Home » Gate Guarding » Not Great Year for the Great Pumpkin

Not Great Year for the Great Pumpkin

Linus will have to find a patch somewhere else – there’s nary a pumpkin to be found here in Wharton – and not many in Texas.

Ghosts of Pumpkins past

The drought has affected even the hallowed practice of  carving a jack-o-lantern on Halloween.

The Texas pumpkin crop is down an estimated 50%. Texans are being forced to buy out-of-state gourds, if those can even be found.

Few things scream Halloween like a jack-o-lantern, but it proved impossible to scare one up this year. I had my pumpkin carving tools ready and even bought special pumpkin lights that would be impervious to the Texas gusts. I set up the little wooden table, thinking happy pumpkin faces would be a pleasant gate greeting. But after scouring the town there were none to be found.

I can’t explain why I like to carve pumpkins. As you can see from the photo above, I have no artistic ability. The pumpkin on the far left was Heidi’s last year. You’ll notice a striking resemblance to that one in each of the photos above. She’s a firm believer that there is one proper pumpkin face and that’s it. Most emphatically, Heidi believes the jack-o-lantern should never have a nose. It must be an Iowa thing. Ours always had noses in Indiana.

My Mom and Dad really loved holidays. All holidays! I guess I’ve never quite recovered from their joy of celebration! 😀

Backward, turn backward,
O Time, in your flight
make me a child again
just for to-night!
~Elizabeth Akers Allen

You might think you wouldn’t have many trick -or-treaters if you’re working as a gate guard on an oil rig. But even though it’s barely Halloween – a little after midnight, I just opened the door and sure enough, the trick-or-treaters are lined up as far as the eye can see. We have cement trucks, chemical trucks, torque trucks, trailer trucks, water trucks and some I’m not sure about yet.

I don’t know that there are real ghosts and goblins, but there are always more trick-or-treaters than neighborhood kids.  ~Robert Braul

I’m ready for them with my Dollar Store pumpkin and WalMart treats. Penny candy seems to bring a smile at any age and all the commotion is keeping the mice at bay!  Note to Heidi – even the plastic jack-o-lanterns have a nose!

Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Not Great Year for the Great Pumpkin

  1. Weird indeed to have nary a pumpkin in sight. I thought you handled the disappointment really well, Debbie. I suspect your kids will send you pictures of theirs!

What do you think?

