Home » Gate Guarding » Why Frost and Fork?

Why Frost and Fork?

Last March I tried to answer the burning question Why Fork in the Road?

I’m having a mountain of technical difficulties tonight, so I’m going to try to re-post this for those of you who are new to Fork since then. If the video doesn’t come through, I apologize. We’ve ordered a new internet card, so hope to have better connectivity soon! No longer have the Class A and the Jeep but rest still fits. 😀

Two roads diverged in a wood and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. ~Robert Frost

That was the concept behind the name of the blog. Did we chose a road less traveled by?  Well, judging from the double takes we get when folks see a woman driving a Motorhome, towing a Jeep,  the answer must be Yes. This is pretty funny since driving a Class A  is so easy. If you want a driving challenge, drive carpool in a mini-van. 😀

If the question is Why a road less traveled?  The answer is I have absolutely no idea.  I’ve always thought of myself as blandly conventional, so I’m possibly the most surprised by a less traveled path.

I think my best answer to either question comes from one of  my favorite philosophers, Elwood P Dowd.

My very favorite movie is Harvey.

~

~

I love Jimmy Stewart who plays Elwood P Dowd.

I love his best friend, a 6 foot 3 1/2 inch Pooka named Harvey.

And I like his life philosophies:

Well, I’ve wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I’m happy to state I finally won out over it.

And

Years ago, my mother used to say to me, she’d say “In this world, Elwood, you can be oh so so smart, or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart… I recommend pleasant. You may quote me.

And I do, often (quote him). I recommend pleasant.

The  often forgotten portion of Frost’s poem is:

Though as for that, the passing there had worn them really about the same.

I especially like that part. We may have more in common than you think: me here in  Texas, writing at 2 in the morning, in an RV, guarding a gate at an oil rig; and you, wherever you are, reading this right now.

At heart, most of us are just looking for ways to love and live and celebrate the joys of the every day. We do it in different places and in different ways, but the path of tenderness and compassion and treating others with kind regard wears well, wherever, whatever your journey.

I always have a wonderful time, wherever I am, whomever I’m with. ~Elwood P. Dowd.

9 thoughts on “Why Frost and Fork?

    • Hello Dell – In the interest of full disclosure – I have to admit that I can’t say I was smart for many years, only that I recommend pleasant! 😉
      Debbie

  1. Oh wow–another place to visit you, sister! How cool! South Texas, where? My wonderful cousin lives in Cypress, which is like a block away from Houston…See you soon–bunches of hugs, God bless you abundantly!

    • Well hi Caddo! Fancy meeting you here! 😀
      I was born in Indiana, moved to Iowa when I got married at 21. I left Iowa for Oregon when I was 50. I lived in Oregon (which is where I hope to retire someday) for 3 years (6 months in CA in the middle there) and then moved to Texas in December of 2010 to work as a gate guard for oil rigs.
      We typically move to a new site every 3-4 weeks. Right now the closest town of any size is Cuerro (southeast of San Antonio). We’ve spent almost all of this past year in Gonzales county. We’re just subbing on a gate until the 18th. Then, we’re unemployed again until a new gate opens up.
      So happy to hear you’ve won out over reality, too! 😀
      Hugs right back at you,
      Debbie

  2. OK, First …Love Frost, and Love Harvey. I love Jimmy Stewart for that matter.

    I am so happy to be reading FORK. You are witty and smart, and YOU MY FRIEND are pleasant!!! Yes, I choose pleasant as well. Smart can help, though it is a matter of opinion, and to my mind, quite subjective and our education system is a rigid bitch … BUT i digress.

    Pleasant you can’t learn. So Elwood, take that Big old Bunny by the Hand and smile!!!

    I am SO GOING TO RENT HARVEY! Mucho, love, Mel

  3. Well, said!!! Much enjoy your musings. Got our application for GGS sent out yesterday. Let’s see how long it takes to get processed. But we are heading out to Texas from Arizona at the end of the month in any case.

    • Hi Bobbie! Thanks for speaking up! I look forward to hearing about your Gate Guarding adventures. Do you have a place to stay in Texas? If not, I’ve sent a lot of people to Mark and Teri at Hidden Valley RV Park near San Antonio (Von Ormy). I’ve never actually stayed there – 😀 – but I know many gate guards who use that as a home base. http://www.hiddenvalleyrv.net/
      Just tell Teri that you read about it on Fork. Her rate for gate guards was $15.50 a night for full hook up (as of last year). Hard to beat that! San Antonio is a pretty central location if you have to wait a little while. Most of the jobs seem to be south. The Eagle Ford Shale play is a creating a lot of jobs!
      Thank again for reading. Safe travels. Keep in touch!
      Debbie

What do you think?

