Home » Attitudes » That Man Is Richest Whose Pleasures Are The Cheapest

That Man Is Richest Whose Pleasures Are The Cheapest

“Poor and content is rich and rich enough.” –  William Shakespeare

The Royal Wedding is in a few hours but that’s not what prompted this post. With no topic in mind for the night, I put off writing and read my favorite blogs instead. I have eclectic blog tastes, but the ones I read regularly are written by fellow travelers.

Some are written by other gate guards; some by full-time RVers; some by friends who are taking a year off to see the world; some by those whose travels are cerebral rather than physical.

What attracts me to this diverse group is their appreciation of the daily graces and the ease in which they inhabit their skin. They are folks who are so comfortable with themselves that others forget to be ill-at-ease when they’re with them. What a rare gift.

That man is richest whose pleasures are the cheapest.  Henry David Thoreau, 1856

Thoreau wrote those words exactly 100 years before I was born. The price of  material pleasure has certainly increased, but the richness he refers to isn’t affected by inflation.

We who live in rolling homes tend to talk a lot about simplifying. It’s a necessary life skill when you live in an RV. But simplicity doesn’t guarantee a life of richness.

You can never get enough of what you don’t need to make you happy. –  Eric Hoffer

I’ve decided that what draws me to these blogs, wildly varying  as they are, is the contentment of the people who write them. I mean contentment, not complacency; very different attitudes which are occasionally made to seem synonymous.

I read blogs of people of significant financial means and of some who live on only on their Social Security checks. All are people who refuse to laugh at others, but can freely laugh at themselves. They are folks whose happiness is settled internally, and doesn’t come unhinged by appearances or circumstances. With or without, they have learned to be content.

My riches consist not in the extent of my possessions but in the fewness of my wants.
–  J. Botherto

So it was contentment that prompted this post. In the spirit of contentment and simplicity, I’ll keep this short. I often include clips in my posts. This may be my favorite so far. The amazing Yo Yo Mau is playing, Alison Krauss is singing and the pictures do paint a thousand words.

5 thoughts on “That Man Is Richest Whose Pleasures Are The Cheapest

  1. Pingback: Rethinking It « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Thanks ever so much Debbie. Just finished holding my 4 week old grandson, who lives with us,along with mom. Life is good!

What do you think?

