Home » Gate Guarding » Year in Review Part 6 – Mosey on Down the Road

Year in Review Part 6 – Mosey on Down the Road

If I’m going to end my year in review by the end of the year, I better mosey on down the road.

Out of curiosity, I tried to find the origin of this saying (mosey on down the road) but no one seems to know. Some scholars think it comes from the word vamoose from the Spanish vamos . That may be but vamos meant to get going pretty darn quickly and mosey mean something more akin to take you own sweet time.

Anyway, we closed the gate in Tilden, with the typical hour and a half notice and settled into a little spot in town that Larry (our FS) had arranged, to wait for our next assignment. We spent a day in Pleasanton doing laundry and stocking up on groceries.  We were having breakfast at Max’s Motel and Cafe (great food – see animal heads on previous posts), planning an exciting adventure to Freer to see the world’s largest rattlesnake (which sits front of the Freer Chamber of Commerce) when Larry said Jamie wanted us to go to Hallettsville, a lovely little town, made famous as the location for the movie The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.

So, after one day off,  moseyed in the rain, 150 miles NE and spent the night just outside Hallettsville, ready to set up first thing the next morning. It wasn’t meant to be. Jamie called and said some fellow was having a fit over by Shiner because he didn’t like the pad they’d made for him and he refused to stay so would we please swap sites. Apparently, that was what was meant to be, and so began our 11 month wild ride with this oil co and drilling company.

We arrived a couple of hours after the first couple took off.  We had a new FS, George, and for the first time, we had a Company Man, Jimbo. By the time we arrived, Jimbo was already unhappy with our company over the gate-rejecting guards. I don’t think he thought things could get a lot worse until that good ole’ Louisiana boy saw two women and a pretend dog pull up. We couldn’t understand him real well at first. That’s probably a good thing.

Another theory for the origin of mosey on down the road  is that it’s a reference to Moses, wandering around for 40 years in the wilderness. Although less likely, that may be a better word picture for us since we spent exactly 40 days and 40 nights at our site in-between Shiner and Gonzales. We claimed Shiner as our home since they let us have library cards and Gonzales wouldn’t.

We learned tons at this site, but probably the experiences that make for the best stories all have to do with liquids. They’re too long to tell tonight, since it’s starting to storm and my internet is popping on and off. I’ll close this post with an observation about names. I had no idea how many southern guys have names ending on vowels. Why is that, I wonder?

We worked for Jimbo on a ranch owned by Bubba. I’d never met anyone named Bubba before although I’ve met several since, and a  Bobbo. We had Johnny, Willy, Billy, and Jimmy; we had a Bo, Bobby Jo, Billy Jo and our first true friend in Texas, JoJo (we miss you JoJo!) By the time I met Kevin, our mud engineer, I thought he was giving me an alias.

Most days, I felt like an anthropologist living among a foreign peoples in a foreign land. Believe me, they thought they same thing about me, too, although they might have phrased it differently, something more along the lines of : You plant a tater, you get a tater and then they’d probably just grin at each other like that just about sums it up.

Tomorrow more on our odyssey into the world of southern sittin’, southern spelling and southern spittin’, if the Lord’s willing and the creek don’t rise.

17 thoughts on “Year in Review Part 6 – Mosey on Down the Road

  1. I don’t aim to miss any of your post. You are a writer. I posted the other day and i went from one subject to another all the way through my post. I was in a hurry and wanted to get it all down before i ran out of time. We have done so much meeting with family & friends and it is always eating out. I feel like one of the balloons in the Macy’s day parade (all blown up).
    We will be leaving (if everything goes as planned) on Tue morning heading back to Texas.
    We have really enjoyed our time here. I sure hope you two are getting a lot of goodies for Christmas. Tilden is not the place i want to be anymore. But might have to again, who knows. My old rv blog had something about a new guard company on there. Gotta go almost bedtime.
    Betty

    • Betty – LOL! Lots of great food in Kentucky, huh? Merry Christmas to you and Rickey! I’m so glad you’re enjoying your time with your family and friends. It’s very quiet here – a nice, peaceful quiet. Safe travels. It hasn’t quit raining since you left!
      ~ Debbie

  2. Hi Debbie, I just wanted to say I love your blog! I love the way you tell the stories, I get a good laugh and that really brightens my day! Happy Holidays to both you and Heidi!!

    • Cindi – Thank you so much! There are so many Gate Guard blogs out there now, I’ve been thinking about ending this one. I don’t want to become redundant (well, I guess a year in review IS redundant). 😀
      Thanks for reading and thank you so much for commenting – keeps me going!
      ~ Debbie

      • Oh goodness no, don’t end it!! Every one of the gate guard blogs are unique and noone tells a story like you do…Your blog is one of the first gate guard blogs I ever found. Please continue!! Merry Christmas!

    • Bob – thank you my friend. Your encouragement has kept me going for a long time! 😀
      There are just so many of us now – I think I added 2 more this week – that I’m wondering if I have anything left to say. You have to admit, I do go on and on and on… 😉
      Debbie

  3. Great reading. How lucky you were to be able to stay with one outfit that long.
    Our first assignment was 9 days. Than we were ask to go to Louisiana, which
    we agreed to if we would be able to continue working from one site to another
    without layoffs. We were assured that would be the case. Well here we are 3 and a half weeks later with no assignment.

    We are switching companies and have a new assignment which is scheduled to start Jan 13th and run for a year. It’s up around Pecos, TX.

    There was the following on the Workamper Hotline yesterday:

    Texas. M R Ranch Services is located in south Texas and provides gate guard services to the oil field industry. We are currently looking for couples who own their own RV (optional) for the Cotulla/Tildon, Texas area. Full time duties are logging incoming and exiting trucks and vehicles onto private property for drilling purposes. A water tank and discharge tank for solid waste is provided. No hook ups but generator is provided. These can be temporary or year-round. Call Dennis Patterson at: 956-346-1994. dennis@mrranchservices.com $$
    Phone: 956-346-1994
    Email: dennis@mrranchservices.com .

    Not familiar with the company and don’t remember if you had it listed or not.

    Wishing all a Merry Christmas.

    Dick, Nancy, Marco Polo and Bella

  4. Ok, love, all i can say is hide Henry when you eat at Max’s ;-0.

    Texas just keeps getting better, Damn. The best little Whorehouse; the worlds largest rattlesnake, and Shiner the Cleanest little Town-o in Texas!

    Thank heavens for library cards. Kevin didn’t want to tell you he’s a Bubba.

    If you’ve ever seen Boston Legal … Denny Crane decided to recite a famous quote: “Hope springs a kernel” … he said it was a farmer’s slogan (maybe he was from Texas) … Anyway, my hilarious writing, RV’ing lady: Hope Springs Eternal! xoxox mel

    Hey, do you have a gun yet? I’m starting to think it’s necessary ?????

    • Thanks Bob – I thought this one was kind of boring but I surely appreciate your encouragement. You’ve read Fork for so long, I’m afraid these next several posts are going to be pretty redundant for you.
      Merry Christmas to you and Gaby!
      ~ Debbie

  5. Sounds like you really lucked out with an 11 month gig. Sure beats bouncing around every couple weeks, if you don’t wanna bounce around I mean. Hey Debbie I have a private question I would rather not post public on a forum, could I email you perhaps? ajarnjoshua@gmail.com

    Promise I am not a stalker or anything freaky. 🙂

What do you think?

