Home » Attitudes » The Grass IS Always Greener

The Grass IS Always Greener

Along with You can’t have your cake and eat it too, my Dad used to say The grass is always greener on the other side. This never seemed like a complete thought to me. On the other side of what? The old English Proverb included the location: on the other side of the fence. Dad just stopped at the other side, which I took to mean to other side of the world. I don’t know why?

We had a globe on a little stand. I loved it. Most of the time I would just spin it slowly and watch the world turn. When Dad would say something like the grass is always greener on the other side, I would put my finger on the spot where I thought Indiana was and try to pick a spot on the opposite side of the globe. I would imagine it all covered with very green grass. The fact that I sometimes landed in the ocean didn’t interfere with the truth of this somewhat ambiguous saying.

According to the CBS Sunday Morning Show this week, NASA scientists have taken satellite pictures of grass all over the world. They estimate that there are 40 million acres of grass.  According to Dr Ted Steinberg, who studies Americans love of lawns, grass is the number one irrigated crop in the US.

I haven’t come across a whole lot of grass so far down here in southern Texas. The oil rigs we’ve worked with have been in the midst of  sun parched miles of mesquite and buffalo grass and cactus with an occasional juniper or live oak in the far, far distance. There is one home on the corner in Nixon where the lawn is a carpet of thick green grass. Most days, when I happen to pass by, the sprinkler is swirling. The grass is much green there.

The grass often seems greener the other side. There’s could always a better climate, a more perfect RV (house), a job that’s full of rewards and completely without stress. Somewhere on the other side of the fence, the grass is greener…

It really is greener. That’s the other thing I learned on the morning show. Grass really does look greener on the other side of the fence because, as you’re looking across at your neighbor’s yard, you see more of the sides of the blades of grass and not the dirt in between the blades. In your own yard, looking down, you see the dirt between the blades.

Pretty true life analogy. If we crossed the fence, I bet we’d find their grass is kind of dirty, too.

There are a lot of songs about green grass. There are also a lot of songs about blue skies, but they don’t have anything to do with this post. The grass song that fits best here is a folk song by The New Christy Minstrels. Enjoy! But remember, the grass really isn’t any greener at all.

10 thoughts on “The Grass IS Always Greener

  1. I’ve jumped that fence more often than I will own up to. Now that I can no longer jump, I’ll just stay on the side I am on and sit in my own dirt as long as I can! I really think I tried to take good care of my lawn, it looked sorta green to me;)

    • Kathy, you got , me, girl! 🙂 We’re actually off a paved road and our gravel is hard-packed. Amazing! So for at least another 5 weeks, I’m happy to say, you win!

  2. I have recently been listening to a speaker tape that talks about the “Grass is always Greener” she says an old timer told her, “the grass is always greener because the other guy took care of his lawn” she then goes on to say “what you don’t want come sit in my dirt?”

    Perfect analogy, thanks for the post Debbie!

    PS: Shouldn’t you be sleeping?

    • What a great anecdote, Maureen! Personally, I’m all for spending a little more time sitting in each other’s dirt. Sure changes one’s perspective, doesn’t it? PSS My bizarre sleeping hours are usually 6am – 1pm. I haven’t seen a sunrise in 4 months, although the days are getting longer so I will soon enough. I do enjoy the moon now! 😉

  3. I love the life analogy. Everything else always looks better when compared to our own life – but only because we can see right down to our dirt while only seeing the shiny outside of the other. Thanks for this!

What do you think?

