Home » Gate Guarding » They’re Still Laughing

They’re Still Laughing

When the mouse laughs at the cat, there is a hole nearby. ~ Nigerian Proverb

First, thanks to all of you for your words of advice and encouragement!

The mice and the toilet are both still running but we’re trying to get ahead of them.

Heidi spent 4 hours emptying out the underbelly while I was sleeping yesterday.

She found one dead mouse. That takes the another one bites the dust count to six.

As per your advice, she also crawled around underneath the RV.

It looks tight down there, except for one loose bolt that spins and doesn’t tighten. It’s stuffed with steel wool for now.

The mice may have hopped aboard in Iowa, looking for a change of scenery. Or they could be Texas natives. Hard to say. We did discover today that they found Henry’s extra bag of dog food, which we’d forgotten about, in the back of the truck. So, that, too, is now in an air tight container.

Until the home invasion began, it never occurred to us to fill in the space around the water hose which certainly must have looked like an invitation. Now there’s steel wool, peppermint oil, rat poison, sticky traps, springy traps and Bounce dryer sheets just about everywhere.

Hopefully they aren’t still coming in, but they’re still laughing. I’ve been hearing them all night.

Henry’s not much of a mouser.

He seems to think they’re under his cushion.

He’s keeps alternating between vigilant and resigned.

As for our other problem, I called a mobile RV repairman at 8 yesterday morning about the toilet that’s still on the run.

He said he would call right back, as soon as he got to Houston.

That was 22 hours ago.

He must have been a long way from Houston.

Our rig is scheduled to move in about a week. The plan right now is to head back to Smiley, although that could change. If we go there, we know a great repair guy from Seguin.

We can stop the water by pushing up on the foot pedal. The thing is, most of the time it stops just fine on its own, but clearly, not always. Our fear has been that we’ll forget to push up, the time it decides to take off, so we’ve tried to make it as inconvenient as possible to flush by ensconcing the foot pedal with a milking stool, which we have to move each time.

On second thought – that looks too little to be a milking stool unless they had really short cows on Heidi’s grandpa’s farm. I think the milking stool is under my knitting. I don’t know what that is in the bathroom but it seems to be working for now.

OK, at this exact moment, a mouse just ran across the floor. No kidding! I’m not happy about this. I’m still in my I hate to kill or squish things mode, same one I’ve been in for 55 years.

This is the first time I’ve seen one on the run. He must have been here before because he shot across the kitchen floor about 4 feet in front of me with absolutely no fear or hesitation. Laughing.

I’m thinking Ben.

I just got up and boldly reached over the top of the island and opened the cabinet door to the much mouse baited waiting area under the sink, but I don’t think he’s falling for it. Henry is sound asleep as is Heidi.

I wish she’d wake up and put her mice stomping boots on.ย  There’s way too much laughing going on.

17 thoughts on “They’re Still Laughing

    • Cathy – Exactly and you know Heidi – a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing. She went for the duct tape and WD-40 as soon as she saw the comment! ๐Ÿ˜€
      ~ Deb

    • Oh Diane – What was I thinking? I know Phoebe is a terrier, not a cat! Gosh I wish she could hang out with Henry for a couple of days. He’d love the company and maybe he’d learn the tricks of the trade. So far his mouse response is to just jump on my lap. Of course, he’s never seen one (he was sleeping last night). He just hears them thumping around in the cabinets. He may think we have tiny cows in there! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      ~ Debbie

  1. I do believe that you should be using one of the two main essentials every RV’er is supposed to have on hand for an emergency. One is duct tape (the good kind) and the other is WD-40. The duct tape is for things that are moving and aren’t supposed to and the WD-40 is for things that are stuck but are supposed to move.
    We will now talk about one of the uses of WD-40.
    On my RV toilet, on the pedal side is the valve assembly, which is operated by your foot pedal. Now the valve assembly is operated by the foot pedal, which ends up pushing down a little rod which opens the water valve. The little rod goes through an rubber o-ring. On my toilet this little rod is easy to see once you take the little round cover plate off. Its sounds like the little rod may be sticking where it goes through the o-ring. What I do believe you need to do is squirt a little WD-40 at the o-ring and allowing the rod to slide a little bit better. I don’t know if yours is the same, but if you can save some $ on a RV tech call, then good for you.
    As far as your interior mouse problem, it sound as though a pet kitty may be in order. I myself like the orange kind, although if you get a white kitty you can color him with no sugar Cool Aid, that way one week you may have a blue kitty and the next week have a purple kitty. I have not figured out how to do the color for a camo kitty yet, so they all have to be punk colored.
    Have fun.

    • Kevin โ€“ Wow โ€“ youโ€™re like having an on line RV doctor! Thanks! We have the duct tape and the WD-40. Armed and dangerous! Look out water world!
      ~Debbie
      P.S. โ€“ Weโ€™re both allergic to cats, but then Iโ€™m allergic to mice, too โ€“ so it probably wouldnโ€™t be much worse than it is now. Maybe we could Rent-A-Cat for a few days?
      Funny that you wrote about the colors as last night the mice guzzled all of the yellow food coloring, Chickens! ๐Ÿ˜€ They should glow in the dark now!
      ~ Debbie

  2. How about thunking them. Now I’m getting in the warrior mode just reading about how many you have. Time to put on the pseudo armor of war and not let them little suckers win.
    Open up all the cupboard doors, tip chairs over, stomp and scream making them come out while Heidi lies in wait with her boots on. She’ll have a huge grin and shaking in her boots with excitement. Then the squeal as she gets ’em.

    Put Henry in the truck first so he doesn’t throw up.
    Oh and first set up a video camera so the rest if us can enjoy the comedy.

    If I could be there I’d be having a ball making them come out of hiding. Now it’s a competition !!!!
    LOL

    • Cathy – You’re too funny! You’re right, Heidi would love it! I have firm instructions that should I EVER see a live one racing across the floor again, I’m to get her up IMMEDIATELY, no matter what the time! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Good advice re: Henry. LOL! He would definitely throw up with all the hollering and screaming!
      ~ Debbie

  3. Debbie….don’t feel bad about killing mice. Remember, they could kill you with disease spread by fleas. Also, where there are mice, snakes are bound to come. Just kill the little ___________________________s and get it over with.

    • Bob – I know you’re right. I’m in danger of starting an indoor wild life refuge. ๐Ÿ˜€
      I just need to suck it up and stomp it out I guess…
      ~ Debbie

What do you think?

