Home » Gate Guarding » It’s The Bee’s Knees!

It’s The Bee’s Knees!

Do you remember the expression, It’s the bee’s knees? Me, neither! šŸ˜‰

OK, I know it from old movies, but I’ve never actually heard anyone use it, until yesterday.

I’ve done a bit of research on the bee’s knees. The Phrase Finder seems to have come up with the best explanation:

Bees carry pollen back to the hive in sacs on their legs. It is tempting to explain this phrase as alluding to the concentrated goodness to be found around a bee’s knee, but there’s no evidence to support this explanation.

There’s no profound reason to relate bees and knees other than the jaunty-sounding rhyme. In the 1920s it was fashionable to use nonsense terms to denote excellence – ‘the snake’s hips’, ‘the kipper’s knickers’, ‘the cat’s pajamas/whiskers’, ‘the monkey’s eyebrows’ and so on. Of these, the bee’s knees and the cat’s whiskers are the only ones to have stood the test of time.

The nonsense expression ‘the bee’s knees’ was taken up by the socialites of Roaring 20s America and added to the list of ‘excellent’ phrases.

Yesterday was a day of ‘excellent phrases’ here in Lindenau (which is where my phone thinks I am, even though I keep telling it I’m in Westhoff). I’d never heard of Lindenau. There aren’t any signs that say Lindenau.

Of course I was wrong. There is a Lindenau and I am in it. There just isn’t a town. Lindenau reported a population of 60 from the mid-1920s until the late 1960s, when it decreased to 50, the exact number it maintained for the next 40 years. It’s been 12 years since the last count. I’m not sure if Lindenau is still holding steady at 50 or not, but I Google mapped myself and that’s where I am.

Anyway, yesterday, here in Lindenau, we added several new catchy sayings of our own that I think the Phrase Finder might be interested in:

It’ just like Quiche on aĀ  carpet!

Poor Heidi was carrying it outside to cool when she lost her grip…

It’s like a moth to a coffee cup.

I’m starting to get used to it, but I am learning to check before I swallow.

And finally there was that old familiar phrase about the bees. When I woke up yesterday evening (if you’re new to Fork, I work nights), I called out to Heidi.

Hey, what’s all over the toilet?

Oh, it’s just the bee’s knees.

I thought she was being 1920’sĀ  funny. We’ve been at this site for exactly one month today and I haven’t seen a single bee. Then I looked up…

and then I looked down…

Yes, believe it! It really was the bee’s knees! Who knew?

Just when I thought Texas was running out of surprises! Isn’t that just the kipper’s knickers!

17 thoughts on “It’s The Bee’s Knees!

    • Sue – I read your post, but I haven’t tried the bottle yet. I may need to. We really haven’t seen a single bee except on the bathroom vent. Isn’t that weird?
      Debbie

  1. Everytime it warms up to around 60, i see bees. When i go outside they always find me. On Sunday there were two trying to get inside everytime the door was opened. I was beginning to think Texas, has all the honey bees. Where are the bee hives ? When we were in Tilden, they brought a whole semi load of bees to put out. Of course a few soon found where i was living. People over here are sliping and sliding in and out of our gate. Dog has had her feet washed twice today and more to come. Have a great week.

    Betty

    • Hi Betty!
      They’re laying a pipe line directly across from our RV, but not today. I think the mud is at least shin deep!
      Hope you’re feeling better,
      Debbie

    • Jeff – It’s really pretty funny because I’ve argued with my phone for 4 weeks – I would type in Westhoff, it would give me the weather for Lindenau, except for the two times it gave me the forecast for Concrete. I don’t know if that’s a town, too, or my phone was just being insulting)! šŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  2. During the summer we had LOTS of bees, they seemed to be attracted to the water let off by the a/c unit. Now, no bees. I guess they’ve all moved over to your place.

  3. Debbie, that ceiling vent looks just like ours. It’s a mystery to me why when the fan is blowing OUT that all the bees are attracted there!

    • Doris – it’s the oddest thing, because we really don’t have any bees anywhere else. If it quits raining, I suppose we need to get the ladder and see if they’re building a home up there. I don’t get their suicidal attraction to the fan, because, as you say, it’s blowing out! I expect someone will explain this to me before long. šŸ˜€
      Debbie

  4. I like kipper’s knickers … now WHERE di that go. Oh dear … the quiche. Rats! Looks like a quiche on a carpet. Sorry. Did you guys find something to eat? Honey perhaps.

    UNBELIEVABLE! Only a wonderful writer would find bees knees laying around. Dang! This is so funny. The Fork gone and done poked me agin! More smiling … face hurts. Must do some work.

    P.S. The moths.Ew. Yes, do check … although i’m sure they have some protein qualitites. yuk. xoxox m

    • melis – you wouldn’t believe how much extra protein I’ve had in my coffee this past year! I thought all I had to watch for were scorpions in my shoes. Who knew there’d be bee’s knees on my toilet see and moths and beetlejuice in my coffee! šŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  5. Ohh Debbie too many bees give me the heebeejeebees! I love the picture of your site there, nice change from just the barren lands from the past. Here in this senior complex I hear all kinds of cliches and sayings. I will try to remember one for you. Have a great day! Chris

What do you think?

