Home » Attitudes » Drop in a Quarter and Press A5

Drop in a Quarter and Press A5

When I was little, there were Jukeboxes in restaurants and diners all over the country. Many had tabletop jukeboxes right in your booth. You could flip through the pages of selections, drop in your coin and push the button. You used to get 5 songs for a quarter. Every booth could listen to the 45’s of their choice. I used to love to go to the restroom, which was always in the back, just to hear what everyone was playing.

My head’s a lot like a mini-jukebox, minus the slot. Just about every moment of every day, there’s a song playing.

I’ve Got The Music in Me

I’ve learned to live with it.

I can hardly imagine a moment without a soundtrack. Just about anything can trigger a different tune. A word, a thought, the weather and I’m off.

I have pretty eclectic musical tastes, so I can be (mentally) singing Rock of Ages one minute and The Lion Sleeps Tonight the next.

I’ll go from humming a beautiful melodic section of Rachmaninoff to Feed Me without missing a beat. I don’t decide what songs to play, they choose themselves.

For example, Heidi and her Mom talk on the phone everyday. I probably go through 10 or 15 songs with each conversation. It’s a little like being a Savant except I’m not gifted and it has absolutely no practical value.

Nearly every change in topic drops the needle in a new grove for me. I try not to burst out in song, which would be pretty rude when she’s on the phone, kind of like trying to talk when you have a toddler in the room, but I do hum some.

While I’ve learned to keep most of the music in me, it does leak out from time to time.

This would be typical of what I hear of  Heidi’s conversation with her Mom and the cascade of music it sets off in my brain:

Heidi:  What have you been up to today, Mom?

What’s the buzz?
Tell me what’s happening. (Repeat many times)

(What’s the Buzz – Jesus Christ Superstar)

Heidi:  Jimbo’s gone, but we still work for Dale. He’s a great boss!

You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now
You’re not the boss of me now, and you’re not so big

(Boss of Me – They Might Be Giants)

Heidi:  So you’ve had some rain?

Don’t you fret, M’sieur Marius
I don’t feel any pain
A little fall of rain
Can hardly hurt me now
You’re here, that’s all I need to know
And you will keep me safe
And you will keep me close
And rain will make the flowers grow.

(A Little Fall of Rain – Les Miserables)

Heidi:  She’s feeling a lot better.

she put the lime in the coconut
she called the doctor, woke him up, and said
“Doctor, ain’t there nothing I can take”
I said, “Doctor, to relieve this belly ache?”
I said, “Doctor ain’t there nothing I can take”
I said, “Doctor, to relieve this belly ache?”

(Put The Lime in The Coconut – Harry Nilsson)

Heidi:  No I don’t think it’s working nights that caused it.

I wanna rock and roll all nite and party every day
I wanna rock and roll all nite and party every day

(Rock and Roll All Night – Kiss)

Heidi: It’s incredibly hot! We really feel sorry for the guys who have to work in this heat all day.

Some people say a man is made outta mud
A poor man’s made outta muscle and blood
Muscle and blood and skin and bones
A mind that’s a-weak and a back that’s strong

You load sixteen tons, what do you get
Another day older and deeper in debt
Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go
I owe my soul to the company store

(16 Tons – Tennessee Ernie Ford)

Heidi:  Did Stacy come out and mow your yard yet?

He rakes and trims the grass
He loves to mow and weed
I cook like Betty Crocker
And I look like Donna Reed
There’s plastic on the furniture
To keep it neat and clean
In the Pine-Sol scented air,
Somewhere that’s green

(Somewhere That’s Green – Little Shop of Horrors)

Heidi:  I really hope I can see you in September.

I don’t wanna say goodbye for the summer
Knowing the love we’ll miss
So let us make a pledge
To meet in September
And seal it with a kiss

(Sealed with a Kiss ~ Bobby Vinton)

Heidi: I don’t know yet, still RV shopping.

All I want is a room somewhere,
Far away from the cold night air.
With one enormous chair,
Aow, wouldn’t it be loverly?

(Wouldn’t it be Loverly ~ My Fair Lady)

Heidi: I love you! Goodbye Mom.

Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello

(Hello hello – The Beatles)

So there you have it! Contextually, almost none of the songs makes any sense. Clearly I’m not a Savant. Until a few years ago, I thought everyone thought in music. Anyone else have a continual soundtrack going in your head? Want to share what yours’ sounds like or what sets it spinning?

Thanks for reading. I love to hear from you. I saw Wicked in San Fransisco a couple of years ago and thought it would be appropriate to close this musical montage with a thank you song to you.

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return

(For Good – Wicked)

12 thoughts on “Drop in a Quarter and Press A5

  1. Amazing how teens can memorize a song in minutes yet can’t remember anything for their exams……

    I’m going to have my son start composing lyrics for his history tests…

    great post!

    • Charlywalker – My kids 2nd grade teacher was a music major so they learned everything in song – Herb is a Verb is the one I remember. Music does tend to stick! Maybe I should start singing the license plates so I quit inverting the numbers! Thanks, as always, for adding your thoughts!

  2. Wow Debbie, we were wondering where you ladies have been? Cracked up over your song medleys? LOL What a spectrum!! We love it!!
    Some I think of during our long awaited hot weather(finally)here in Salt Lake.

    “Summer Breeze” by Isley Bros.(Seals & Crofts song)
    “Light my Fire” Jose Feliciano
    “Moondance” Kenny Rankin(Van Morrison song)
    Remember when Jack Lemon in “Grumpy old Men” just had a date with Ann Margaret, and started dancing around the kitchen by himself making breakfast?
    “Love Man” by Otis Redding
    Far as SHow Tunes, gotta be George Georschwin(sp?) “Summertime” Janis Joplin

    Hope alll is well you two. We too miss the fireflies we remember back ion Ohio.
    Still can smell my pickle jar with holes in lid in my bedroom! LOL

    • Tom – of course, since I grew up in Indiana, as soon as I read Ohio in your comment my mental station switched to Back Home Again in Indiana (state song) – I don’t know the Ohio state song. 😀 That’s quite an interesting song list! You must have electric tastes, too!
      Since it’s still 93 degrees at 10:30, so they all work for me!
      I was shocked when a friend asked me what a lightening bug was! Can you imagine growing up without lightening bugs? Sad…
      Which reminds me of growing up in Indiana… which made me think of Gary, Indiana from The Music Man. I wonder if Meridith Wilson ever visited Gary IN – kind of hard to imagine that he’d been there and still wanted to write a song about it!
      Thanks, as always, for sharing your thoughts and songs! 🙂

  3. Debbie, Debbie, Debbie, I didn’t know anyone else had this affliction besides me. However, you are far more extreme. I was laughing as I read this cuz I’ve done it alot. Someone will say something and I usually come up with just a one liner from something in my head. What a hoot, I would have never guessed this about you!!! Thanks for being honest….movie Tammy Tell Me True.

    • Chris – so you, too, my friend! I suppose I’d miss the music if I didn’t have any, but I seem to have a radio with no off button that’s perpetually set on SEEK! Thanks for reading and writing and singing with me! 😀 (aren’t you too young for Tammy movies?)

  4. Try being a bass guitar player. I do the same thing, except I never learn the lyrics to songs…just start singing the bass lines from them. People think I’m nuts…they may be correct!

    • John, that’s funny! Even though the record gets stuck in a grove – sometimes for hours, I think I’d rather have lyrics… I’d rather hear a cello actually, but that never happens! 🙂

  5. You definitely win on this one although my son might come close. He remembers the lyrics far better than I do. Though I have considered having a soundtrack for my life 😉

    • Debby – The downside is I remember a portion, sometimes just one line, of almost every song I hear. IF the tune is catchy, I’ll be singing it whether I like the song or not. Sometimes, I have the same line for two in my head for hours. For example, right now it’s Tracey Chapman’s Fast Car since about 2 hours ago a guy went out of here WAY too fast! 😀

What do you think?

