Home » Polls » Always Leave Them Wanting More

Always Leave Them Wanting More

This quote is sometimes attributed to Bobby Womack, sometimes to Walt Disney. From what I can tell, the original saying came from the man who always left them wanting more with The Greatest Show on Earth, Phineas T. Barnum.

By the way, he didn’t actually say: There’s a sucker born every minute. He’s thought to have said: There’s a customer born every minute, but of course that’s less fun to quote!

There’s been a new post born every day on Fork since December 28th of 2010 when we first started gate guarding. That’s 128 days. I’ve written most of these since Heidi is also writing daily on her Good Life blog.

Heidi’s been researching blogs: ideal length, 500 words or less. Frequency… can’t find any stats. Heidi wrote a poll for her GL blog. I decided it was a good idea to do the same for Fork.

I’d like this to be a place for a bit of information and a bit of fun, with occasional commentaries mixed in. It isn’t The New York Times and there aren’t staff writers making it funny, so whether the vote comes in stronger for daily or weekly or in-between, I can’t guarantee there’ll be any improvement in quality. I am aiming for that 500 word count, though.

Please vote. I’ll look at the results in a week and that’s the direction I’ll take. It’s anonymous so hopefully that will eliminate all hesitation.

I’d like this to be a fun place to visit, not a burden to try to read everyday. I’m thinking fewer post would be better … So let me know. I’d also welcome comments and suggestions. If I don’t like them I can always delete ’em 😀

P.T. Barnum knew a thing or two about what people want. I don’t want to wear out my welcome.

18 thoughts on “Always Leave Them Wanting More

  1. Awww thanks! I do know that in radio we had to listen to ourselves. We are often our strongest critics. I suppose the same goes for writing…I like to re-read some of my old stuff too, and i cringe quite often as well…oh well…it’s a creative outlet. I’m a musician…so not having that to be creative with, writing kind of fills a void.

  2. Pingback: Spinning a Yarn « FORK IN THE ROAD

  3. Yea, I’m thinking of just writing now and then also. If you read this morning blog, I went on and on ad nauseum about weather…I just didn’t have anything else to write about…and it showed. Tonight’s was fun though. I wouldn’t blame you for not writing daily. it’s harder than people realize.

    • John- Wow! You had quite the day! Certainly gave you plenty to write about. I guess where there’s fire there’s not necessarily smoke! I think the best part of writing daily for me is that it forces me to try to be creative: to either learn something new or find a new way of saying something. I don’t want to fall into the habit of just watching TV all night and I can’t seem to stay awake when I read. Sometimes I re-read old posts and cringe, but most of the time, I can keep the perspective that I’m writing to make myself a little sharper and that it isn’t required reading for anyone else. 🙂 I always enjoy your posts, by the way.

  4. I enjoy reading your blog every day but I would encourage you to write when you want. It must stay fun and interesting for you to enjoy.

    • Anita – thanks for reading and thanks for your comment. You’re one of the two people that made a comment on my favorite post – The Man Whose Richest… I’d blame it on the title, but it was the lowest reader day in a month and no one knew the title before the landing. Thanks for your input. I wish I could always keep it interesting and entertaining. Sometimes I have to just settle for entertaining myself. 😉

  5. According to the poll you get to write everyday. I read most days and as with “Good Life” if I dont have time to read when I open my inbox I always go back on break or lunch. I particularly enjoyed your Dr Pepper piece. Dr with no period, you could write a blurb at 10/2/4 each day……ha
    ~~ peace ~~
    Mg

    • Mg – I’m asleep at 10, just getting up at 2, pretty awake at 4. Possibly I could write all 3 of those times without anyone ever noticing the difference. 🙂 Are you a Pepper, too?

  6. HAHA! Daily! I don’t think my few readers care whether I post daily or not, but I look forward to yours!! It often-times makes my whole day!! Again I say, DAILY!!

    • OK John, now you’re just being nice, which of course is one of the things I like best about you! 🙂 I’m sure the people who read Fork don’t care either. Isn’t it strange seeing the numbers and having absolutely no idea who’s reading or why? Maybe that’s what my poll should have been: Who are you? Why are you reading this?

  7. I enjoy your writing Debbie, I really do but when it becomes forced things change. You might grow to resent it, seeing it as a chore instead of a creative outlet. Your readers don’t pay for a subscription — we get a glimpse of your life when you choose to share it with us.

    Write when you have something to say. That sentiment has worked out OK for me over the years.

    • Andy – so are you saying you can tell which nights I fall asleep at the keyboard? 🙂 I guess when I started out, it was to do something more like Kit and Jerry, a daily journal type blog. It quickly became apparent that I don’t know enough about the industry to do that and it didn’t mesh with my wandering mind. You’re right, Andy, when it stops being fun, it stops being interesting.

  8. I look forward to reading everyday. I am a graveyard shift newby and like knowing someone is up with me at 3:05. You make me laugh and that is good. However, I must confess I read your blog before we started gateguarding. It helped in our decision to give it a try. So far – so good!!

    • Hey there, Jill! The first week is the hardest! It really gets a lot easier from there on, well, except for the caliche, the wind, the heat, the snakes, the wild hogs, the…
      Kidding! 😀 Glad you guys are liking it! Everyday certainly is an education! After 4+ months, I had to have Brian repeat “floor hand” 3x for me tonight, referring to his new harr(I can’t spell it the way he says it but there’s no i in hire) before I knew what he was saying. At least I’ve quit writing him in as the “Toe Pusher”! Haven’t been bored a day yet! Keep in touch!

  9. but that’s just me being greedy. He hehehe. I like to read and you always post when I’m getting really bored at 2 a.m. Don’t take that wrong! I enjoy your blog and tribulations.

    • OK Miss K, I’m trying to decide if that’s a compliment? I get it… It’s like last month’s People magazine at a hair saloon – at least it passes the time. 🙂

What do you think?

