Home » Gate Guarding » We’re Not in Kansas Anymore… Are We?

We’re Not in Kansas Anymore… Are We?

If you click to enlarge this picture, you'll see Henry is also surveying his new surroundings!

The swirling house lands on the Wicked Witch of the East.

Dorothy opens the door to a strange new techno-colored world.

She meets Glinda, the Good Witch of the South, who’s rejected brooming and travels in a bubble to indicate her goodness.

Dorothy is charmed by the Munchkins who will soon celebrate and welcome her to Munchkin Land.

But just before all of this, Dorothy surveys her surroundings and says:

Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore! (link to clip)

We moved to a new drill site on Saturday.

Friday it was the swamp and the bull!

Moving as a Gate Guard is a little more complicated than moving as a camper.

We started before daylight, coiling the air hose, the extension cords and the satellite cables.

We put the lights and stop sign by the wagons for Jamie, took down the pictures that don’t travel well, put away the breakables and fastened the cabinet doors.

We were ready at 6:45 when we had a slight mechanical malfunction: the steps refused to retract. They finally slid in as a semi-driver I’d just met the night before arrived with breakfast and lunch for us! So nice of him!

We made a quick trip into Nixon to get gas and wash the RV. I pulled up to the Tall wash stall when Heidi hollered Stop! I guess the RV is taller than tall. Those of you who read Fork regularly know that I have dirt issues. We hadn’t washed the RV since we left Oregon December 15th.

I was determined. I put my 4 quarters in and washed its nose. As Heidi predicted, I think I made it worse, but I felt better for trying.

Saturday it's wheat... and wheat!

Our new site is just 5 miles north of our last location, on the same dirt road. Good old Eagle Ford Shale territory!

We went from the beautiful, if somewhat eerie, Louisiana-like swamp land, to the golden wheat fields of … Texas? All without ever leaving Gonzales county.

It felt as if the wind had picked us up and plopped us down in a strange new land!

Maybe it was prophetic. Henry VIII was a reject pup. He was 5 months old when I got him. Barb, the breeder, had given up on ever selling him and had named him, you guessed it: Toto!

I got Henry in Iowa, but this certainly looked like Kansas! As we crossed the cattle gate I looked at him and said: Henry, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Texas anymore!

I was wrong, of course.

I parked the RV and was starting to step out, when the wind caught the door ushering in a cloud of caliche, leaving no doubt that we were still in The Lone Star State!

At home at Holmes 1-H

Home is where your heart is.

If you’re a full-timer, home is also wherever your RV is.

Wheat or woods, it’s all good.

There’s no place like home…

There’s no place like home…

There’s no place like home…

5 thoughts on “We’re Not in Kansas Anymore… Are We?

  1. Pingback: Think You’ve Got Troubles? Tighten Your Laces! « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. My oh my , my friends are on the road again . Definitely home is where the heart is, I send the biggest of Heart Hugs to my friends.

    • Well by gosh, by golly, it’s you, Sue! It made me smile just to see your name pop up! Heart Hugs have already been sent to Oregon. You should be receiving them any minute!

What do you think?

