple words from Jake and Rocket

Simplify. I could fall back into that word like a child leaning into a hammock: Swinging and gliding gently to rest.

4 thoughts on “Why Gate Guard in Texas?

  1. Pingback: Mission Statements Out… Mottos In « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Thanks Trudy and Cathy! I appreciate your leaving comments. Best we can figure we have between 30 and 50 people that regularly stop by and all but three are lurkers! It’s like warm homemade bread to see a comment! Thanks.

  3. WOW You have spoke my heart. In the recent eerie (? spelling) quiet I remember that for years I have wanted the challenge of living very very simply….like in a trailor…to save money and be just SIMPLE. It wasn’t from you it’s been something in me. It (I think) was prompted by a coworker Kathy Czapleski in the early 80’s. She and her husband came here from the east with a pull along and 2 greyhounds and a cat. He worked at Duane Arnold and she with me in the foodservice dept at a local hospital. I remember admiring her…thinking it sounded like fun. I’m not sure what God wants me to do. But it is a part of me.

What do you think?

