Home » Week_Ends » Wouldn’t You Like to be a Pepper, Too?

Wouldn’t You Like to be a Pepper, Too?

Week_Ends: #1

I’m adding a new category, Week-Ends, on Saturdays and Sundays.

The idea is short posts about things that never quite made it into Fork during the week.

Never good if you can shake hands with a truck driver from the steps of your RV

Categories:

1. Things I’ve seen this week …

a picture without a post

or

2. Things I’ve been told this week …

Baked Coon is really good with baked potatoes and baked beans!

or

3. Things I’ve learned this week

Tonight it’s #3 – All about the Pepper

There’s a lot of talk about peppers in Texas. Mostly jalapenos.

I have  a jukebox mentally. Everything I hear reminds me of a song. Peppers remind me of this Dr Pepper jingle from the 70’s:

Isn’t it funny that the state that calls every soft drink a Coke, is the home of Dr (no period) Pepper?

Dr Pepper is the oldest major soft drink manufacturer in the United States.

It was invented in Morrison’s Old Corner Drug Store in Waco,Texas by the Brooklyn-born pharmacist, Charles Alderton.

Dr Pepper was sold for the very first time on 12th January 1885.

There are currently 9 varieties of Dr Pepper on the market.

There is a Dr Pepper club concerning all things Dr Peppery!

The Dr Pepper 10-2-4 Club is a national organization of people dedicated to the study of the history and collecting  memorabilia of the Dr Pepper Company. Annual dues are $25.

Although Dr Pepper was invented in Waco, the only place in the world where they still make Dr Pepper according to it’s original formula is in Dublin (Texas), where it is bottled with Imperial Pure Cane Sugar.

For one week, during the month of June, Dublin is officially known as Dr Pepper, Texas.

10-2-4 aren’t just random numbers!

It became a Dr Pepper advertising slogan: Drink a bite to eat at 10, 2 and 4  after a researcher at Columbia discovered the body’s natural metabolism drops at 10:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. A good swig of the pure cane sugar at 10-2-4 could stave off the energy crash.

I couldn’t resist ending with this is a classic Dr Pepper commercial from the 60’s

10-2-4!

It’s Dr Pepper time!

15 thoughts on “Wouldn’t You Like to be a Pepper, Too?

  1. Now I have bad snake kharma. A 6′ rattler was killed just 40′ away by a tool pusher here five hours ago. I want Andy to take a picture of it cuz. I’m scared to death of snakes. The tool pusher knew this and he ran over it for my safety. Wheeeehhhh.

  2. The real crux of this biscuit is how close yer Rv is to the road. Do like we did and park it at an angle to the road. I can sit on the sofa and see the front Gate and Andy can sit at the dinette and see way down the road at the oncoming trucks. That way your bed is furthest from the road and I’ll tell you what, 7-8′ makes a Huge difference in noise transferance. Cheers.

  3. Baked coon? I think one would have to be pretty well “baked” to eat a racoon…although I’ve heard of it…I’ve also heard of people eating armadillo…but I ain’t gonna!!

    • 5 Foot Bears’ Dad is the one who told me to always have baked potatoes and beans with baked coon. He was sober at the time of the telling. I don’t know about his condition when eating! 🙂 Just gotta love these guys! I know they find my lack of backwoods survival skills to be even funnier than I find their choice of cuisine!

  4. Hey, Dublin is right up by my home town of Brownwood!! You guys…er…y’all should visit it sometime! Interesting plant in a dinky little town!!

    Now…where’s my Mountian Dew? LOL!

What do you think?

