Home » Gate Guarding » स्वागत आहे – WELCOME!

स्वागत आहे – WELCOME!

स्वागत आहे  – That’s how most blogs start – Welcome!

I started Fork over 8 months ago so I thought I’d say it differently this time.

स्वागत आहे – that’s welcome in Marathi which is the official language of Maharashtra  in western and central India. It’s the 15th most spoken language in the world. I’ve never heard of it before.

I can barely speak Texan. I just picked it because I thought it looked interesting and it seems welcome is in order.

Fork is a small blog. I only average about 175 views per day.

When the numbers exceed 300 on a day I didn’t post anything new, I know something is up.

Following your path to the fork in the road, it appears most of you who were new to Fork yesterday, are interested in gate guarding at an oil/natural gas site.

Brief recap: We began working as gate guards back in December of 2010. That doesn’t seem like that long ago, unless you’ve been living in Texas this summer where we’re approaching 2 months of 100+ days in a row!

Before I get into any other details, if you’ll scroll down the right side of the page, I’ve listed all the gate guard blogs I’m aware of. We’re scattered across the state, work for different companies and have different experiences, so you’ll want to check out these other blogs.

I’m  preempting my regularly scheduled post (which is fine since I haven’t written it yet anyway) to try to make it easier for you to find the information you may be looking for.

While I’d love to have you read the whole blog, that would be remarkably tedious. I think most of the information you’re looking for is covered in the hot links on the Gate Guard Info page (upper right hand corner).

I’ve tried to lay out the basics in the Joe series there, as well as share with you the pros and cons from other gate guards.

Contrary to what some of you may have read in forum sites, we are all provided with a basic set up that varies a little between companies. GGS supplies our septic (not shown in this pic) diesel, generator, non-potable water, bell, air hoses and lights and vest. We provide the RV.

George is a gem and has us set up in no time.

They check on us regularly to make sure everything is filled up and running well.

Our only equipment responsibility is to check the oil in the generator every few days.

We began in Tilden, Texas in December but have been in Gonzales county ( app. 70 miles south of San Antonio) since we began working for this oil company in January.

As a result of a series of  life changes, Heidi, my best friend and former business partner in Second Wind Wit – a training and public speaking business – and I bought a motorhome and decided to try full-time RVing, with the hope of continuing SWW from the road. That proved a little less doable than we’d hoped.

Jim, our mobile repair guy, replacing the burned out converter

We’ve worked as work campers at  private resorts in CA and OR and at 2 state parks on the beautiful southern Oregon coast. We were both working as managers at a lovely coastal resort when a staff member took a job as a gate guard and encouraged us to give it a try. So here we are. In Texas. A long way from home and a long way from WalMart (if you decide to do this, you’ll get that one).

Although I was born in a small town in northern Indiana, I spent my adult life in Cedar Rapids, IA – population 260,000 (including Marion and Hiawatha).

Unlike Heidi, who spent her young summers on an Iowa farm, I could probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve even ridden in a truck.

To say that this is a strange new world for me is a massive understatement.

At Fork, I do write about life as a gate guard, but not only about that, so again, take a look at the other blogs listed here. I write about everything that’s new to me which includes just about everything.

I write about the guys we work with.

The ranchers we work for.

The weather we work in.

The wild life that does its regular meet and greet.

The challenges of full-time RV Living.

Surprisingly, to me most of all, I write about that fact that I really like the job.

There are days, like a couple of days ago when it hit 112, that I like it a little less. But mostly, I like it.

It’s not for everyone. Read through the pros and cons. But I would encourage you to get your information from gate guards, not just from forums. It seems as though many write in there and share quite a few opinions but haven’t ever actually worked as gate guards.

Sorry I lost your head, Big John…

Ask questions of any or all of us. Every gate guard listed here will be glad to tell you about their experiences.

Most of us have question sections on our blogs – and most of us also list an email address if you have something you want to ask that you’re too shy to post.

If you read the Gate Guard Info section and I haven’t addressed your question, someone else is probably wondering the same thing.

The work isn’t hard, the key to gate guarding, I think, is attitude. If you’re optimistic and generally pleasant, so is the job. If you’re not, I doubt if you’ll find the job is either. That’s kind of life though, isn’t it?

I hope this has been of some help.

Next post – we had a blowout, or blowback. I have to look up the official term before I write about it.

Thanks again for stopping by.

Debbie

आभारी आहे (thank you)

(I have to add that it just baffles me that the spell checker knows the word आभारी आहे but doesn’t catch it when I spell the, hte…)

6 thoughts on “स्वागत आहे – WELCOME!

  1. Hi Debbie. I must admit I did start reading your blog last week because we are interested in gate guard jobs, but I have now added you to my reader. I love your writing style and all the little things you find interesting….I find them interesting also.
    I plan on keeping you in my reader for a long time to come and hopefully soon we will have some posts about our own gate guard job!
    Thanks so much for being so forthcoming.

    • Hello Doris!
      You’re either in a different time zone or you’re already preparing for working the night shift! 😉
      Thank you so much for reading and for your kind words. I’d love to hear about your adventures! Keep me posted and best wishes,
      ~ Debbie

  2. Hi Debbie, Called GGS and was told couples only. Very nice man but no dice. Called KC Services twice and got voice mail. The Texan told me in a PM that they were rumored to have 12hr gates. Left my email address and an inquiry about doing job as a single but no response. I wonder if the postings on the RV forums has them swamped with interested people?

    • Wade – I’m afraid I may have mislead you on this one. As I understand it, GGS is making some changes. They did used to hire singles and we know some that have been ‘grandfathered in’. You’re the second person to write and say that policy has changed.
      KC services does hire singles. I do know of people who have contacted them, but have yet to talk to anyone who has actually worked for them. I wish I could be of more help.
      Let me add, once again, a caution about location. A project manager came through last night and told me about the be-headings of a welding crew near the border. I’ve known him since we first started and consider him to be a very reliable source.
      We don’t typically get to choose our location, with any of the companies, but you can say no and wait for another opportunity if you feel you’re being sent to an unsafe area.
      I don’t mean to be an alarmist, just cautious. I know you do a great deal of traveling. Stay safe.Thanks for keeping in touch.
      ~ Debbie

    • I wonder if two separate solo RVers could apply to the same company and agree to work the same as an RVer couple. That would be two setups at one gate. Would anyone be interested in trying that option?

      • Hi Barb, I’d consider that if it was an extremely busy gate that paid more. The Texan over on one of the RV forums said he knew a couple getting $575 a day! Extremely busy gate with 10 wells I believe. Wouldn’t have to pay that much but if splitting a $150 a day gate I could do better elsewhere. I would consider it once my pension starts but that’s 5 years.

What do you think?

