Home » Gate Guarding » Shazam! Go-l-l-y! Sur-prise, sur-prise, sur-prise!

Shazam! Go-l-l-y! Sur-prise, sur-prise, sur-prise!

As we begin our amble back to Texas tomorrow, I’ve been thinking about all that’s happened the past two weeks.

Do you remember Gomer Pyle (Jim Nabors )? He was continually amazed by the simplest things and would verbosely share his enthusiasm by saying things like: Shazam!  or G-o-l-l-y! or Sur-prise, sur-prise, sur-prise!

When Gomer was on screen, he was in a state of almost constant surprise. That’s kind of how these past two weeks have been. I’ll share some of them in the next few posts.

You know how I said I don’t like trucks? Changed my mind. I now almost, but not quite, love trucks.

Time to swallow some caliche and eat my words.

I’ve seen the light!  Actually I’ve seen the lights. This truck has more lights than a furniture store! It has lights on the running board and lights on the big sticky-out fenders. It has spotlights so you can see in the truck bed at night and arrow lights on the mirrors. I especially like the arrow lights on the mirrors – I don’t know why, I just do.

I’m used to having a phone that’s smarter than me. Now I have a truck that’s smarter than me, too. It has tells me to pick a language (I only knows one but it knows multiple languages) and asks if I want to use the metric system (nope, don’t know that either).  It tells me the name of the song and the artist playing on the radio, when I need a new fuel filter and asks if I’d rather have my horn beep or my lights blink when I lock the truck.

Go-l-l-y! The Texan who owned this truck, must have really liked trucks! I never even had a Bose stereo in my house. I still don’t. Maybe I’ll just live in my truck although a dually with a long bed does take up a lot of room in the WalMart parking lot. In addition to my regular caliche clogging and stepping (4 steps now instead of 2), I’ll be adding the ever popular Hiking to the Far Away Truck to my exercise routine!

OK – liking the truck was the first surprise and the only one I’ll go into today except for the fact that I no longer seem to be allergic to ragweed.

How did that happen? It’s in full bloom and the county park we’re in is full of it.

I think I may have developed a gene for ragweed resistance which has evolved via months and months of caliche inhalation!

As you know, we drove more or less, straight through to get here since we had a tight deadline. We won’t be doing that going home to Texas. (Yes, I did say home to Texas – topic of an upcoming post!)

We had 12,000 miles of practice, driving the motorhome, and we’ve only driven 30 miles with the 5th wheel, so we’ll be taking our time. Another sur-prise from these past two weeks, I forgot how tired, tired can feel. I don’t think I’ve been this tired since my kids were 1 and 3!

Mr Adventure, if you’re reading this, I’m thinking of using you as a role model and following your traveling schedule of 200 – 300 miles a day! This may be a necessity since entering the strange new world of 4 slides and a truck bed with a hitch.

We should get back to Texas, eventually…  Since Lantern 17 is in Wharton now and the Jeep is in Smiley, we have to take a side trip before we head back to the gate. By this time next week, I’ll once again have a clip board in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other. Until then, I have a few more surprises to share, and hopefully not too many more on the road.

Happy trails to those of you who’ve written saying you’re also headed south and best of luck to all of you who are just beginning gate guarding! I can’t wait to hear your stories!

16 thoughts on “Shazam! Go-l-l-y! Sur-prise, sur-prise, sur-prise!

  1. Mr. A just LOVES it when people come around to his way of thinking!! Seriously, don’t drive when you are tired. I never liked driving the truck until I realized that it was my only means of getting a break from the gate!! Now our 350 and I are friends!

    So happy everything worked out well. Just remember if we return. you still have to help me fold so you don’t get out of the glorious laundramat excursions all together!!. lol

    • Jill – Hello my friend. As you know by now, our 230 mile first day led to a 555 mile second day… (don’t tell Mr A).
      I’m starting to love my truck, but you’re right about it passing everything but the gas stations!
      Whew! Glad we don’t have to drive much once we get back to the gate.
      I promise to help you fold until the end of time if you get Jamie to put you in our county! 😀
      Miss you!
      ~Debbie

  2. Yeah!! Glad all is going so well. 200-300 mi. a day is PLENTY!! Enjoy your new home and take your time getting back to work. Take some time to rest and relax.
    Lots of Love to you 3!!

    • Hey there, Sis! We had hoped to take it easy on the way back, but, as you know by now, it just didn’t work out that way. We need to get back to work so we can get some rest. I think Heidi went to bed at 6:45 tonight. We’re just shot (it’s been quite an action packed time)!
      Love from H and I and licks from Henry!
      ~ Deb

  3. Have a safe and enjoyable trip home.

    We got to our gate…somewhere in Frio County, West of Pearsall…on Friday night. No phone service out here but thankfully we switched to AT&T for the aircard before we left and it works. Lots of learning going on here ~ LOL!

    Good Luck in Livingston, our transition was easy as pie, and only took about 3 hours.

    Drive Safe!

    • Diane – Hi! So glad to hear you arrived at your gate. By the time you read this you’ll have finished your first week. I’m anxious to hear how it’s going! The first week is a little overwhelming but it’ll soon be second nature! Keep in touch!
      ~ Debbie

  4. glad you love the truck and best part it only gets better. we have a 3500 GMC PULLING A OPEN RANGE 391 RES, which is 38 ft long ane 391 sq feet living space ,that wife and i lived in for best part of a year. now we are owners of a place in Mission,TX with a attached rv lot on our property. You will enjoy your 5th wheel i can almost gurantee.

    larry — one of your followers.

    • Larry – you are so right! The truck does a super job towing and I can’t believe the spacious feeling of the 5th wheel. This one is 38 feet, too, but I have no idea how many sq feet – must say somewhere in the paper work. It does have 4 slides that are over 6 ft high which gives it such an open feeling. Thanks so much for reading and writing. I’ll have to Google Mission and see where y’all have settled!
      ~ Debbie

  5. Oh my gosh Debbie has totally understated THE TRUCK ! It is the sexiest truck I have ever seen all lit up… WOW. I had seen it last spring when I was contemplating the RV life. I was sold then. The RV place said it
    wouldn’t last long. But it was still there when God opened up the door for the new RV. I kept telling them what a ssaawweeeet truck it was. Let Heidi went to leave my house ” in the dark ” after picking up Henry I about died. That’s when THE TRUCK really shows it’s stuff which I hadn’t seen before since it was daylight when I saw it.
    Y’all need to name “the truck” AANNDD put a picture of it in the dark on the site. God please forgive me for lusting after that beauty. Oh yeah I just realized y’all are supposed to let me drive it once before you leave.

    Keys please!!!!!!!

    Now that’s just THE TRUCK y’all should see THE RV. Beeeaaauutifuul yessiree. SHHAAZAM.
    Gomer says it all.

    • Cathy – you’re a hoot – and just so everyone knows, true to my word, you did get to drive THE TRUCK!
      I can’t say I think it’s sexy, but it sure is nice. Wow! It pulls this RV like it’s weightless!
      Go-l-l-y! Thanks for all the help! Don’t know how we would have made it without you!
      ~Debbie

  6. Can’t wait to hear more. So happy you love your truck! Tell us how you love your new home 😉 Be safe, and FYI my prayers are not conditional, just my wit. Love you both.

    • Trudy – I can’t believe I’m saying this, but the truck is so cool – and hot, as in heated seats even, which I’m not thinking we’ll be needing in Texas. The RV is wonderful, I think. Have hardly been in it yet. Love you and your wit! 😉
      D

What do you think?

