Home » Gate Guarding » Blame it on Gravity

Blame it on Gravity

Gravity is a contributing factor in nearly 73 percent of all accidents involving falling objects. ~ Dave Barry

We got ready to leave Seguin in record time Wednesday morning. Heidi stood in the road, giving me hand signals as I pulled the RV off the soft pea gravel pad. The truck tires were humming.

By the way, it turns out they really are supposed to look like circles. The one that looked more like an egg had a bolt in it.

Anyway, I eased out and made a fairly sharp right turn and that was it. There I sat.

It was a mystery.

Heidi got in and gave it a try. I said: The tires on the RV aren’t rolling. That comment pretty well sums up all of my diagnostic and mechanical skills.

Did I mention that it had rained for 6 straight days? It was so muddy – over the ankles type muddy –Β  that Heidi had climbed in the truck bed from the driver’s side and cross hooked the brake-away cable. It’s amazing to me that that tiny cable works.

It worked. I turned right, it pulled left and the brakes locked. In a brief moment of panic, we called the RV repair shop next door and they sent a fellow down to push the plastic plug back into it’s box. He told us to attach it with the lock on the hitch in the future. That way it’s centered. Well OK, then.

So we headed out for the Texas bayou. I drove. It was a surprisingly uneventful trip. When we arrived at our destination, we spent 30 minutes practicing backing into the first spot we saw (we were told on the phone to pick a spot and then find the park host and register).

You know how it’s always harder to do something you’re just learning with an audience watching? In an RV park, you always have people peering out their windows. And if you’re two women with a big rig, a small crowd generally gathers.

We were finally almost parked when the folks next door came home and the 3 children decided to become our new family members, offering tons of helpful tips.

Before we could unhitch, Miss Dale, who had been feeding the ducks, drove up and asked what we were doing there.

We explained. Then she explained that the site that was ours for the next 10 days was 44 not 52. That was fine since we clearly need more practice parking and 44 was way down at the end. When we got there we found it was serving as a temporary parking spot for extra vehicles.

No problem. We said we’d wait in the cul de sac for the owners to return and move their trucks and cars. It was only then that I mentioned to Heidi that our carefully duct taped crackled window had apparently blown out (in mostly) somewhere along the way. (This isn’t something you share with someone while they’re making 15 attempts to back into a spot).

We spent the next two hours with gloves and a tap hammer and a 3 step stool: first knocking out the remaining tiny pieces of glass and then picking up everything that didn’t fall directly into the garbage bag I held under the window.

By the time Coast Guard Nick returned to move his car, we were a little weary. He offered to park the RV in it’s new slot and we were happy to say yes, since we didn’t really have another 30 minutes to practice backing up before dark.

Nick made it on the first try. We unhitched and headed to Home Depot for something to tape over the window since a storm was on the way. Plexiglass was heavy and expensive but I found some lovely bright lavender foam (we already had the yellow duct tape).

Kind of goes with my shoes, don’t you think! πŸ™‚

RV repairs are scheduled for the 20th. You know how it is when you see a really beat up car in the parking lot and you park far away from it just in case? Believe me, folks see us coming and give us a wide berth!

Personally, I just blame it on gravity.

23 thoughts on “Blame it on Gravity

  1. Hi, I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve shared the love by nominating you for the Liebster Award, because I really like your blogs. If you go to my page, you’ll see what it is. Feel free to accept and post on your page or not, it is really up to you. If you accept, see http://iamnotshe.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/im-a-little-liebster-and-proud-of-it/ for the rules. She sets it out so much better than I ever could. Happy blogging Jen πŸ™‚

    Capt. Savage
    (Not actually a front-line officer, but still knows what is what)

  2. My friend had a small motorhome and i had a pop-up camper. We are taking the kids camping for Halloween month at Otter Creek Park about 20 south of Louisville, Ky. When we get there we have to park in the overflow section. I am trying to back up the pop-up and would have gotten it done if everyone would have left me alone. I finally just unhook and we push the pop-up in place. It just takes me awhile.
    Who cares it there is an audience, at least you are doing it.

  3. I knew this was going to be good when you started with a quote from Dave Berry. There are lots of things gravity should be blamed for. Holy shit, your job … As angst-filled as it can be … erm seems kind of fun! I mean, look at all the different kinds of cows there are out there? Do the cows watch you park? Or just the peeping people. God help me though, i could live without mud. This is hilarious, and i’m sorry, Heidi … it just is so funny (as WRITTEN) … as being there: NUTTY!

    • mel – H and I lead a most peculiar, but never dull life! πŸ˜‰
      The cows usually join the peeping people. The cows are a lot less subtle, but they also get bored more easily. πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  4. Did I ever tell you how happy I will be when everything is fixed and you wil be setting on a gate safe and sound with internet and phone? Back in the day when the only problem was Festus the donkey.

  5. You certainly are presented with a big share of challenges. But, you both hang in there and meet them head on and triumph in spite of it all. Keep you senses of humor… you’re doing just fine. (I just hate broken glass, you’re never really sure you got it all)
    Vicky

    • Vicky –
      Sometimes it doesn’t get funny until a little later. πŸ˜‰
      By the end of the day (our days anyway) you just have to laugh!
      The RV is still in the shop – the new window is still being shipped – the glass, I don’t know… we sat on a few pieces. Hopefully that’s the last of it. πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  6. been there and have the t shirt. Be happy you were not stretched across a major highway! Like I was, with 18 wheelers coming on.

    • Oh gosh Charlie – I can’t even imagine. I’m not sure there’s anyway I could write about that and make it even a little funny (plus Heidi would never let me get out and take pictures!) πŸ˜€
      You’re a brave man!
      Debbie

  7. Oh goodness gracious, me oh my!! This is only hilarious because I’m not there–I SO salute you gals, I swear! You have my undying respect and admiration for Choosing the Challenges of this lifestyle–WOW! I’m stepping up the prayers, sending tons of cyber-hugs!

    • Hello Caddo! As I write this (Thursday) we’re already beginning to dread driving our ‘restored to it’s original state’ RV through Houston on Monday. The truck is so big I had to take a taxi to see the Professor.
      Today, we had to back all the way out of Starbucks because we couldn’t make the turn… without the RV! πŸ˜‰
      All prayers and hugs are being soaked up! Thank you!
      Debbie

  8. I am laughing out loud. I am SO sorry for your misfortune AND I am feeling gratitude for your gift with words and your sense of humor.

    No one can accuse me of being a fashion plate, which could explain why I never considered matching my shoes to my windows! I am SO behind the times. I thought that only applied to purses. Silly me!

    I adore you. Both.

    Jen

    • Oh Gene – Poor Heidi… if I’m driving – well, there are those pesky palm tree. If I’m outside giving directions, she can’t hear me (I’m completely incapable of screaming and not much of a yeller either). We’re working on it… πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

What do you think?

