Home » Gate Guarding » Misery Loves Company

Misery Loves Company

Actually, I’ve never cared for that saying – misery loves company. It sounds ill-wishing at best and sadist at worst.

Likely it’s a bit of both since it comes from the play Doctor Faustus in which the not-so-good Doctor sells his soul to the devil in exchange for twenty-four years of immense power.

Anyway, I think the appropriate phrase  here would be: There is consolation in commiseration.

Since I’ve begun to recount a few of my recent mishaps, I’ve found true consolation in your commiseration!

So many of you have shared here at Fork, and in emails, your own interesting RV, boat, trailer, truck, hitching up, setting sail misfortunes.

Bless you! How very generous of you!

Encouraged by your empathy, I’m prepared to share a little more, going back to Peculiar.

After the experience there of getting in the wrong diesel line, waiting for 20 minutes, then sheepishly slipping over to the plainly marked RV fill station, I set off, clear of all trucks and trees, with an eye on the gas gauge.

My least favorite part of traveling with an RV is getting gas. That may even surpass my very un-favorite part of paying for the gas! In the class A, the gas tank was in the center of the back of the 32 footer, in front of the blue ox tow and the Jeep. It ran on regular.

Can you see the problem? We couldn’t pull through at a truck stop diesel pump where there was lots of room. No, usually we were angling into a Casey’s or a Valero where the RV prevented all those who were inside  buying rolling hot dogs from exiting until the tank was full.

Nine months of gate guarding in the same county meant zero trips to the pumps and driving back to Iowa this time was much easier without the tow.

Now, with the 5th Wheel and the big truck, we could go to the big truck stops and just pull right through.

I’ve never driven anything with a diesel so I was completely unaware of the fact that, should you route yourself, as I did, off the interstate in states like Oklahoma and  Texas, there aren’t any big truck stops.

Although there are fajita plates at Exxon.

There are really hardly any gas stations at all.

There are hardly any towns.

Just  under 1/2 a tank, I considered filling up – but it was a toll road, and after already paying $13.75 in tolls, I feared exiting and returning would add another $3.50, so on I went.

I’m not a button pusher. I try not to push people’s buttons, and I’m loath to push buttons on moving vehicles.

Possibly it comes from seeing Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang 3 times, I don’t know, but I’m afraid to push any untried button while driving 70 miles an hour on unfamiliar roads, towing a giant rolling home, although taking flight was beginning to sound appealing.

Had I pushed the buttons, I would have seen the one that told me just how many miles were left at my current rate, until there would be no more gas to go.

As I drove on (while Heidi talked on the phone and Henry slept) I watch the needle fall to a quarter and I began to do that squinty thing you do when you’re trying to see better, as if anyone can see better with their eyes half-shut, in hopes of seeing some sign, any sign of gas or villages or lean-tos on the horizon.

I finally pushed the magic button.

22 miles until empty. We get about 12 mpg towing. It didn’t look good for the home team. There was no help in sight and no towns on the GPS (which is usually wrong anyway, but hey – desperate measures for desperate times).

This saga has gotten too long and I’m desperately tired, so it’s time for the changing of the guard here in Wharton. I’m off to try to reset my day/night clock. More soon. The suspense is palpable, I know…

2 thoughts on “Misery Loves Company

  1. Wow yous did have a load of fun on your trip, I am sitting on pins and Niddles to read the rest of it. From a Truck Drivers point of view I would travel no road other than Interstates where possible They are the safsest and there is not a lots of distances that don’t have either a rest stop or Truck stop. Should you take another long trip I would recommend the Small pocket Truck stop guide which tells you where all the fuel stops are even off Interstates. and for the Interstates they have one called the Next Exit which tells you what is on every exit to every Interstate in the US(also sold at Truck Stops) Ant it is online at
    https://www.thenextexit.com/ And the Next exit even shows you where all the Wal-Marts are at off the exit ramps.

What do you think?

