Home » Gate Guarding » A Night With Darth Vader

A Night With Darth Vader

Way out here they have a name for wind and rain and fire
The rain is Tes ,
the fire’s Joe,
and they call the wind Mariah

Mariah blows the stars around,
sets the clouds a’flyin’
Mariah makes the mountain sound
like folks was up there dyin’
Mariah, (Mariah), Mariah (Mariah), they call the wind Mariah

There’s hasn’t been any sign of Tes for more than four months which is an invitation we all pray Joe continues to refuse. Mariah doesn’t need an invitation.
She’s a permanent resident.
If you Paint Your Own Wagon, you may Call the Wind Mariah.
I just call her Fierce.
The wind is relentless here in the flat lands, howling night and day.

The substance of the winds is too thin for human eyes…  ~John Muir

John Muir, the famous naturalist, clearly didn’t spend a lot of time in Texas. In Texas you can see the wind.

I used to think dirt devils were vacuum cleaners.

Now I know they’re day time apparitions in the southern Texas sky. They swirl like mini-tornadoes, hiding only when I grab the camera.

With the temperature creeping up to almost 100 today, all who passed through the gate ate grit when they opened their windows. By night fall, everyone was wind whipped and weary.

The gate finally slows down with midnight approaching. As I reach for my coffee, one soft light flickers to the rhythmic beating of the wind. I turn the page. The RV sways like a doll’s house.

The empty over-stuffed chair begins to rock on its own. I can see the whites of Henry’s eyes.

The bell rings and my arm nearly flies off with the door as the wind races in. I step outside. No one is there.

Henry’s ears stand straight up. I open the shades and turn off the flickering lamp. As I scoop up Henry, I hear the distinctive breathing. On this moonless night, Darth Vader has slipped into my living room.

I slowly reach behind me and flip the light back on. The wind continues to cry through the door and the RV feels like a small ship on a rough sea,.

Henry’s remains on high alert, but I can’t see the invader.

I pick up my dropped book and read several chapters, tension building. Suddenly the wind stops completely. The dramatic stillness is eerie.

Then, he breathes again. This time I look up in time to see him. His raspy breath seeps out of the dredges of my coffee pot. I turn it off. He emits one final sigh and moan.

Darth Vader returns to his alternate universe just as the wind picks up, once again rattling the windows and beating at the door.

12 thoughts on “A Night With Darth Vader

  1. Pingback: I’m Exhaust-ed « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Pingback: LinkedIn … More or Less « FORK IN THE ROAD

  3. You can keep that guy, I don’t like old Darth, but Mariah
    was a hollering at my place yesterday. Sure glad you have Henry to protect you. Heart hugs my friends.

    • Well, yes, Henry is quite helpful. Always the watch dog, ready with a good nuzzling and stare down. I’ve never had a dog who so enjoys staring into my eyes. Probably good he can’t talk, yet… 😀
      Gosh Mariah must have a lot of gusto since she was hollering in Oregon, crashing orchids in Arizona and wailing day and night in Texas! Hope she at least delivered the heart hugs I sent!

  4. Mariah just knocked my orchid off my window ledge and into the sink! She broke off the 3 beautiful orchids that were blooming! They were forecasting “breezy” conditions this afternoon. Boy were they RIGHT!! At least is wasn’t dark!!!

  5. Great bridge, would never have connected Mariah to Star Wars, but why not you have an incredible imagination, and time to develop it all alone in the dark with Henry and sounds that go bump in the night. Hey Henry, my offer to take you away still stands !

    Mariah was my song years ago, although I never gave it the context you just posted, hum, maybe I need to rethink my ……..I never connected her to dirt-devils, just freedom of spirit. PLUS, now I can’t get her out of my head Deb!
    xo

  6. Definitely can relate to this one!! Ours calmed down towards evening but it was a hair raiser during the day!!! Our crew were all afraid we would blow away. Wonderful group of guys – we will miss them!!!

    • That’s been the most pleasant surprise of the job – this nice guys, not the wind! Rarely do we come across anyone who’s anything but nice. Who knew? 🙂

What do you think?

