Home » Family » For the Cause

For the Cause

One of my Grandmothers lived to be almost 102 years old.

Both of my Grandfathers died before I was born.

I never met my other Grandma.

Not really, although I know she held me.

She died of breast cancer when I was 1.

Last night the Empire State Building was set ablaze in pink in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

My family, like most, has been touched and torn by this terrible disease.

So tonight, instead of a weather or a work update, or more sharing of my quirks or quips, I want to pay tribute to the survivors and to their caretakers, to those who are working to combat this disease, and to the Grandma I never knew. I wish I could have told her and my Grandpa that their sweet daughter grew up to be the most wonderful Mother anyone ever had.

Martina McBride’s video is really beautiful. I’m posting it but I’ll add the words at the bottom for those of you who can’t watch it on your phone or computer.

A few years ago, one of my best friends had breast cancer.  She has beautiful hair. A few of us pledged to shave our heads if she had chemo and lost her hair. This one’s for you, T.

I’m glad I didn’t have to shave my head for you, but I would have.

D

~

“I’m Gonna Love You Through It”

She dropped the phone and burst into tears
The doctor just confirmed her fears
Her husband held it in and held her tight
Cancer don’t discriminate or care if you’re just 38
With three kids who need you in their lives
He said, “I know that you’re afraid and I am, too
But you’ll never be alone, I promise you”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

She made it through the surgery fine
They said they caught it just in time
But they had to take more than they planned
Now it’s forced smiles and baggy shirts
To hide what the cancer took from her
But she just wants to feel like a woman again
She said, “I don’t think I can do this anymore”
He took her in his arms and said “That’s what my love is for”

When you’re weak, I’ll be strong
When you let go, I’ll hold on
When you need to cry, I swear that I’ll be there to dry your eyes
When you feel lost and scared to death,
Like you can’t take one more step
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.

And when this road gets too long
I’ll be the rock you lean on
Just take my hand, together we can do it
I’m gonna love you through it.
I’m gonna love you through it.

14 thoughts on “For the Cause

  1. I love the tribute and the picture of your grandmother’s quilt. The really pretty one was on the bed and I was sound asleep wasn’t I? It shows the generous heart you have that you didn’t want to disturb me in the middle of the night when you needed a quilt picture. That’s so like you!

  2. Thank you for sharing this Debbie. I think we all know someone who has had this terrible disease or is currently fighting it. The good news is that it is getting more survivable every year… if caught early. That’s the key. Reminds me, I need to get my mammo done before we head out to our gate later this year!

    • My cousin, who is a breast cancer survivor, gave me a mammogram as a Christmas present! It was my most unusual Christmas presents ever – and such a loving one.
      ~ Debbie

  3. This is a wonderful tribute to the beautiful women who have won and lost fighting this terrible disease. Thanks for posting.

    • Jill – Thank you dear friend. It’s so wonderful that we live in a time when people talk about it. My Grandma died because she didn’t know anything about self checks or the dangers.
      I love the video and the people who care enough to speak out.
      ~ Debbie

    • Beautiful song…. My mother went through breast cancer treatments 3 yrs ago at 79 yrs old. No chemo, just radiation, but it was so hard on her as she was already in poor health. She has been cancer free for 3 yrs, but it really took a toll on her health…she is now in a nursing home, but it was her decision and is in very good hands there.
      My prayers go out for everyone who has lost a loved one to cancer or even has had to watch a loved one go through the treatments.

      • Carol – I’m so very sorry. It’s a devastating disease at any age, but very tough to fight at 79 and so very hard to watch the someone you love so much go through it. God bless,
        ~ Debbie

What do you think?

