Home » Gate Guarding » Year in Review Part 9 – One Year of Sharing

Year in Review Part 9 – One Year of Sharing

Our first day on the job as gate guards was one year ago today! Wow! Seems more like 5! 😀  When I turned  Fork into a gate guard blog on December 28th of 2010, I was really just writing it for my kids, my Sis, my Cousin and a couple of friends. I was a most reluctant blogger since I don’t like to write, I’m a terrible proof-reader, I’m dyslexic and I type, maybe, 30 wpm.

I wrote a post a day, every day for the first 5 months. The entire world was so new to me and I found just about everything to be fascinating. Things like the proper way to drive in Texas – 75 mph regardless of road conditions and spending the majority of your  time off-road driving.

I learned to choose the restaurants with the best ambiance:

~and~

~

I found signage in Texas to rarely be understated.

~

 ~

 ~

~

Texas State Rifle Association - Defending the rights of Texas gun owners since 1919! If You Can Read This You're In My Effective Range

~

And this sign is perhaps the least subtle of all.

~

After 5 months, I cut back to posting every now and then. Still, you stayed with me. Do you remember the Sister number from White Christmas?

~

~

The song was all about sharing and so is this post.  😀

~

I want to thank you for sharing this wild ride with me!

When we started gate guarding, the only gate guard blog I’d ever read was Kit and Jerry’s@ Welcome to the Bertelsen Web Site. Reading Kit’s accounting of their daily life at the gate was like gate guarding 101 for me. They introduced us to two other blogs: Luke and Inez @ The McKnight’s Luke and Inez Making Memories and John and Terry@ The Adventures of John and Terry. Before long Andy and Miss K @ MyOldRV introduced themselves and it was just the 5 of us for the longest time.

Now, as you can see, there are a dozen gate guard blogs on my Blogroll and those are just the ones I read. More are popping up each day. With that in mind, I’m thinking of taking a step back from Fork. I’ll finish the Year in Review, which will likely spill over into next year since there are still many stories I’d like to share with you. Then I plan to lay down my lasso.

It’s been an amazing year gate guarding and an incredible year blogging about gate guarding. I had 5 hits that last week in December. (I think all 5 were my daughter) 🙂

There were 307 views the entire month in January. As I write this just before midnight on the 27th, there have now been 50, 572 views. In the blogging world, that’s tiny (some blogs have that many in a week), but in my world it’s incredible and I thank you!

In this past year, you’ve made  me laugh and made me wonder! 😉

You’ve shared your wisdom and questions and advice. In a year, I’ve written 240 posts and you’ve made 1592 comments! Thank you!

If you’ll stick with me a little longer, I have a few more stories to tell and then I think I’ll toss the rope to the new folks. It’s been fun! You’ve made it fun! And I thank you!

32 thoughts on “Year in Review Part 9 – One Year of Sharing

  1. And here was I, just getting comfortable here. I guess I am going to have to go back into your archives and get caught up. Oh, and by the way – I love the parking sign. 😉 My husband always used to say that being handicapped didn’t count from the neck up, which is probably why it made me chuckle. That and from seeing too many park in those spots whether they were handicapped or not.

    • Drusilla – You don’t want to do that – believe me! I’ll post a few from the archives this week. And I’ll likely still write from time to time. For some reason, Word Press works fine on Two Minutes of Grace, but not here at Fork – so I’ll save you the search. Thanks for being interested, though. 😀
      Debbie

  2. Oh Debbie, I totally disagree. You are a GREAT storyteller! Although I read about 5 other gate guarding blogs, yours is definitely at the top of the list. I look forward every day to seeing what you two (& Henry) are up to.
    Now that I am blogging more, I completely understand what you mean when you say it is hard to come up with something to write every single day. I often don’t manage it either.
    Take a break, but don’t feel like you need to move over for the “new” folks like me. I think it is an encouragement to all of us to read each others’ stories. Perhaps if you let go of the pressure to write every day, you can just write a post when you have something to say rather than trying to figure out what to say. I hope that makes sense.
    Once we head up to Idaho for the summer and begin working in the campground, I won’t be writing nearly as often. When we come back next September, I am sure I will start up again. In the meantime, I will look forward to keeping track of you and Heidi, Kit & Jerry, Luke & Inez, Andy and Miss Kathy, John & Terry, Doris & Dave, Phil & Rudee, etc. etc. etc. We are kind of a unique group, don’t you think? It would be a shame to lose that~

    • Hi Sue! I haven’t actually written every day since the first of June. I’ll keep in touch, one way or another. I’ll certainly be reading all of the blogs. We are a unique group – that’s for sure!
      Debbie

  3. Now, Now, Debbie there are blogs and there are blogs. The Fork in The road & Andy’s are the best for reading. Everybody cannot keep people laughing like you do. My blog will be about gate guarding while we are gate guarding. About other things while traveling or at home during the summer months. I have sinus infection, fever broke this morning around 4:30 so i feel better. My daughter had some antibiotic i started on them Tue and that has really helped. I usual stay sick for 6 to 8 weeks with sinus infection. It has been 2 yrs since i had an attack. We talk funny in Ky too. leave out a lot of letters. Everytime i have been up north they could not understand me. I don’t know why, I know how to talk, must be them.
    Betty

  4. I hope you change your mind and will continue posting at least once a month. If you don’t you will still need to keep in touch with John and I. We are heading back out to gate guarding in a couple of weeks, maybe we’ll run into each other again!

    • Terry – I’ll probably keep writing from time to time. I’ll definitely be writing for a while as I still have so much of this past year to recap. Either way, I certainly keep in touch with you and John and I’ll be reading your blog! 😀
      Debbie

  5. Deb,

    I would encourage you to keep your lasso twirling at least once a month or so. My favorite blog, even if I dont read each one as it is posted. Oh and most of us true Texans do not use the word Lasso,,,!!!! lol

    Charlie

    • OK Charlie, I’m intrigued. Do Texans call them lariats or just ropes? 🙂
      You get back to me on that, and I’ll keep writing for a while. Deal?
      Debbie

  6. Pingback: Year in Review Part 10 – A Short Recap of Texas Speak « FORK IN THE ROAD

  7. NNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why would you decide to stop? We were living in Texas and had started our research on gate guarding when we found you blog…We have since moved to Washington state but still check everyday to see what you have added on your blogs. They are always entertaining and informative, even keeps us informed on the weather down south.. Please rethink that decision for you would be greatly missed!!!!!

    • Hello, Patty!
      You certainly know how to express yourself! 😀
      It sounds like Washington has really been hit with rain! I keep an eye on the West coast weather since I still miss Oregon so much.
      I’ll give it some thought. Thanks for your kind words!
      Debbie

  8. Say it isn’t so……It’s been a wonderful way to keep up with you, H and H. Your writing provided more than a picture of your daily life and the thoughts of your heart and mind; I was able to be with you and know all was well. Keep well, my friend, and keep writing.

    • Dear Karla – I sure do miss you guys!
      I feel like my writing has gotten pretty dry and there are SO many gate guard blogs now that I think Fork may have served it’s purpose. For one thing, it’s helped me not eat so much to stay awake at night! 🙂
      If I start eating all the time, I may have to return to writing!
      Debbie

  9. Oh No I can’t do with out my daily read< I live for it getting up on line ever time that I can to see what our favorite people and Henry have been up to…..Surely you could tell us once or twice a week how your world is moving along…………..Don't just drop us we will have withdrawal pains.

    • Luke – You always make me smile! 😀
      Are you loving your new home?
      Thanks for being so encouraging, right from the start! As you know, it gets pretty lonely as a blogger when no one comments.
      Your friend at Fork,
      Debbie

  10. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Not all lassos are laying down are they? Fork is a treat … and the restaurants are gracious. Signage clever. Dog Bites, best. A dead animal, well, that’s too scary to talk about. Gun yet? xoxox m

  11. I will miss you terribly. You have to reconsider. Take a break or cut back, we can’t go cold turkey. It’s too much.

    Barb Reeves

    • Barb – LOL! I’m pretty sure everyone will get by just fine! 😀
      But thank you!
      Who knows, maybe I’ll get my second wind later on?
      Thanks for reading all this time!
      ~ Debbie

  12. Please keep blogging regularly…as a fellow gate guard, I love to read about your adventures!! Your blog is always upbeat and interesting. You have a definite knack for telling your stories. I always look forward to a new post.

    • Thanks, Carol. I seem to have problem recapping the year since I just wrote my 10th post on it and I’m still just in February. Looks like it may take a while. 😉
      ~ Debbie

  13. OMG…You can’t quit writing! How will we keep up with Henry?

    Blogging can become a burden if you try to come up with a post everyday, but you can at least post once or twice a week to stay in touch. You have an obligation to the readers that LOVE you!

    Don’t leave us 😦

      • I think it’s a combination of both. Since you were a speaker, you are a great storyteller. Plus, you have lots of material to pull from. I truly appreciate your wealth of information and your support as we get started in this unique world of gate guarding. I hope you don’t fade away completely… I love reading your blog posts!

        Vicky

What do you think?

