Home » Attitudes » Never, Ever Open Your Eyes in the Shower

Never, Ever Open Your Eyes in the Shower

I’m 54. It’ll be another 10 years before I’ve reached the endearing age of the Beatles hit from Yellow Submarine.

There don’t seem to be many economic changes that kick in at 54. I can’t even get senior coffee at McDonald’s for another year. But David Smidt, president of seniordiscounts.com, (Find Gold in the Golden Years) offers reassurance:ย  You’d be surprised who will shave off a percentage for a 55-plus customer if they ask. We have apartment complexes, Lincoln and Cadillac dealerships, car washes, tree service, lawn care, plumbers, handymen …

As a full-time RV-er, I’m not sure how many of these services I’ll need, still, good to know.

There have been some personal age related changes, though. I started gettingย  AARP cards in the mail when I turned 49. That was 9 years after I began highlighting my hair. Delora was my hairstylist and my friend. One day she said: Debbie, you’re starting to get a few grey hairs around your face, lets just blend them in with some highlights. We blended for the next 11 years.

After I left the Midwest, I tried a couple more times, but never found anyone who could make the highlights look like they came from an artist’s pallet instead of a squirt bottle, so I quit.

My eyesight isn’t the best and I don’t spend much time in front of the mirror. You can’tย  begin to imagine my surprise as I was getting ready for work, back when I still had to dress up for work, and I looked a bit closer than usual at my reflection. I was dumbfounded! I’d gone from 53, looking like 43, to 53 looking like 63 overnight!

That little bit of grey around my face, hidden beneath highlights now long gone, was apparently a white contagion that had infected two-thirds of my hair. It doesn’t run in my family. Maybe I was adopted. No one else has green eyes either…

As surprised as I’ve been about my hair, I had an even bigger age related surprise today.

About once a week, I plop Henry in the shower with me. It’s so dang dusty here that it’s a necessary to afflict this torture on his small frame.

He stands very still, which is good since an RV shower stall gives new definition to elbow room. In an RV, it’s a room where, if you put your hands on your hips and turn full circle, you can touch all 4 walls with your elbows.

Once Henry’s shower is complete, I finish mine.

I dutifully picked up the razor, as I have every time I’ve showered since I was 11. Today, for some reason, I opened my eyes. I never open my eyes in the shower. I don’t like getting soap in my eyes. Maybe I’m harboring some subconscious fear of what I’ll see, I don’t know. Anyway, I opened my eyes and there they were, my completely naked arm pits. When did that happen? How many years have I been squint-eyed shaving away at nothing?

I must be going through reverse puberty. Next week I’ll likely develop a case of acne and before you know it my front tooth will start to wiggle, but at least I’ve shaved 10 seconds off my showers!

How about you? Is there anything about your current age that’s come as a surprise?

11 thoughts on “Never, Ever Open Your Eyes in the Shower

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Know Why I Open My Mouth « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Debbie:
    You had DW & I laughin’ about hair & showering! too funny!

    BTW, when you’re bored some night, try this rather interesting site: http://www.globalincidentmap.com
    It shows hourly, earthquake reports,amber alerts,border security,forest fires,and even human trafficking reports. DOn’t know about its authenticity, but kinda fun! Enjoy ladies,and be safe.

    • Tom, if I made you laugh, it makes all that unnecessary scraping worth it! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll check out the site.,maybe not tonight. I think I may have hit my fear scary things limit for today. Ron just stopped by, popped out of the truck, carried his crock pot over to me to show me 2 black tarantulas… Since I know you’re a regular reader, you know I more than a little arachnophobic. I’m trying to decide whether to write a post about them or forget I ever saw them! ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care!

  3. I wash my hair last so I can keep my eyes open until the end of my shower. I hate water in my face! I do love not having to shave my arm pits,lol. I still have to shave my legs, but not nearly as often. I consider that one of the few perks of age!
    MY eyes are also green!! I know for sure you weren’t adopted. I remember being fascinated by Mother’s growing belly.
    LOVE YOU MY WONDERFUL SISTER!!

    • Sis – See, it’s that leg thing that through me off. I thought it would be a little more universal, I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry, I was thinking about how Mom and Dad didn’t have green eyes. Hazel+brown must equal green! I love you, too!!!

  4. Ha! She’s five years younger than I and I can explain the gray hair–I’m a carrier. A lot of people go gray from hanging out with me. The arm pits? She doesn’t even say arm pits, she’s so shy… this is going to be an interesting turn of the blog!

What do you think?

