Home » Gate Guarding » The Day Company Came a Callin’

The Day Company Came a Callin’

I don’t feel like myself tonight. Isn’t that an odd saying? It’s not like I feel like someone else. I’m not exactly sick or entirely well. I guess I’m just a little more off than usual, so I promise to keep this short.

We had company yesterday! I think you might have to be a gate guard in real rural Texas and have nearly all your friends and family 1200 – 2200 miles away to really appreciate how wonderful it is to get company!

On a few rare occasions, we’ve had an opportunity to meet other gate guards, which has been great fun! And we’ve had tons of company with multiple legs, which I’ll write more about, another time.

But yesterday, people who already know us, came to see us on purpose! πŸ™‚

~

~

We met Mike and Casey inΒ  Oregon where we were workampers together. Mike converted our gas- only water heater to give us an electric option in the Class A. They taught us how to tie down our awning and then taught us to never put out the awning on the Oregon coast unless we wanted to go para-sailing!

We were new to RVing, new to workamping, new to the coast; which is just a nice way of saying we didn’t know anything and they taught us everything! We were so poor, they even bought us a space heater. You’ve gotta love folks who keep you warm and keep you laughing! Thank you so much, dear friends, for spending 7 hours in the car to spend 4 hours with us today!

I’m not sure what Mike and Heidi talked about while Casey and I walked Buttons and Henry, but I could tell things were different after they left.

We played cards, as we do almost every night. But it wasn’t cards as usual. Maybe that’s why I don’t quite feel like myself? We generally always (yes, that’s how they say it down here) play 2 hands of Whist, 2 hands of Gin Rummy and 1 game of Cribbage.

I usually win. πŸ™‚

I don’t mean to, it just happens. That fact that Heidi’s only been playing cards for about 4 years and I’ve been playing cards since I was 4, may be a factor. Anyway, I think Mike must have given her a pep talk. She won tonight! In my defense, it’s hard to maintain any strategy with a gun in your face. Just sayin’. πŸ˜‰

~

~

To celebrate her massive card annihilation, we watched Heidi’s favorite TV show: Swamp People. Ever since our trip to LouisianaΒ  and our wild air boat ride through the Bayou, she loves to watch Swamp People and yell out Shoot him! which I’ve gotten used to but still startles Henry. The shooting is a reference to the alligator, not to a person, but that’s a story for a night when I feel more like myself. πŸ˜€

~

This 10 footer was about a foot from my foot. My toes haven’t felt quite the same since…

18 thoughts on “The Day Company Came a Callin’

  1. I love Heid’s shirt!! So Heidi isn’t it. I have to share the picture with a fella here at work who just moved back to Iowa from being in Texas for about 30 years. He will love it.
    Thanks for the humor…love , Chris

  2. Oh, Sister!! That very large mouth a foot from your foot–YIKES! I got way too nervous. I so admire your card playing skills–I’m embarrassingly deficient, and it stresses me out if anyone even suggests I play!! Traumatic memory: my 4-yr old niece scolding me because I couldn’t manage a hand of “Crazy Eights”……….That’s it–I fold!! God bless you, Debbie–sending you big hugs!

    • Hello Caddo! One of these days I’ll write about our Thanksgiving trip to New Orleans. We had one amazing 2 hour swamp ride! It was just the 4 of us. Our guide also brought a nutria on board which splattered mud all over me (and only me). I don’t know if you’ve seen a nutria (kind of a giant swamp rat) but they have BIG bright orange teeth! πŸ˜€

      My family was great for playing cards: Euchre, Pinochle, Canasta etc… Everyone in the family was a good card player, but my Uncle could count cards (maybe because he never talked much πŸ˜‰ ) so he often was the winner.
      My Grandma quit playing Go Fish with me when I was 4 because I always won. She said I cheated because every color fish had a slightly different eye and I knew all their expressions. I couldn’t help it. I could look at the back of her hand and know what she was holding. πŸ˜‰
      Hugs you way tonight, Caddo!
      Debbie

      • I declare, sis!! I hope we aren’t gonna have “chores” up at the mansion–because I see us sittin’ around “cuttin’ up” all heaven’s long day.

        Now I’m gonna have nightmares about the nutria with BIG bright orange teeth… I think I’m way glad these adventures are Yours, not mine! See you down the trail! Love ‘n blessings!

  3. Oh ladies! Sounds like a lot of fun. I like the T Heidi … don’t call 911, shoot and ask questions later. Thanks for the laughs. I think i’d be distracted if a gun was pointed at my face while i was trying to play cards! Yay Heidi! I hope you won lots of “bullets” …. ? What DO you play for in Texas, down south xoxo melis

    • Hey there, melis!
      We just play for conversation and laughs! πŸ˜€ Because we don’t either one take it seriously, we use the time to talk and just have fun. Anyway, I know better than to wager with someone who wears a gun! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  4. Wow I bet that it was great to get a visit from old friends, True we see lots of folks every day but one can never replace Friends and Family and for them to travel so far to see you out here in Texas was really a treat I bet.
    Looks like rain here today hope you all are staying warm and dry

    • Hi Luke!
      It was great fun!
      It’s only drizzled a little here. Particularly glad about that tonight since we’re right on the front edge of the pad and the field gets really muddy when it rains. Pulling out in the morning!
      Debbie

  5. Mike and Casey are the kind of friends that no matter how long it’s been since we’ve talked, we pick right back up with the flat-out fun where we left off!!

    I miss having MIke around to give me tips and teach me, but he says I’m well into the learning curve on RVing now. I wanted to know when I’m going to hit the stright away and he said, ‘When they put you into the box!”

    OK, will take the curve and enjoy it.

    Speaking of which, we’ll be waiting for a new assignment as of Wednesday morning, if the regular gate guards for this rig appear when they thought they would. I get used to not knowing what’s around the bend. I’m praying I really do understand the hitch and we hook up fine like the last two times!

    When will the dread go away???

    • Mike and Casey are the best of the best!
      Just to update Heidi’s comment. Scott told her this a.m. that we need to be out by 9:30 tomorrow. The gate guards we’ve been subbing for will be here in the morning. And we’re all hitched up and ready to roll! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  6. How great that you had some friends visit! Sounds like you & Heidi were about as inexperienced as we were when we first bought the motorhome ~ LOL!

    I went to visit some new gate guards yesterday, they’ve moved in about 7 miles from us. It’s such a treat to have someone other than DH to talk to…gate guarding makes for such a limited social life.

    • Hi Diane! You must have gotten your internet fixed! πŸ˜€
      We were greener than green when we met Mike and Casey. Our entire training for the Motorhome (same with the 5th wheel) was to each drive it 1/4 of a mile on a back road.
      We had 1 hitching up lesson with each.Clearly could have used a few more with this one! We got in under 10 minutes tonight though! Out of work again tomorrow, but hopefully not for too long.
      Debbie

  7. Mr. A absolutely loves Heidi’s shirt!! So happy to hear your friends came for a visit. Friends like that are golden. I didn’t know you two went out in an air boat!! They are such fun. We went out on one when we volunteered at the wild life refuge. Remind me to tell you about Mr. A going out in the swamp in an air boat to put up boundary signs. I’ll give you a clue – his boots were about 4 sizes to big!!

    • Jill – LOL! I wish I would have picked up an extra shirt for Mr. A! I’m trying to remember where we got it. I’m thinking in San Antonio. Heidi loves that shirt way too much! πŸ˜‰
      The guys are the rig really get a kick out of it.
      I can’t wait to hear Mr A’s air boat story. If we stay unemployed for a while, we might see if it’s OK if we head your way for a visit! It would be like having company except we haven’t met in person yet. No I guess it would be like being company. πŸ˜€ We’ve never done that! We DO know Tilden, so I think we can find you! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

What do you think?

