Home » Gate Guarding » The Fruit of the Sea

The Fruit of the Sea

Anyway, like I was sayin’, shrimp is the fruit of the sea. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That- that’s about it. ~ Bubba (Forest Gump)

~

~

I threw this together really quickly. The quality is lacking but I thought you might enjoy seeing some photos from the harbor.

~

~

We’ve spent a good part of this past week talking with local fisherman. It’s been great fun! Shrimping isn’t particularly good right now. It’s the drought. Who knew the drought affects shrimping?

~

~

LJ, the captain of The Mr Marker patiently explained this while showing us his catch for the day – all of which was going to a bait store.

~

~

Tomorrow we pick up the RV and then it’s back to the holding tank while we wait for an assignment.

~

21 thoughts on “The Fruit of the Sea

    • judi – I miss/love the ocean and the sea birds. Heidi shot the video with her cell phone.
      I took between 200-400 photos each day – mostly all looking a lot like the one before! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

      • I did that when rafting from Hoover Dam….a fellow traveler shared extra rolls of film…when developed, just LOTS of rock! Also with the sea lions in Newport, OR.

      • judi – Sure makes me thankful for digital cameras. When I lived in Oregon, I thought every wave looked different! I must have thousands of wave shots. Now it cows! πŸ˜‰
        Debbie

  1. When we were in south texas several years ago Casey was expert a using a casting net so we had so much shrimp we actually got tired of em not anymore tho.
    Mike

    • Thanks, Luke! It was great fun but we were surprised at how much we missed the RV (11 nights in a motel was plenty). We’re SO ready to get back to work! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  2. Bubba Debbie. Thanks for the rundown on shrimping. I have A DEEP love for the DEEP ocean … and the rough folks who go out on those boats. Hey … i went out on a big ‘un to Alcatraz … and that made me a bit sick. SO, God bless those guys who make-a livin’ shrimpin. I’m really hungry about now πŸ˜‰ mucho love xoxoxoxo. Good luck on your assignment. Hope you guys aren’t eating PB&J forever. How bout eggs? Anyway. xoxo melis

    • Hey melis! We do have an egg now and then! πŸ˜‰ We’re waiting for some winter Texans to go home so we can hook up with their rig. Hopefully within a week…
      We went to Alcatraz a few years ago – as a matter of fact I’m wearing the t-shirt even as I write this:
      REGULATION #5: YOU ARE ENTITLED TO FOOD, CLOTHING, SHELTER AND MEDICAL ATTENTION. ANYTHING ELSE YOU GET IS A PRIVILEGE.
      ~~ regulations for inmate, U.S>P., Alcatraz ~~

      Have had to privilege to go on a number of cruises with my Cuz – I never get seasick but H. has to take Bonnie.:D
      When we lived in Oregon, we spent quite a bit of time at the Dolly Harbor in Port Orford, talking to the guys as they brought in their crab pots.
      So fascinating!
      Debbie

  3. Forest Gump is my favorite movie. Shrimp is one of my favorite foods. Time for you to get back to the oil wells. You all are having too much fun!!

    • Hello Jill!
      Love Tom Hanks and shrimp and the harbor!
      But, we are SO ready to get out of a motel and back to work!
      It’s been great fun being at the ocean again (although the gulf is more like Lake Michigan than the wild Pacific that we so love)!
      Heading to Gonzales tomorrow and hopefully, somewhere else really, really soon! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  4. I really enjoyed the harbor time but I’m more than ready to get back to work and be away from civilization. I realized that I really love my hermit-like lifestyle. After the forced time off, I am not thinking retirement is so appealing, actually! I look forward to being in a rancher’s field and working with GGS again.

  5. Wow, I hadn’t thought of the drought affecting shrimp–there’s some motivation for me to pray more fervently!! Also keeping you and Heidi in my prayers, like everyday, Sis! Take care–love, sis Caddo

What do you think?

