Home » Gate Guarding » Bad Moon Rising

Bad Moon Rising

Bad Moon Rising

I see the bad moon arising.
I see trouble on the way.
I see earthquakes and lightnin’.
I see bad times today.

Don’t go around tonight,
Well, it’s bound to take your life,
There’s a bad moon on the rise.

~Creedence Clearwater Revival

Do you remember this CCR classic? I was 13 when Bad Moon Rising hit the charts in 1969. If you follow Fork, you know that I really love the moon (Good Night Moon, I See the Moon and the Moon Sees Me etc…).

As a gate guard, working the night shift, the moon is my friend. Or so I thought.

To establish the setting, after 7 days in Smiley, my alien giant botanical plants continue to flourish. The temperature had finally dropped from 106 to a ‘cool’ 91 just after midnight. In this particular part of Texas it’s really humid, unlike up in the panhandle. The Lantern 17 guys who just moved down from there are really struggling with the humidity.

The moon is full and beautiful right now. The coyotes seem to engage in nightly ritual of approach avoidance behavior. The barking and howling comes near and then stops. A little while later, faintly in the distance, it picks back up. Stops. And then resumes, very near again.

Adding howling and humidity to the heat makes caliche clogging a little less appealing than I may have made it sound, although it is more practical, logistically, than Pole Dancing or Zumba. When the temperature dropped again to a cool 88 degrees around 1:30, I decided to get my clogging in early.

The last of the guys were back on site from their pilgrimage to the small WalMart and H.E.B.  in Gonzales. The coyotes were doing their distant howl so the timing seemed right.

I stepped outside and headed toward the gate. One at a time, these giant alien plant forms began to bend over and then rise back up. At first I thought I was just imagining it as I stood, transfixed, staring in the moonlight. Then they began to bend in pairs. Disappearing and suddenly springing up as the next set bowed.

It would have been a little less disconcerting if the motion had been one of retreat. But just like in a horror flick, whatever it was, seemed to be on a course that would end with me. At that point, having emotions that ran stronger than my curiosity, I began walking backwards toward the RV. I’ve seen Little Shop of Horrors. I know to never turn your back on animated plants.

When I backed into the little wooden table and Harvey, the not invisible Pooka, rattled to the ground, the plants froze in place. I left Harvey to keep his lateral sentinel watch, slipped (literally) into the RV, locked the door and explained to Henry that the door would remain locked until dawn so there would be no drinking from the water bowl on full moon nights between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m.

~

5 thoughts on “Bad Moon Rising

  1. What a coincidence! Frustrated that I cannot get any radio stations here except in Spanish and one really hard core head banger station, I got out the CD player and popped in . . . (wait for it) . . . CCR today and did my dance dusting! I guess it’s true that great minds think alike. Dance dusting is a great form of exercise, too. Glad all is well. P.

    • Penny – LOL! Well what do you know! CRR is all over the dial today! Maybe you could post a dancing dusting video on your blog. We could all dance-dust along with you – kind of like Jane Fonda but with more flair! 😀

  2. I was just going to ask you on fb if the moon was full in Texas and your blog came up. Is there a living creature in those weeds? Better do your clogging in the daylight fluffy!! I will have to tell Mr. A about the moving weeds in the morning. You always have such exciting things and all we got was heat and dust!! It is 3:45 a.m. and I woke up and wondered what you were doing. Now I know. LOL

    • Jill – I’m peeking out the curtains… 😀
      There was definitely something living and moving in those weeds and it wasn’t the Brahma and calves that just brushed against the RV making Henry’s ear fly up and me spill coffee on my Life is Good shirt! It was bigger than a bread box but shorter than a calf and wide enough to toppled two plants at a time… I’m resigned to daylight clogging.
      The moon is certainly full, but I think the Big Dipper is upside down? Is that possible?
      Your fluffy friend,
      Debbie

What do you think?

