Home » Gate Guarding » The Second-Hand Grocery Store

The Second-Hand Grocery Store


I’m learning new things here in Texas every day. Did you know that 40% of all farm-grown catfish in the US are consumed by Texans?  I didn’t even know they grew catfish on farms. They sometimes have a stand in town that sells catfish tacos which seems to be pretty popular.

As gate guards, working a 24 hour gate, you learn to economize your time. Since we split the day and night duties, there are just a few hours each day when we’re both awake. This is when someone has to do the laundry, grocery shopping and occasionally go to WalMart.

Every gate guard knows where the nearest WalMart is, even if they’d never been WalMart shoppers before. The nearest WalMart is almost always an hour away. You have to plan ahead for things like single ply toilet paper that won’t, in theory, snag on the way to the great green tank  in the yard.

Another thing I’d never heard of before coming to southern Texas is a second-hand grocery store. We have one in our little town. It’s a good ways to a first-hand grocery store, so we shop here at the Super S a fair amount.

I’ve shopped at second-hand clothing stores. I’ve gotten bread at the Day-Old Bakery. I’m new to second-hand grocery stores. The folks who work there are very nice, but the groceries are used. The lettuce is slick and wilted, fruits and vegetables are shriveled and the prices are very high. A local explained that they get the produce the bigger stores can’t sell. Hmm…

I’m not familiar with the grocery chains down here in Texas. Maybe the S in Super S stands for Seconds – Super Seconds Foods? Of course, that may only be true in tiny towns, I don’t know.

The other major chain seems to be H.E.B. The nearest H.E.B. is an hour away in Seguin, across the road from WalMart. I know what H.E.B. stands for because it’s on their little sign. Here Everything’s Better. I can’t argue with that. Their lettuce isn’t slick and they sell things like ham. You can’t buy ham at our Super S. Not even a used ham.

I’ve also learned that being afraid of your own shadow isn’t just a figure of speech. Roger, the pusher (tool, not drugs) came in around midnight. He pulled ahead and stopped half way between the RV and the drill site. He sat in the middle of the road with his headlights on for a long time.

I decided there must be something interesting out there. I thought I saw something big and dark moving at the side of the road. Then I thought I saw something(s) little and dark in the road in his headlight beams. I put my camera in my pocket (for protection and pictures) and headed toward the light. However, in  a matter of a couple dozen steps, I was out of my halogen gate guarding glow.

I got to thinking about how there are wild pig traps all over and how they killed a 4 foot rattlesnake yesterday on the site and about the guy who saw a 6 coyotes on his way in. I heard noises. I still couldn’t see what was or wasn’t in the road and I surely didn’t know what was on either side. I spun around to go back to the RV when I tripped over this huge black thing, directly in my path. I gave a yelp as I was literally scared of my own shadow. Sad…

My friend says I have PTTD (Post Traumatic Texas Disorder). Maybe… probably just TTD since I’m still here.

19 thoughts on “The Second-Hand Grocery Store

  1. Pingback: Taking the Pause Out of Menopause « FORK IN THE ROAD

    • CC – Indeed it does, as many have now pointed out to me. Interestingly, they choose to put Everything’s Better Here on their logo! 😉

  2. Too darn funny Debbie!!! I’ll have you know that in junior high school Cathy and I performed a little routine while the choir sang ” Me and My Shadow”, can you picture that? You brought back some funny memories.

        • Cuz – is this what you had in mind?
          SECOND HAND ROSE
          Father has a business strictly second hand
          Everything from toothpicks to a baby grand
          Stuff in our apartment came from father’s store
          Even things I’m wearing someone wore before
          It’s no wonder that I feel abused
          I never get a thing that ain’t been used

          I’m wearing second hand hats
          Second hand clothes
          That’s why they call me
          Second hand Rose
          Even our piano in the parlor
          Father bought for ten cents on the dollar
          Second hand curls
          I’m wearing second hand pearls
          I never get a single thing that’s new
          Even Jake the Plummer, he’s the man I adore
          Had the nerve to tell me he’s been married before!
          Everyone knows that I’m just Second hand Rose
          From Second avenue

  3. ME AND MY SHADOW
    (Al Jolson / Dave Dreyer / Billy Rose)

    Whispering Jack Smith – 1927
    Nat Shilkret and His Orch. (vocal: Johnny Marvin) – 1927
    Scrappy Lambert – 1927
    Rose Murphy – 1948
    Billy May & His Orch. (vocal: The Sportsmen) – 1950
    Perry Como – 1951
    Dave Brubeck Quartet (Instr.) – 1951
    Ferlin Husky – 1957
    The Mills Brothers – 1958
    Linda Lawson – 1960
    Frank Sinatra & Sammy Davis Jr. – 1962
    Lou Rawls – 1965
    Maurice Chevalier – 1968
    Peggy Lee – 1969
    James Caan (feat. in the film “Funny Lady”) – 1975
    Mandy Patinkin – 1989
    Michele Hendricks – 1990
    Stephanie Pope – 2001
    Robbie Williams – 2001
    Michael Ball & Antonio Banderas – 2003

    Also recorded by: Linda Eder; Pearl Bailey; Lawrence Welk;
    Judy Garland; Bert Kaempfert; Holly Cole Trio; Vic Damone;
    Mantovani; Liberace; Cliff Adams Singers; Cyril Stapleton:
    Elkie Brooks; Johnny Howard: ………… and many others.

    Shades of night are falling and I’m lonely
    Standing on the corner feeling blue
    Sweethearts out for fun
    Pass me by one by one
    Guess I’ll wind up like I always do
    With only….

    Me and my shadow
    Strolling down the avenue
    Oh, me and my shadow
    Not a soul to tell our troubles to
    And when it’s twelve o’clock we climb the stairs
    We never knock ’cause nobody’s there
    Just me and my shadow
    All alone and feeling blue

    When the sun sets on the far horizon,
    And the parlour lamps begin to glow
    Jim and Jack and John
    Put their slippers on.
    They’re all set but we’re still on the go
    So lonely….

    Me and my shadow
    Strolling down the avenue
    Oh, me and my shadow
    Not a soul to tell our troubles to
    And when it’s twelve o’clock we climb the stairs
    We never knock ’cause nobody’s there
    Just me and my shadow
    All alone and feeling blue

    ****************************

    As recorded by Frank Sinatra & Sammy Davis Jr.:

    SD: Like the wallpaper sticks to the wall
    FS: Like the seashore clings to the sea
    SD: Like you’ll never get rid of your shadow
    Frank, you’ll never get rid of me
    FS: Let all the others fight and fuss
    BOTH: Whatever happens, we’ve got us

    FS: Me
    SD: We’re closer than pages that stick in a book
    FS: And my shadow
    SD: We’re closer than ripples that play in a brook
    FS: Strolling down
    SD: Wherever you find him, you’ll find me, just look
    FS: The avenue
    SD: Closer than a miser or the bloodhounds to Liza

    SD: Me
    FS: We’re closer than smog when it clings to L.A.
    SD: And my shadow
    FS: We’re closer than Bobby is to J.F.K.
    BOTH: Not a soul can bust this team in two
    We stick together like glue

    FS: And when it’s sleeping time
    SD: That’s when we rise
    FS: We start to swing
    SD: Swing to the skies
    FS: Our clocks don’t chime
    SD: What a surprise
    BOTH: They ring-a-ding-ding! Happy New Year!

    FS: Me
    SD: And now to repeat what I said at the start
    FS: And my shadow
    SD: They’ll need a large crowbar to break us apart
    BOTH: We’re alone but far from blue
    Before we get finished, we’ll make the town roar
    We’ll make all the late spots, and then a few more
    FS: We’ll wind up at Jilly’s right after Toot’s Shore
    Life is gonna be wee-wow-wheee!
    SD: Here comes the party!
    BOTH: For my shadow and meeeeeeee-me-meeeeee!

    SPOKEN:
    SD: Say Frank?
    FS: What is it, Sam?
    SD: Do me a favour?
    FS: What d’ya you want, now?
    SD: Would you mind taking it just one more time?
    FS: From the top?
    SD: No! From the ending!
    FS: Wonderful!

    BOTH: And while we are swinging, to mention a few
    We’ll drop in at Danny’s, The Little Club too
    But wind up at Jilly’s, whatever we do
    SD: Yeah!
    FS: Life is gonna be wee-wow-wheee!
    SD: Wow!
    BOTH: For my shadow and meeeee-eeeeee-eeee-eeeeee!

    SPOKEN:
    SD: Frank?
    FS: Oh, forget it Sam
    SD: Alright

What do you think?

