Home » Attitudes » I See the Moon and the Moon Sees Me

I See the Moon and the Moon Sees Me

I see the moon and the moon sees me. I’m so taken by it, I can’t seem to do anything but stare.
It’s after midnight.
I’ve had a really good heart to heart via AT&T with a friend whose heart is hurting.
A truck rumbles in about every hour.
I’ve eaten a banana.
I’ve watched 1 dance on DWTS.
And I’ve been mesmerized by the moon.
I tried to take a picture but my little point and shoot just can’t capture it.
If you’re a gate guard in Texas who works the night shift, it doesn’t get much sweeter than this.
May has managed one more night of lovely open the screen door 60’s temps.
The night sounds are just the gentle chirping of crickets.
If you follow Fork, you know that makes this a rare night: no squealing pigs, no mad bulls, no crazed coons, no giant insects flinging themselves into the lights, no wild wind shaking the shutters. (The RV doesn’t actually have any shutters, but you know what I mean.) I’m between pots of coffee, so even Darth is silenced.
When I was little, I don’t remember ever thinking the moon was made of cheese, but I often tried to see the man in the moon. I must have been a literalist since I always thought he lived in a little house and if I watched long enough he might look out his window, step outside and wave back at me.
I don’t feel like howling at the moon. I don’t really know how to howl. If howling is anything like screaming, I wouldn’t be any good at it. I had the lead in 2 plays. I was Lady Macbeth in 5th grade. For some reason, it was in our Weekly Reader and we performed it, costumes and all. I even had to say that famous line that was that was pretty inappropriate for a 5th grader.
And I was the entire on-stage cast of Sorry Wrong Number in 6th grade.
In both cases I had to have a stunt double. I couldn’t scream, so I just opened my mouth and Sara screamed really loudly in the wings. She was a great screamer.
I’m wondering what you feel when you look at the moon?
As I watch the moon’s steady climb tonight, I’m carried back to the great green room and the old lady whispering hush.
And to a poignant moment in The Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood when Sidda and Vivi sing:
I see the moon, and the moon sees me…
And the moon sees the one that I want to see..
So God bless the moon, and God bless me…
And God bless the one that I want to see.

Goodnight Moon and God bless…
3 thoughts on “I See the Moon and the Moon Sees Me

  1. Pingback: Bad Moon Rising « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. I miss seeing the moon. Reading this post made me realize it’s been weeks and weeks. We’ve had so many days of rain and clouds. I’m glad to know it’s still there 🙂

    I haven’t seen/read The Divine Secrets, but that line also reminded me of a bedtime I used to read to my girls … I see the moon and the moon sees me, God bless the moon and God bless me.

    Thanks for taking me there this morning 🙂

    • Malinda – My pleasure! I think it’s good for the heart to take an occasional trip to the moon. 🙂 So sorry you can’t see it. I’ve heard a rumor that it rains in Texas in November. We’ll see…
      I tried to find the origin if the moon rhyme – there are so many variations: book, poem, lullaby. I read Ya Ya long before the movie came out. Definitely a chick flick, but the cast alone makes it worth the watch.

What do you think?

