Home » Attitudes » Hmm…

Hmm…

 

I have to admit, you’ve got me stumped. Isn’t that an odd saying?Β  I can’t find the origin.

If you’re a politician, a stump is a campaign stop. If you’re from Iowa, like I am, there’s a whole lot of stumping up there.

If you’re a tree, well, I guess being stumped doesn’t bode well for your future, unless you’re The Giving Tree, where all stumps are redeemed.

Many years later, the boy, now an old man, returns and the tree sadly says, “I’m sorry, boy…but I have nothing left to give you.” But the boy replies, “I do not need much now, just a quiet place to sit and rest.” The tree then says, “Well, an old tree stump is a good place for sitting and resting. Come boy, sit down and rest.” The boy obliges and the tree was very happy.

Like the tree, I’m happy to give but I’d like to know more of what you want.

For the first 5 months, I posted daily. For the past 2, it’s been a few times a week. I just scrolled through the list of subscribers to Fork. I know 9 of you personally, none of whom are gate guard or live in Texas so I’m pretty sure that’s not why you read. A few of you I know through your blogs and the rest, well… hmm… And since only about 1/5 of you readers subscribe, I’m completely in the dark.

At this juncture, I thought it might be a good idea to ask you why you read Fork? It’s such an eclectic blog that I’m fairly certain the interest value for you must vary widely from post to post.

I’d like to know what you’d like more of?

Are there topics, within my limited areas of experience (note here that I’m saying experience, not expertise) that you’d like addressed?

Do you have questions about something from a previous post that I can answer, or attempt to answer?

I know some of you read because you’re interested in gate guarding. If there’s something you’d like to know about that, I’ll try to answer or send you on to other blogs that might help.

Since I’m not aspiring to get Freshly Pressed (you bloggers know that one) I’m not limited to by topic or style, so I’d welcome your input.

I will add one caveat. The web is such a public arena, so there’s a limit to how much personal information I want to share. After my last post you probably know more than enough about me anyway! πŸ˜€

I’m very open to making this a more interactive site. It’s always more interesting when other people comment.

I’ve heard from one person about what he doesn’t want here – politics and religion in particular.

I’m not well enough informed to offer political commentaries and I started my grace blog as a place to express the things I’m thinking about that reflect that aspect of my life.

So now’s your chance. What are some roads, well-traveled or overlooked, that you’d like to traverse here.Β  If I don’t hear from you, my next post is going to be about how I’m afraid of the man in my phone – so if you want to be spared that one, write a comment and let me know what you’re looking for when you click on Fork.

Not all arrive here via a search engine, but I’ll close with the things folks have typed in this week to land here. It might help explain my lack of direction.

As always, I’m honored that you read Fork. It truly mystifies me, but I’m honored. I appears that if I could just be a gate guarding,snake handler on the moon, this blog would be a smash! πŸ™‚ ~dlb

2011-07-08 to Today

Search Views
theforkintheroad com 7
gate guard 4
texas survival kit 4
texas gate guards 3
so god bless the moon ya ya 2
ruby slippers 2
eagle ford roi 2
steak fingers dairy queen 2
i see the moon and the moon sees me and the moon sees the one that i want to see 2
is it ok to open your eyes in the shower 2
neobarrettia spinosa 2
β€œi see the moon and the moon sees me. god bless the moon and god bless me!” 2
what does a baby snake look like 2
black worms snake like in shower 2
goodnight mooncow 2
eyes never ever 2
mike green eagle ford blog 2
the great green room 2
blog, .its on like donky kong, expressions 1
gate guard companies south texas 1
there is a romance about all those who are abroad in the black hours 1
guarding oil rigs 1
i tip my hat to the guards at the gate 1
gate gard texas 1
help me me heart is hurting 1
are you a fighter or a flighter 1
abc nbc and cbs channel surfing song 1
small snake or worm 2inches long? 1
dark and stormy night on road 1
lady its a good night ais 1
“i feel like such a rube” 1
i see the moon and the moon sees me god bless the person i want to see 1
very big wigs 1
eme oil & gas eagle ford 1
gallup poll happiest cities 2011 1
trigger‑big‑bug 1
cracked boiled eggs 1
giant grasshopper red eyes 1
yaya sisterhood i see the moon 1
facebook log 1
what does i see the moon and the moon sees me mean 1
what does a baby worm snake look like 1
grass is greener on all sides proverb 1
happy as a pig in a poke 1
where to apply for oil field gate guard/texas 1
my facebook friends are showing 130 only 1
huge katydid with red eyes wiki 1
mike green eagle ford 1
12 o clock and all’s well town criers 1
how to road hunt deer in Texas 1
lower than the belly of a grasshopper 1
cattle pulled by donkey 1
fork in road facebook counting 1
one that follows the moon sees the 1
goodnight moon three bears 1
always leave them wanting more 1
texas gate guard companies 1
snoopy it was a dark and stormy night 1
need a hug im grieving 1
job openings for security guard in eagle ford shale 1
things about texas you didn t know 1
donkey other name 1
complicating the simple 1
tiden tx 1
the grass is green on all sides 1
i tip my hat to the guards at the gate whats 1
what people should not have said to me when i was grieving 1
the tops of the blades of my grass look parched 1
the other side of the roa is always greener 1
girl isee the moon pic 1
baby snakes like worm 1
divine yaya sisterhood i see the moon and the moon sees me 1
gate guard texas 1
im sorry for your loss cards 1
origin its 10 o’clock and all is well 1
beverly hillbillies cement pond 1
it’s always on like donkey kong 1
i see the moon and the moon sees me origin 1
life is good simple words from jake and rocket 1
racoon balancing act 1
super s grocery stores 1
i quit for love 1
roydog bullet 1
where are gateguards company based 1
flighter 1
i see the moon and the moon sees me the poem 1
laundry mat dryers 1
giant grasshoppers in texas 1
counting facebook friends 1
always keep them wanting more as a joke 1
things to say in visitation line 1
donkey horns 1
texas blind snake picture 1
20 thoughts on “Hmm…

  1. I agree with Jill. I do enjoy your perspective on life’s adventures, it makes me laugh and see things around me differently.

  2. Debbie,

    I like what you write just fine. The fact that you wander off topic is even better, cause I am a bit like that. Keep doin what your doin, and when you get to Livingston, your about 30 miles from our digs here in E. Tx. We are hoping to Gate Guard some when we retire but that is not the reason I still click on your blog nearly every day.

    Charlie

    • Gee, thanks, Charlie! I’m aiming to be a little more regular in my postings here at Fork. Some nights are crazy busy, but some are really quiet so there will probably always be a bit of a mix here. Thanks for being willing to go with my odd flow! ~dlb

  3. We’re considering a Gate Guard position after our summer job ends in Sept. I enjoy reading about the life of gate guarding, and the pros & cons. Thanks for your insight. πŸ™‚

    • Diane – thanks for reading and thanks for your input! I’ll try to write a new pros and cons post this week. After 7 months I think I can add a few of each! πŸ˜€ I’d love to hear what you decide to do! ~dlb

      • I’ll let you know, if we make any progress with the companies we’re talking to. BTW, it took us all of about 3 hours to become Texas Residents last April…Easy Peasy! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the info about changing residency. Since we’re here year round, seems like the right thing to do. We contacted Escapees and should get the paper work Monday. Thanks again! ~ dlb

  4. I read your blog for several reasons –
    1. We’ve become residents of TX, we have a lot at the Escapee’s Park in Hondo, TX.
    2. To hear about gate guarding – we might want to try it one winter πŸ™‚
    3. To laugh out loud at some of your experiences – and to know that we’ve done some of the same silly stuff.
    4. You’re entertaining!

    • Hi Peggy! Thanks for answering my question. Just called my tax accountant this week and looks like we’ll be headed to Livingston to become Texas residents, too (not to be confused with becoming Texans, which we can’t do, having been born Yankees). πŸ˜‰
      Winter – yes I would definitely recommend trying gate guarding first in the winter!
      If I can make you laugh, that makes me smile!
      Thanks for reading and thanks so much for contributing. ~dlb

  5. I found your blog a couple weeks ago. I’m interested in a gate guarding job so more of that daily life, please. I enjoy your writing style, so just keep on keeping on.

    Barb Reeves

    • Thanks Barb. I have a bit of an odd approach here on Fork. If you scroll to Cindy’s comment, I’ve listed 3 other blogs you might want to check out re: gate guarding. They stay a lot more on that particular topic than I do.
      But I hope you’ll continue to visit here, too!
      If you have specific questions you’d like answered, my email address is under the About section. Feel free to write to me anytime. I’ll answer if I can or try to find you another resource. Keep in touch! ~dlb

    • Jill is one sharp cookie (is that really a saying? it sounds so wrong… who would want a sharp cookie?) Anyway – she’s a smart lady and I think her advice is sage. By the way, I look forward to reading your blog everyday, Debby!

  6. I don’t subscribe nor do I comment on every post but it doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy them. Your blog is marked on my favorites and I check it daily. Don’t worry about how many responses or what people want to hear. This is your blog. You have traveled extensively- you have a very interesting exercise program – had a successful career – you are a loving mother and grandma – and of course a gate guard. Many interesting things to write about. Don’t let others steer your path. That only boxes in your creativity. Just my opinion. I would like to hear about the little man in the phone. But only if you want to write it. If you write it – people will read it. Someone told me that once.

    • LOL! Someone did say that and I’m hoping, when you return in December, you’ll take me up on it!
      ‘Just your opinion’ is just what I was asking for! Thanks Jill.
      So you think I should write about my horse and pony show exercise routine? πŸ˜‰ hmm…
      P.S. I’m so intimidated by the little man in my phone, I expect I’ll have to exorcise him by writing about him someday… πŸ˜€

  7. We are just beginning in the world of gate guarding. The material should be here today so we can fill it out and return it. I have so many questions….

    • Cindy – My apologies. For some reason I didn’t see your original comment from the 12th. If you go back to the About page – my email address is there. Please feel free to write with any and all questions you have. A couple of other sites to check out, if you haven’t already are Luke and Inez @http://memorymaker11.com/blog and Andy and Miss K @http://myoldrv.com/
      You’ll find we all have different experiences, requirements etc…
      Kit and Jerry are currently taking a break from GG but will be back at in the fall. Kit writes a daily account of the activities at their gate @http://www.kitandjerry.com/

  8. I’d say just post about daily life. I know it seems hard because sometimes things don’t change that much. I’m trying to figure out whether I’m just going to dump my blog or keep it and post (what seems to me) boring stuff over and over…

    But I like to read about what you guys are up to and see pics of new gates you’re at. Also I want to know what’s going on in the gate guarding world just in case we may want to go back to it some day…

    Hope this helps…

What do you think?

