Home » Gate Guarding » Why Winter Texans AREN’T Snowbirds

Why Winter Texans AREN’T Snowbirds

In The Lone Star State, It’s Like a Whole other County. You Don’t Mess With Texas because Everything’s Bigger in Texas. And those are just the official slogan. In Texas, everything is about Texas!

We don’t have Snowbirds here in Texas. We have Winter Texans. These same folks would be Snowbirds if they went to Arizona or Florida or any other warm, beckoning state. But here in Texas, where they brand everything, they are Winter Texans. I’m a Yankee Texan, who, like a Winter Texan, didn’t start out here and won’t end up here BUT isn’t leaving here for quite a long time. I’m a Yankee Texan, like fat bread is Texas Toast.

In Iowa, the only thing we branded, were our chops. Iowa Chops (pork chops) were extra thick and delicious and didn’t taste anything like feral pigs or wild boars. You can buy Texas Toast in Iowa, but I haven’t seen any Iowa Chops in Texas. It’s a shame, really.

Texas Toast was first created in the early 1920s at The Pig Stand Restaurant in Dallas or 1941 at The Pig Stand Restaurant in Beaumont. There’s still some debate over bragging rights. They serve pulled pork instead of Iowa Chops. Too bad…

You’ll find Texas Toast, 8 individual slices to a box, in most friendly freezer sections. The Texas Toast back home came in a box that said New York on the front (which I’ve read, refers to the NY garlic spread ). It was made in Ohio. But the slices were extra big. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve already told you about the That’s What I like About Texas DQ’s with their own special Texas menu. Texas brands everything from Texas Tea to Texas Toothpicks (deep-fried jalapeno and onion strips) to Texas Trucks. Dodge, Ford, Chevy and Nissan (really?) all claim to be the Official Truck of Texas.

When we travel and have to stay in a motel instead of the RV, as we did during our tree tango repair, we often stay at La Quinta. It’s only about $8 more than Super 8 and it’s always pet friendly.

Henry VIII is kind of a pretend dog. He doesn’t bark, he doesn’t shed, he never goes to the bathroom on the carpet or on the walls in the hall (which I’ve often seen dogs do in motels). And at La Quinta, he stays for free!

La Quinta also has a large breakfast buffet. They have all the regular things like cereals and bagels and pastries and biscuits and gravy and pre–peeled hard-boiled eggs. The eggs cost the motel $1.50 a piece (I know because I asked when I was a manager at a resort in Oregon). If I don’t get a gate soon, I may hire out as an egg-peeler.

If you travel much, you already know that, for years, the hot item on the lodging breakfast bar is a waffle that you make yourself. I don’t generally make one but I do like them a lot better than the Strawberry Pop Tarts at the last Super 8.

I made one in Galveston, just to show you that, truly, Texas has branded everything. ๐Ÿ˜€

~

24 thoughts on “Why Winter Texans AREN’T Snowbirds

  1. Pingback: Of the Ilk of Cerberus ยซ FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Great new look to the site and what a wonderful post Debbie. Love Texas toast; and I mean love it! I buy a whole loaf and share it with no one. Peanut butter on it in the morning, dry with chilli for lunch and butter & garlic with steaks for dinner. Man life is good with Texas toast.

    Wife asked if I wanted hot dogs for lunch once’ I asked if we had buns? She said no but that I had half a loaf of Texas toast. I said “that ain’t right” and left for the store to get buns. Don’t mess with Texas.

    By the way we bought our truck for towing our 5er in Texas. Flew from Minnesota and drove it back over a weekend. No real trucks in Minnesota!

  3. From a Native Texan to you Yankee Texan – Welcome? I’m trying to go back to Dec. 2010 to read your blogs. then I see more Links. My husband thinks I now reside in the computer room. Enjoy! Enjoy!

  4. We enjoyed the mention of Texas Toast. A while back, we visited a drive in while in San Antonio. It was a Pig Stand! We learned while we were there that they also claim to be the first drive in restaurants and also they were the first to sell chicken fried steaks! The pulled pork sandwiches were great and the visit was very memorable. Thanks for such a great blog. Here is a website about that Pig Stand in SA. http://WWW.maryannspigstand.com

    • Hi Dan! Thanks for the link! “Keeping the pig alive” – Well now, that’s certainly an interesting slogan! ๐Ÿ˜€
      If I ever make it back to San Antonio, I’ll make sure to check it out!
      Thanks for adding a bit of fun here!
      Debbie

  5. Deb,, Most of Texas big bread bakeries sold Texas Toast by the loaf for years in most grocery stores. not so much now.

    • Charlie – You know, we could even buy it by the loaf in Iowa for a while. I think everyone’s into diet bread now so the slices are about as thin as cold cuts! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Debbie

  6. Good to know about LaQuinta. We had repairs done recently and had to pay an extra $20 per night for our two fuzzballs.

    • John – The rates were really great and it’s one of the few places I’ve found that doesn’t charge extra for pets.
      On the other hand, folks should know that they don’t have designate ‘pet rooms’ (at least none of the La Quinta’s I’ve stayed in have).
      When I worked at a resort in OR, many people requested rooms that had never had a pet in them because they were highly allergic.
      Debbie

  7. Oh Lord, i love the Texas Waffle … and i’m just stopping by to say, MORE SYRUP! Truly … i’ve been busy dealing and having fun with D. We saw a movie called We Have A Pope. Interesting. I shall return to pay homage to my Texas GALS Giddyup! xoxox m

    • Carol – At first I didn’t know what people were talking about… Honestly, have you ever heard of ‘Winter Arizonians’? or ‘Summer Iowans’? ๐Ÿ˜€
      Yep, you’re right as rain, ya just gotta love it!
      Debbie

  8. Wow, the layout is new. Looks bigger – must be Texas ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve stayed at La Quinta in Texas but missed the Texas-shaped waffle. Darn! Very entertaining, Debbie. And fun!

    • Debby – Both blogs are undergoing a facelift. ๐Ÿ˜€
      The waffles await, should you and Henry ever get the urge to travel west!
      Debbie

    • Phoebe – I think she meant perfect and typed pretend instead.
      Hello to you and Hannah. I do all my talking with my eyes… ๐Ÿ˜‰
      โค
      Henry

What do you think?

