Home » Gate Guarding » Hit the Rock, How Do We Roll?

Hit the Rock, How Do We Roll?

OK, technically it was a tree but it looks like I hit a rock – or a boulder, which I’ve already confessed to the world and the insurance company. I’ve been reading true insurance claim quotes to make myself feel better. I’ll share a few with you here. They only help a little since I fear they place me in questionable company. For example:

Coming home I drove into the wrong house and collided with a tree I don’t have.

Tonight I’m coming to you for advice.

The photo on the left could aptly be named RVBD – RV Before Debbie.

As you know, I managed to mangle the new RV, 10 days after buying it.

Good Sam recommends a repair place in Houston. Since we’re only 55 miles from Houston right now, it seems like this would be the best time to get it done. As full-timers, that leave us homeless.

If you’ve been reading along, you know I tangled with a tiny palm tree on the way to this site. It was a small but mighty palm, leaving it’s frawn marks all across the back side.

I started to slow down but the traffic was more stationary than I thought.

The second photo is RVAD – RV After Debbie. Sad photo, that one.

Time was tight, so we drove straight here after the mishap and prayed that the kitchen slide, whichΒ  took the hardest hit, would slide out. It did.

I don’t know if it will slide in? Sure hope so! We’ve been here for exactly a month, with a week or so to go. At this point, we don’t know if our rig is getting called back to Louisiana or will stay in Texas.

If Lantern 17 stays in Texas, we’ll follow it.

If it goes to LA – they probably won’t need gate guards. Either way, we’ll drop the RV off at the repair shop when we leave here. Which means we need a place to stay, and hopefully, to work.

I’m wondering about renting an RV from Cruise America? They have a branch in Houston. It wouldn’t be ideal for gate guarding since the smaller ones don’t have a bedroom door. They don’t even have a bedroom – just a bed, but I think it’s doable.

I looked at some of the other RV rental sites – $400 a day! Yikes! We’d be better off not working and paying $110 for a motel in Houston that takes pets.

Even though Henry doesn’t shed, never goes to the bathroom inside and makes less mess than I do, finding a pet friendly motel or RV is another issue.

Any ideas? Right now, I’m leaning towards Cruise America. Do you know anyone who’s rented from them? Or anyone in the Houston area that has an RV for rent if I promise not to drive and have Heidi do all the driving?Β  πŸ˜‰ Any input is welcome!

I was backing my car out of the driveway in the usual manner, when it was struck by the other car in the same place it had been struck several times before.

I asked the repair shop about rentals – they had no idea. We just fix ’em, Lady.

They did say they think it will take up to 2 weeks to fix the 5th wheel. Yes, I really made a muck of things, didn’t I? On the up side, they’ll fix the run away toilet and see if there’s a mouse housing complex in the works somewhere.

I was driving along the motorway when the police pulled me over onto the hard shoulder. Unfortunately I was in the middle lane and there was another car in the way.

I was just getting to the point where I could look at the backside without feeling sick when we discovered that I’d also scratched the sticky-out fender on the truck. I hadn’t noticed the scratches underneath the caliche. I’m going to ignore those. I can’t afford another deductible or more Prilosec. They’re just cosmetic and there’s always caliche in Texas. It could have been worse…

The pedestrian ran for the pavement, but I got him.

15 thoughts on “Hit the Rock, How Do We Roll?

  1. Pingback: RV Rentals For Family Vacations | Ranger RV

  2. We just arrived back in Moulton, TX from workamping in MI for 6 weeks–ou 35ft Winebago is available for awhile. Call me if interested 830-263-0371 Nancy

    • Nancy –
      That’s an unbelievable generous offer. Thank you, thank you!
      It takes someone special to offer their RV to someone runs into palm trees.
      In my defense (it’s weak, I know), I’ve drove the motorhome for 4 years while towing and never even made a tiny scratch on it. And I did drive 1200 miles with this one before “the incident”. πŸ˜€
      I’m hesitant to borrow/rent from someone, but as Heidi found out, GGS has sold their rentals. I may be calling if we can’t find anything else. Once again, I’m overwhelmed at your generosity.
      I won’t forget your kindness, whether we take you up on your offer or not.
      Thank you SO much,
      ~ Debbie

  3. Oh my gosh! Holy cow! So sorry about the accident(s). My goodness, i have no advice, i don’t drive! I’m sorry for your troubles, though.

    Nothing like reading insurance contracts. OY!
    m

    • Mel – It’s OK. Just thankful for full warranties and good insurance. Maybe if we’re lucky, we’ll take it somewhere where the mice really hate the smell and evacuate!
      ~ Debbie

  4. You do know that GGS has a rental program for gate guards, right? They take it right out of your check. Not sure how much it is, but it should be less than renting from an RV rental company.

    • John – No, I had no idea. We’ve even talked to our Field Supervisor about where we could rent an RV and he didn’t know either. Maybe we’ll give Jamie a call today. Thank you so much!
      ~ Debbie

    • I just contacted GGS and they’re selling their RVs. Wow. That would have been awesome. Laurie is checking with Jamie to see if they have one left that they might hang onto for us for a few weeks. Someone else suggested RV parks and I found they are fairly cheap when they have rentals. Thanks everyone. Still looking.

  5. I’m afraid I don’t have much input on the hotel vs. rental rv situation.

    Wondering which RV repair place you are dealing with. We’ve had lots of work done at Bob Jones RV. Highly recommend them. If so, tell them Johnny and Carol Braud say hi!

    You might be able to work out an arrangement where they examine the RV, order all the parts and then you could stay in the RV while they wait for parts to arrive. Not sure, but worth a conversation.

    Good luck!

    • Carol –
      The Good Sam adjuster recommended Jamails Auto Repair because we didn’t know anyone, but we’re free to go anywhere we choose. I just Googled Bob Jones RV. Looks good – I’ll call this morning and see what I can find out. Thanks for the recommendation!
      ~ Debbie

What do you think?

