Home » Gate Guarding » Six Degrees of Separation: By Tooth and By Song

Six Degrees of Separation: By Tooth and By Song

Six degrees of separation refers to the concept that everyone is somehow only six steps away, by way of introduction, from any other person on Earth. It’s a theory that I’ve been re-examining this week.

Last night a guy pulled up at the gate and asked me if I’m from Canada?

He said: You know y’all have that Canadian accent. Hmm…

I said: I grew up in Indiana.

He said: Hey, I’ve got kin that go to some Amish swap meet thing in Shipshewana? You ever been?

I said: That started after I moved away but I used to go to the dentist there.

(Really? Someone in Westhoff, Texas has heard of Shipshewana, which had a population of 300 back in the 60’s!)

I grew up about 7 miles away in Middlebury. I was looking at a manual for the RV, only to find some parts were made in Middlebury! The RV, which we bought in Iowa, was made in Elkhart, where I was born (Middlebury didn’t have a hospital).

As you know, we also bought a truck from the Iowa RV dealership. The truck was originally purchased, brand new in 2006, in Texas and traded in for a Class C in Iowa. It still has a Longhorn emblem on the back window. Really, we drove 1250 miles from Texas to Iowa to buy a truck from Texas!

I read a wide variety of blogs. I’ve been following an interesting exchange between a Mel who went to high school in Iowa City, but now lives just outside Chicago, (where my daughter-in-law is from); and Jen, who lives in Colorado, and went to the Writer’s Workshop at the University of Iowa.

They’ve been talking about Hayden Fry, former football coach and the inspiration of the TV show Coach, and the Hawkeyes of  the Universityof Iowa, where my daughter had her dental implants done and my son got his PhD.

My son is now a professor at a college in New Jersey. My new blogging friend, Ruth, writes about New Jersey and sent me regular updates on the weather when Hurricane Irene hit NJ in August.

Last night I turned on TV about 2 a.m. and Little Shop of Horrors was playing. This was the musical my son kept begging the drama coach to produce so he could play Seymour. When I turned it on, Steve Martin was singing I Am a Dentist – no kidding!

Yesterday, Heidi went to Nixon to have a wisdom  tooth pulled by a dentist who hopes to retire just north of the California border on the southern Oregon coast, where Heidi and Henry and I lived for 3 years before coming to Texas last December.

My family drove through Gold Beach in 1962 on our way from Indiana to California to visit my cousin Trudy and her Mom and Dad.

My sister, me and exchange student from Germany

I couldn’t wait to go to Disneyland! It’s a Small World! That also happens to be my cousins’ favorite spot in Disneyland.

Mom. me, my Aunt - 1962

I’m going to spend Thanksgiving with Trudy in New Orleans this year.

When I got up yesterday, Heidi, who rarely watches  TV, was listening to a channel called BEST, which appears to be a continuous advertisement for the  TIME LIFE Country music CD collection of 158 classic hits from the 50’s and 60’s.

The song that was playing when I got up was El Paso by Marty Robbins. When I turned it off  the song of the moment was The Battle of New Orleans by Johnny Horton.

And there you have it… a small world connected by teeth and blogs and song.

You’ve probably seen this video, it’s been floating around You Tube and FB for a long time, but it’s true, It’s a Small World After All. 😀

11 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation: By Tooth and By Song

  1. Pingback: Tips on How to Get More Blog Readers « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Debbie,
    Hi I have been reading your posts off and on for the last day and a half. It is 4:30 Wed. morning, been up since 12:00. Waiting on a call for our first Gate Guard assignment. My wife and I are no strangers to the oilfield. I have been welding, making rig calls and such in the Permian Basin for the last 10 years. But we decided since out youngest of 3 daughters graduated that we would do something different. So we sold our house last year and moved into the Travel Trailer I bought to work out of when I found myself doing a lot of welding for H&P IDC in Sonora, Tx in 2007. We have lived and worked out of our “Trailer” for a little over a year now and we love it. This particular entry into your blog has spurred me to post a comment since it brings back so many memories of home as have almost all of your previous entries. It seems funny after graduating from Gonzales High School in 1981 and subsequently leaving this area in 1989 that I would find myself camped out on my parents place between Shiner and Gonzales reading about someone who has worked in the Smiley / Nixon area, which is the place my wife of 30 years grew up. She graduated from Smiley High School in 1980 before the two towns consolidated their school systems into one. I have just been overwhelmed with nostalgia for the last 36 hours while reading your posts and had to say “Hey”. And thanks.
    Sincerely,
    Clay

    • Well gosh Clay, isn’t that something! Our second job was exactly half way between Shiner and Gonzales on Alt 90! 😉 Thanks so much for writing! I look forward to hearing about your experiences as gate guards. Wow – you guys won’t have any learning curve. You already speak Texan and know the oil industry! I can’t imagine!! 😀
      Best wishes to you both!
      Debbie

      • I know exactly where you are talking about on your second job if I am correct. There were several rigs right in the same area. All of them right around the peach creek area and on the north side of alt 90. We could see five of them from dad’s place. As the crow flies its not but about 4 or 5 miles from here. There are still 3 rigs there that we can see at night. Anyway. Still waiting on a call. I talked to the lady at GGS and she said they weren’t taking anymore apps until after the first of the year. It’s deer hunting season and most companies are trying to limit activity on the properties because of it. So, we are crossing our fingers and hoping for the best. If you know of anyone who would like time off for the holidays put in a good word for us. We don’t mind filling in and or working through the holidays this year. \

    • Clay – I’ll certainly let Jamie know you’re available over the holidays in case he needs someone! We head to our new gate in Westhoff tomorrow. When we between Shiner and Gonzales our rancher’s name was Bubba – can’t think of his last name it was so many sites ago. We were with Forest at the time. Bubba was real nice and brought us several steak dinners! 😉
      Keep in touch!
      Debbie

  3. I’ve been followingyour BLOG all summer–and we just got our first gate guarding assignment —in the Kenedy/Cuero area. We drove downthere from Shiner where we live today to check out the area. We drove through Nixon-so I was surprised to see mention of it in your blog tonight.(Ididn’tknow you were in that area) We offered to do Holiday relief GGing so we aren’t sure if this job will just be over the holidays or longer. (did they send you relief so you could get away?) Have a good Thanksgiving-we droveto FL the day beforeThanksgiving last year and hit incredibly bag traffic around Houston-now I tell you, huh!)

    • Hi Nancy!
      Our traffic jam was in Baton Rogue – but no worse than expected considering the Wednesday before Thanksgiving is the busiest travel day of the year!
      So you’re from Shiner!
      That’s where we’ve been getting our mail since January. Alice is always so nice to us!
      Jamie put a sub on our gate while we were gone.
      However, since we were new to the rig and they have a regular gate guard that returns in January, we don’t know where or when we’ll be placed next.
      Since I work nights and am directionally challenged, I rarely get out. After 10 months in Gonzales county, on the rare times I went to the Super S in Nixon, I’d have to call Heidi by the time I was ready to head home and ask which county road we were currently living on! 😉
      We’re guessing we’ll be back in the Cuero area next, but no word yet…
      Hope you’re enjoying your job. If you’re near Cuero, I’m guessing you’re with PetroHawk? Nice company to work for. 🙂
      Debbie

  4. Another astrological trivia–when we look at a star tonight, we are not seeing how it looks now, we are seeing it as it was possibly 800 light years ago. We see the light tonight that took 800 years to get here. Therefore, the star could have died 700 years ago and we will still see a dead star from the light it sent out. Wouldn’t that be nice related to people—we still remember them for years after they are not around for the light they put into our world.

  5. Interesting. Our high school had a fall play recently and it was “Little House of Horrors”. I remember seeing “..House of Horrors play with my son, Matthew. He seriously considered going to the Writers Workshop at U of I. He majored in writing at Wartburg and did get a job at Buena Vista University in Storm Lake writing for the marketing dept. The first record album I ever purchased around 1968 was, Johnny Horton’s Greatest Hits which had the song “The Battle of New Orleans”. “we didn’t fire our muskets ’till we looked them in the eyes”.

What do you think?

