Home » You Betcha » If You Build It, They Will Come

If You Build It, They Will Come

I was just about to shut down the computer when I decided to take a look at Fork to see what unusual quest brought people here yesterday. I’ve started adding that to my evening entertainment. You were looking for what? Really? You typed in that and landed here?

I clicked on the stats page from yesterday and laughed right out loud! I’m pretty sure the person who ended up at Fork by searching for: cheap screen door cigarette smoke; or the one who entered: male personality disorder “other people have it so much worse”; or the individual looking for: right wing not left wing whole bird  had to have been disappointed. I still don’t understand how this happens. I don’t end up here when I enter these things in my search engine?

I can’t even imagine how surprised the cheap screen door cigarette smoke seeker was to be reading about the drama of always being dramatic, opening your mouth when applying mascara and a short series on grief.

I now know the biggest mistake I’ve made so far in blogging is in not having named this blog Good Night Moon. Almost every single day someone types in Good Night Moon or The great green room. I love Good Night Moon. I’ve read it more often than any other book, ever. I’m not sure how I’d base a whole blog around it but it certainly would have generated traffic!

If you’re thinking of starting a blog, I recommend this as a title. You’d be guaranteed at least one or two readers every day. There also seems to be a lot of interest in Ruby Slippers. If it’s not already taken, that would be a great name, too.

But it wasn’t the odd connections that made me laugh. After all my deliberating and debating about what to write, and who’s reading, and what’s pc enough and how frequently to write, I finally got THE answer.

Don’t write at all!

I decided on Friday, that I would start taking the weekends off. Yesterday was the first day I haven’t written a post in 5 months.

Yesterday I had almost 300 views (and all real people, none from those strange spamming sites)!  Yes, I know, that number is so low it doesn’t even register on the blog-o-graph, but I only have about 150 regular readers. How funny is it that when I don’t write, people read!

I’m from Iowa. I’ve been to the Field of Dreams. I get the message: If I don’t write, you will come! If not writing for one day, doubled my numbers, perhaps if I quit posting altogether, my readership will triple!

In the great green room there was a telephone and a red balloon and a picture of…

10 thoughts on “If You Build It, They Will Come

  1. Brain, Karla and I were talking about starting a blog and Good Nght Moon would be a great name for it. Every time someone typed that in to find the book for their young (or old) person would get our blog.
    I love reading Fork and find myself laughing out loud. thanks, Debbie

    • Kay, I’m not kidding, it’s a sure thing. I had no idea how many people love Good Night Moon! Maybe I should do a GNM week and write a post for each page or two? 🙂 Thanks again for reading and for laughing with me!

  2. I have just started reading your post. I found the link searching for gate gaurds in texas. I am trying to find a job for this fall. I met with one gentleman nd his wife that runs a gate gaurd company and he seemed honest. How can I find more info on the subject or find an ctual company to hire me? email me at trd1976 at aol.com

    • Tom – If you go to the upper right hand corner and click on Gate Guard Info you’ll find the contact number for Gate Guard Services, the company we work for.
      If you agree to work for someone else, I think the main thing you’ll want to find out is what kind of support they’ll provide. GGS supplies everything for us, from lights and bell to the generator, water, and diesel. They’re also quick to respond if we have a problem (like the night the generator blew a belt). It’s certainly an interesting life. For example, right now I need to leave to computer to go out and try to dissuade the calves and donkey from eating through my satellite cable – again. Good luck, Tom!

  3. Some of those searches are just amazing! I’ve actually decided not to write unless I have something to write about. Life seems much simpler at the storage unit.

    • John, what’s really funny is that since put the search for cheap screen door cigarette smoke and male personality disorder “other people have it so much worse” in this post – now if you type that into the search bar, Fork comes up first thing! I’ve never even heard of male personality disorder although I can believe there may be one.;)

What do you think?

