Home » Attitudes » Blogging 101 from an Accidental Blogger

Blogging 101 from an Accidental Blogger

There’s a whole lot of thinking out loud in the Blogosphere. According to Wikipedia, as of February 16th, 2011, there were over 156 million public blogs in existence . Wow! That means every single person in the 10 most populous states from CA to NC could, at this very moment, be writing on their blog!

Blogging is primarily monologue, with bits and pieces of dialogue. For me, the dialogue days are the halcyon days. Since I don’t have an obvious niche (financial investment, cooking, parenting etc…), I really need to know why I’m writing. If you’re just starting a blog, maybe you can learn from my mistakes.

Mistake no# 1 – I had no idea what I wanted to say. I’m an accidental blogger. I was originally just  blog-sub.

Mistake no# 2 – I fell into the Stat trap, albeit a really tiny one. Average views per day: January – 10; February – 36;  March – 57;  April – 131;  May – 144. Who were these people and why were they reading? I should have been focused on answering no#1.

Mistake no# 3  – I committed to writing everyday whether I had anything to say or not (a bit like my talking).

Mistake#4  – I tried to remain PC at my PC, which allowed for some humor and some facts but shorted out when it came to engaging content.

Mistake #5 – Whatever it is, I’m probably still making it. I can only fix 4 problems at once…

So I’ll sign off tonight with a partial list of topics people have typed in to find Fork in the last 3 days. I’m no longer trying to find a pattern, I’m just trying to find a voice.

kurt vonnegut fork in the road quote
he showed the words “chocolate cake” to a group of americans
hand knuckles
“never save the day” song
little fork ranch in tilden, tx
epsom salt make you thirsty
every never eyes
my hair is stuck in a clound
pig in sunshine
gallop poll’s happiest cities in america 2011
fighters nature or nurture
goodnight mush
are frog legs good fried
annual egg jarping championship
things that were banned during the berlin wall
spittle alot
ruby slippers
coke thirsty conspiracy salt
strongest is the man whose pleasures are the cheapest
bullies, braggarts, backstabbers, and banshees answers
when did the word friggatriskaidekaphobia come out
lower than a snake’s belly in a wagon rut?
why can’t i see the moon tonight
everyone knows your name, knows what kind of truck you drive
gate guards jobs in tx
darth vadar invitation in houston
stuck pigs in smiley
rv sayings
barophobia+prognosis+of+recovery
wild boars in the city
fork sticks for snakes
olympic size ice rink
old darth
who said “always leave them wanting more”
daughters day 2011 love
oil rigs in texas
gate guards eagle ford shale
terry holland fso
do fulltime rvers find it hard to find a handyman
“would you like to try a pepper too?”
things that don’t belong together
south texas gate guard companies
who lost 800 to 900 million on friday the 13th
life lessons from the beverly hillbillies
i googled my therapists name
“dr pepper 10 2 4” song
eagle fork ford oil cap wells
i would know if i could
who make gate questions
every never eyes
fork in the road wordpress
can i place a flower-pot display on a fork road
king beheads wife
6 thoughts on “Blogging 101 from an Accidental Blogger

    • lol! My personal favorites were:” he showed the words “chocolate cake” to a group of americans” and “things that were banned during the berlin wall”. When I type those in the search bar, I don’t land at Fork! Funny. 🙂 I’ve got a feeling a lot of these folks won’t be returning, based on their interest engine!

  1. Well “you can!” in answer to Heidi’s comment. I tend to read them once or twice a week which has been a real delight as you do find and give voice.
    Keep on doin whatever it is you are doin and i’ll keep on reading.

    • Thanks so much Kay! Heidi was trying to find a category to put on the banner. She chose contemplative, but I think maybe it should just be eclectic! I really appreciate the fact that you’re reading and that you took the time to comment. Thank you.

What do you think?

