Home » Gate Guarding » Monday Music

Monday Music

‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free,
‘Tis the gift to come down where you ought to be,
And when you find yourselves in the place just right,
‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.
When true simplicity is gained,
To bow and to bend we shan’t be ashamed.
To turn, turn will be our delight,
‘Til by turning, turning we come ’round right.

~Simple Gifts by Elder Joseph Brackett

Those of you who read both of my blogs, know that on Two Minutes of Grace, I generally post a song on Sunday. I’ve decided to do the same at Fork on Mondays – from time to time with different songs and different messages.

It’s been exactly two weeks since I rode through Houston in the rain, in a one ton dually pulling a 40 foot RV with 6-8 teeming lanes of traffic. I’m not sure when I quit breathing, but at some point I realized that I was pressing so hard on the floorboard that my right foot had gone to sleep, my jaw was locked, my eyes were glazed, my fingers were numb and my head was throbbing – and I wasn’t even driving! 😀

I took stock, took two Ibuprofen, took some deep breaths and thought about the trap of getting so tense over things completely out of my control.

It can be easy to wait for sometime, somewhere over the rainbow for things to become simpler. Many of you who read Fork are RVers. That doesn’t guarantee simplicity, but full-timers or part timers, you’ve learned how to pare down and live with much ‘less’.

I wrote a post a while back for TMG called Simple Gifts. In contains the Simple Gifts section of Aaron Copeland’s Appalachian Spring, with photos by Ansel Adams. Copeland’s music to the Adams’ black and whites is quite lovely. You can skip to the bottom of the page to play the video.

This video from The Piano Guys is my newest favorite. It intertwines ‘Tis a Gift to be Simple with Somewhere Over the Rainbow. I hope you enjoy it!

15 thoughts on “Monday Music

  1. I totally understand your feelings. I have not gotten up the courage to drive the Silver Bullet (43′ plus our toad) through city traffic. Some day I suppose, but Bob is so good at it and likes to drive this large van (as he puts it) that I just sit and enjoy reading or visiting with him.

    Vicky

    • Vicky – I was almost killed by a drunk driver in a head on collision when I was in college. I don’t think I’ve ever really enjoyed driving since. But Heidi and I are determined that we both know how to do everything from hitching up to driving to setting up. We’re taking turns doing each step. You just never know when the other person might be sick, or for some unforeseen reason, be unable to do it.
      I still pass as much of the driving off on her as I can, though! 😀
      Debbie

  2. I love this video. Need to get into the Piano Guys. I wish I was there with them. They play my heart.
    Thanks Debbie.

    I’m surprised the couple from New Zealand survived. Don’t they also drive on the opposite side of the road there. If they do, what an amazing feat. Oh my gosh. Hats off to them. WOW. I have difficulty breathing just thinking about them.
    And Melis, you are a hoot!!! You make me smile every time. You’re so real. ;).

    • Cathy – Only our very limited internet time (and access) keeps me from watching this over and over! I really love these guys! So much fun and talent and creativity!
      John and Linley are such troopers. Not only do they cope with the wild driving here, they’re the ones who had to do their laundry in a bucket because their rig was so isolated! Amazing!
      Debbie

    • Phoebe –
      They keep me in my canvas kennel in the back seat. I sleep through everything – unless someone starts hollering: “Look OUT! It’s a PALM TREE! 😀
      Kind regards to you and Hannah – and have a safe trip home!
      Henry VIII

  3. I feel for you my love with the tension. Were you shoulders visiting you earlobes as well? Tense and “at attention?” Poor baby. It is brutal. I’m glad the 2 IB’s worked. I like the poem/song about simplicity and raising up to where you’re supposed to be. May we rest our weary and tension-filled bodies there. OK, you got me laughing with the line “I wasn’t even driving”. Comedienne! 🙂

    There’s something very FUN about a piano on the beach, not to mention a cello. Very creative … terribly impractical … you KNOW how that bugs me… xoxo melis

    • Hey melis!
      How did you know? Yes, I do believe my earlobes connected with my shoulders for about 20 minutes, which probably did a lot to promote the throbbing! 😉
      As I was just saying to Linda (last comment), I was so surprised when I watched the making of the video – it was all on the beach, for real!
      LOL! yes, dear, I KNOW how much the terribly impractical bugs you! 😉
      You’re in fine form today!
      Debbie

  4. Debbie, since we’ve been interested in gate guarding for quite a while, my husband Mike and I have been following several blogs. We read about you and Heidi and your adventures in RVing and enjoy them immensely. We want to thank you for introducing us to The Piano Guys with Cello Wars. We are now a follower of “the guys” and have added their link to my own blog. Their music has brought us much joy and we have been able to share it with others. We are Believers, also, and enjoy your comments. We will pray that the Lord will help you find another gate. At the moment, we are trying to get our house and property in position to sell. Thanks again for your fun and informative blog. We enjoy it.
    Mike and Linda Smith

    • Hello Linda!
      How nice to meet you (love that hat)! 😀
      The Piano Guys are just amazing, aren’t they?
      Did you watch their follow up on how they made this video? I’m so used to everything being Photoshopped – I was amazed that they really set the grand piano and the cello right on the beach!
      We head off to our new gate in the morning! Hurray!
      Thank you for your prayers and I look forward to hearing more about you and Mike and your adventures.
      I’ll pay you a visit soon! Hopefully tomorrow if we have internet at the new site!
      Debbie

  5. Enjoy your blogs. The first year we were in USA we drove through Houston with our 5th wheeler. Never again. Coming from New Zealand with 2 lanes 1 going each way we were terrified. Hope you get on the gate tomorrow.

    • Linley – LOL! I bet that was a shock. I’ve driven in San Fransisco and Chicago and about 3 miles in LA (that was crazy) but not pulling the 5th wheel! Almost makes me like these pocked and pitted back roads! 😀 We sure hope to start on Wednesday. I think this is about the 6th different starting date we’ve had. I wonder if we’ll still remember how to do it? I suppose y’all are stuck there in the mud again after so much rain?
      Take care out there!
      Debbie

  6. This is great and lovely, Debbie–though I’m sorry about the stress, not good at all, and I know how it feels. But the music is so wonderful. I hope things are better–you’re always in my prayers! God bless you Big–your sis Caddo S.G.

    • Thanks, Caddo! Heidi did a great job of driving (after all, I’m the one that hit the palm tree). We’re about as long as a semi when we’re towing and the traffic was crazy.
      Our job got bumped back one day. Hopefully we’ll start Wednesday!
      Blessings to you, too!
      Debbie (I need initials) 🙂

What do you think?

