Home » Family » The Professor, The Piano Guys and Star Wars

The Professor, The Piano Guys and Star Wars

Houston is the largest city in Texas and the fourth-largest city in the United States. According to the 2010 U.S. Census, the city had a population of 2.1 million people within an area of 579 square miles. ~ Wikipedia

I was in Houston for 3 days. In the 4th largest city in the U.S., I had dinner with a college professor from New Jersey. As I got into the cab in Houston to meet the man from Ewing, the cab driver was quietly crying while he listened to the funeral of “Miss Whitney Houston” on the radio that was taking place in Ewing, New Jersey.

It was all sort of surreal. Whitney Houston and Houston and Ewing all merging for a few moments in the rain in a Yellow Cab in Texas.

It went from surreal to really special when the elevator opened at the Holiday Inn and out stepped the professor, my son, whom I hadn’t seen in 2 1/2 years. It was a glorious 8 hours of catching up on so much more than just the everyday things. If small talking is like my regular book and bobber and a worm on the hook, then this was like chartering a private boat to unknown places and deep-sea fishing.

We had dinner at Pappadeaux where we ate Cajun style seafood and grits and dirty rice. As is always the case when I have the privilege of spending time with either of my children, who are long past childhood, I learned so much and treasured every moment.

I can’t remember Dan and I ever having a conflict. I don’t happen to share his love of football but I did watch all the Star Wars movies with him. So Dan, this video is for you. I’m pretty sure you’ll love The Piano Guys (even though this one just features Steven Sharp Nelson on dueling cellos). 😀

And to all you Star Wars fans, or cello fans, this is such an amazing video! I hope you have some fun with it and may the force be with you!

16 thoughts on “The Professor, The Piano Guys and Star Wars

    • Janice – This was my first trip TO Houston. I’ve driven through it twice with the RV … but you know how that goes. You don’t look around much when you’re fighting 6 lanes of traffic and taking up as much of the highway as a semi! 😉
      It was wonderful to see my son, and yes, 2 1/2 years was way too long between visits. I’ll try not to let that happen again!
      Debbie

  1. Wow! Where do I start, Sis? So thrilled for you to have a great visit with your college professor son–how can you contain the pride, I wonder? Amazing story of all those connections, and the food sounds wonderful! Though I was never into Star Wars, I thoroughly enjoyed this little music video–as I’m now way keen on the Piano Guys, especially on cello, since you introduced us. (That’s one of my top fave things about this blog experience–“fabulous” people giving “fabulous tips” on books, movies, music–all that, and shared lessons, God-Inspiration too! WOW) Have a blessed day–love, Caddo-with-wide-eyed-wonder

    • Dear Cajun wide-eyed with wonder Caddo –
      I am proud of Dan. He’s a wonderful professor, but I’ve always been proud of him. He was a sweet baby, a kind kid and now the finest man that I know. 😀
      The Piano Guys are way cool. If I were a lot younger and a lot richer, I would learn to play the cello. It’s my all time favorite instrument. 🙂
      Debbie

  2. I can feel the excitement of seeing your boy. I would feel such joy and pride. I bet you do (and did) too. Food looks YUM! May i say ?-)

    I’m very sad about Whitney Houston, but i am not surprised. I’ve never been TO Houston, but the irony adds sadness of the situation.

    Your son, the Professor. Why do i feel proud??? Jeesh … xoxo melis

    • melis – you feel proud for the same reason you feel sad – you have a tender, empathetic heart. The connections were kind of strange, weren’t they?
      Thanks for taking this road trip with me!
      Debbie

    • SUE!! I miss you!
      It was grand seeing Dan! 😀
      Heart Hugs to you, too!
      We’re in Galveston right now. I thought it might help to be at the ocean, but I think it makes it harder than ever.
      love to you,
      Debbie

  3. I knew when you said Professor from New Jersey it was your son. YAY! And Papadeaux’s – yum though I prefer Papasito’s another of that chain. I’ve spent a little time in Houston and seems like a decent place and not as big as the stats indicate but I’ve only been there a week at a time. So happy for the time you’re able to spend with him.

    • Hello Debby!
      Houston was so unlike where we’ve been working for the past 14 months, I felt like I was in a different state. That’s even more true now that we’re in Galveston! I have to keep remembering how immense Texas is and how small my little part of it has been.
      I knew you’d know who I meant. It was really good for my heart!
      Debbie

    • Thanks, Jill!
      It’s pretty rare to get such a big chunk of time alone with your kids once they’re grown up and have their own kids – especially unusual for mothers and sons, I think.
      It was such a gift!
      Debbie

  4. I really admire both of your kids. They were amazing as children and are among my favorite people as adults. It was so great that you could connect in Houston, odd as that seems to all of us!

    Praying he has a safe trip back home.

    So appropriate that you used a Star Wars video and something orchestral for his post! Very symbolic and fun!

What do you think?

