Home » Gate Guarding » The Day They Dropped the A

The Day They Dropped the A

The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men, gang aft agley.  ~Robert Burns

It was a day of surprises. We lost an A .  That may mean no trading in for an RV with a nicer kitchen and a washer and dryer, but that’s OK.  It could mean a lot more than that for a lot of people. Or not. Hopefully not. I’d still appreciate your comments and votes about the type of RV you’d recommend. Even if we don’t make a change for a while, I’m so interested in what you like and why.

Since some of you have written to me instead of posting at Fork, I’ll try to sum up the pros and cons of a Class A vs a 5th Wheel,  based on your comments, later in the week. In the mean time, please keep letting me know what you think – and vote if you haven’t.  The motorhomes picked up some traction yesterday!

The best laid plans of Mice and Men, often go awry. ~ John Steinbeck

Until yesterday, I thought we would head to Iowa for a couple of weeks in the fall to trade in the RV and see as much of our family and as many friends as possible. Looks like we may need to postpone that for a while.

Until yesterday, I thought we were moving to Lantern 17  Monday or Tuesday when it arrives in Gonzales county. Our Company Man here on Lantern 3 told us yesterday that we’re staying with him. That’s OK, too. You learn really quickly the value of being pleasantly flexible in this industry. I’m just grateful for the job.

Kenneth ( Lantern 3) and Dale (Lantern 17)

Until yesterday, I thought there were only 2 types of poisonous snakes in our area but, nope – 4.  We live in, what was supposed to be a hayfield, but didn’t make it through the drought. They say we have a lot of mice. Snakes like mice.

Mice could be bad for the RV. Snakes could be bad for me. Hard to choose.

Brown all around

The cat with gloves catches no mice. ~ Navjot Singh Sidhu

Until yesterday, I thought 103 was really hot. But it was 103 around 8:15 p.m. when I was taking this picture, I thought is was getting cool. Sad.

All this is only for the mice and myself to admire!  ~ Catherine the Great

10 thoughts on “The Day They Dropped the A

  1. Hello. David thought the dropped A was an axle. However, I told him I thought it was the “A” that reflected Standard and Poor’s rating due to our highly paid elected representatives taking so much time to find their way out of the paper bag regarding the budget. Really angers me that their inaction (along with other things, of course) really cost us in the stock market. When investments were just starting to rebuild, too. BooHoo.

    • Penny – With all your truck and generator troubles, no wonder David thought it stood for axle! The AA+ certainly makes me thankful to have a job right now!

  2. We may loose another A
    time will tell they say 😦
    Hope you still will
    find a way
    to pay
    for your class A
    And enjoy your stay
    with Lantern 3
    for not
    just another day.

  3. i was also confused. but then, i confuse easily. i am heading back to dallas with mama. i will be there 2 weeks. i pray that i can either get them settled into assisted living, or arrange for someone to come to the home. they are not excited with either prospect.

    • Oh Gaye, I’m so sorry. And what an awful time to be coming back to Dallas with the record breaking heat. I’m sure that’s hard on them, too. My prayers are with you and of course with your Mama and Daddy. I remember those heart wrenching days with my own parents so well. So very sad. Safe travels, my friend,
      Debbie

  4. I must be getting old. When I first thought about it (dropping the A) I thought maybe it had something to do with our dropping the A bomb on Japan (I think it was 8/8/45). I finally realized you were referring to the credit rating drop to AA just before I read your response above. But thanks anyway for confirming my understanding.

    • You’re such a good sport, Bob! Seems I confused a bunch of folks! I’ll try to be more more punctilious in the future! 😀
      Thanks!
      Debbie

  5. I should probably know this but…………………..what is an A? Whatever an A is, is that the reason you need to postpone your upgrade

    • Bob – 😀 – I probably confused you by combining the dropping of an A with a Class A (motorhome). I meant the fact that America lost it’s AAA rating from Standard & Poor’s – which may make it difficult to get loans and lead to increased interest rates. Time will soon tell. Thanks so much for asking this question right away. I probably confused a lot of people. ~ Debbie

What do you think?

