Home » Gate Guarding » Big Yellow Taxi

Big Yellow Taxi

Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone
They paved paradise and put up a parking lot

Do you remember Joni Mitchell’s Big Yellow Taxi? I was in 7th grade when it hit the charts back in 1970. In 1970, I could find my earrings. That’s proving to be a challenge in 2012.

It’s relatively quiet here on the ranch.Β  We’re about half way through the drilling process. It’s mostly me and the mud trucks and the tankers and the coyotes and a skunk and a few delivery and service calls from 12 – 5 a.m.

It’s the calm before the storm. Next week, work swings into high gear on a production facility in one direction and another pad is being readied for a second drilling rig in another.

I’ve had Big Yellow Taxi in my head for days. I’m a long way from a taxi, but now I think I know what set my subconscious singing:

Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone

I did know what I had, but it’s gone. For some reason (this is a relatively recent quirk), I’ve taken to putting one earring in as I get ready for my day/night and carrying the other one around (often between my lips) while I start doing something else.

I have no idea why. It’s not like I’m running late for work or my hands are busy pulling up nylons. Tonight I found the renegade earring by the baby carrots.

And then there was the night, not long ago, that my knitting needles got hung up on a pearl stitch. Yep.

And, wouldn’t you think that if you live in a small space, it would be nearly impossible to lose things? This should be particularly true since Heidi and I are both borderline OC when it comes to neatness.

However, I have to confess, there’s rarely a day (well, night in my case) that I don’t temporarily misplace something. I blame it on the gate, but that’s weak. I might lose a thought when the bell starts ringing, but my camera (twice tonight already)?

And then there’s the issue of the pen. We have dozens, but they disappear like socks, so Heidi devised a Velcro strip to stick in on the board. When one pen wears out, we just stick on another one.

And I’m forever losing my phone – inside. I turn the volume off when I go to bed since I use it as a clock. I almost never remember to turn it on when I get up, so it’s no good having Heidi call it so I can find it.

After losing my Kindle for an entire month (it was in the magazine rack, opposite the phone in the chair cushion in the above photo), I’ve been relegated to bright colors.

I now have Heidi’s Kindle cover which is bright orange (mine was a nice book brown). I have a bright blue phone, a bright red mouse and a coffee cup with a red hand print, a yellow footprint (very impressive Dan and Elissa) and green letters that say We Love You Grandma. They must have seen this coming before I did! πŸ˜€

I fully expect to wake up some afternoon to find my bright orange gate guard vest covered in Velcro with all of my gadgets hanging on it.

In my defense, I never lose my keys. We have a hook for the keys. I would like to think if I would just come up with a designated hook for everything, I’d quit losing things.

But then there is a designated hook (hole) for my earrings, so maybe not…

I’m including Big Yellow Taxi, not as a political statement, but because it’s stuck in my head and I love to share. πŸ˜‰

(I have no idea what the foreign language words say. Hopefully nothing about New York taxis.)

28 thoughts on “Big Yellow Taxi

  1. You can have all things bright and beautiful but if you can’t tell you are holding in your hands while looking for it, there is no hope!!! LOL Chris, been there done that too!

  2. Hi,

    Great site! I’m trying to find an email address to contact you on to ask if you would please consider adding a link to my website. I’d really appreciate if you could email me back.

    Thanks and have a great day!

  3. This makes me laugh! It did NOT the first time I read it (my brain was wacky)

    NOW my husband is a bit of a computer wiz and he has some thing he installed on his phone that can find my phone when my TBI is acting up. It is called something like “find my phone” in my Iphone.

    You can install them in other kinds of phones. It would be an app thingy.

    OK Just in case a call comes in that you do not want to miss; like your son calling!

    Just a thought. The earrings well no app for those I am afraid…

    XO Jen

    • Jen –
      No worries. It didn’t make me laugh the first time, either. πŸ˜‰
      The phone app ‘thingy’ sounds great! I’ll see if I can figure it out.Thanks!

      Today, Heidi found a pair (not just one, but a pair) of earrings in with the forks.
      We only have 4 forks so this is yet another mystery to me.
      In light of the lack of earring apps, I’ve switched to bigger hoops.
      We’ll see if that helps any. πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  4. You had me looking in the mirror as well as I’m always losing things in my 5th wheel! But within a couple of days all things are found. Seems my “things” get covered with something and a lot end up in my knitting basket. I’ve been grateful many time for your suggestion about velcro for the pen on the clip board. Saved my butt many a night out at the gate.

    We are off our gate and ready to head for Port Aransas for “vacation” before heading to Colorado. Hope to see you next fall.

    Bobbie

    • Bobbie –
      So it’s back to the ‘real world’ for you now!
      Doesn’t it seem strange to not have to figure out what the chances are of actually sitting down in the bathroom without the bells ringing? πŸ˜€
      I wish you two safe travels and a lovely spring and summer.
      I’ll look forward to seeing you next fall!
      Debbie

  5. Debbie, I love the way you American call things differently to us Aussies… Down here we drive Utilities or Utes, which apparently you call Pickup Trucks. Pickup down here has an entirely different meaning usually associated with what some men do at bars (or Hotels down here). A truck here is often called a Semi-trailer or just Semi.

    We have RV’s down here but nothing like the size that they are in the USA and most are diesels not hulking big V-8’s.

    By the way, love Joni Mitchell’s stuff, brings back heaps of memories 4 me πŸ™‚

    Capt. Savage
    (Only following orders)

    • Hello Captain!
      Well, we do have Pick-ups and ‘pick ups’, here, too! πŸ˜‰
      But if I’m driving it, everyone hopes it’s not a semi – a one ton truck, pulling 15.500 pounds of RV is enough to dodge!
      My RV is motor free – which of course, brings us full circle to the pick up line.
      Always a treat to see you’re smiling face!
      Debbie

  6. I feel like i just looked in the mirror, except for the knitting. I can’t. How about reading glasses? BTW, i just bought about 60 earring BACKS … those things are the mystery of the jewelry Gods i swear … along with socks and pens. This is so funny.

    Joni Mitchell is awesome. “I Don’t Know Love” is keeping me company while i look for spare swimming goggles, and reading glasses. Check it out. I don’t have a link, but the song is rich, and it gives me a little “cry permission” … in a good way. Love you, m

    AND so sorry to be late … Don and i had a really fun weekend. I got all my mom’s programs mailed (at least to date). The inner sanctum family members. Wosh. xo

  7. I have no idea how we can lose things in an RV, but it most certainly happens, and pretty often it seems.
    I know when we get our new RV and are transferring from old to new, we will find things that have been lost for years!!

    • Carol – It’s something isn’t it?! I think part of the problem is we both like everything, and I do mean everything, put away – we just don’t always put things away in the same place! πŸ˜‰
      Will you be getting your new RV soon?
      Debbie

      • I understand losing things in the RV. There is a reason for that… my mother and I have talked about it often. It’s much easier to lose items in a smaller space, like our RVs, because we are forever stuffing things into spaces. I have a lot of containers and we have added extra pull-out shelves under other shelves to store small stuff in and it isn’t long until we forget where we put a particular item. We don’t see all of this neatly tucked away stuff every day so it isn’t long until we just forget where everything is or even that we even have it. I love that nagging question in the back of my mind, “Where did I put that _______?”
        Vicky

  8. Bright colors, definitely a good idea, but you weren’t easy to persuade since you do like the blendy colors better. I’ll be suspiciously watching the gate all day now for the ‘short bus’ thanks to Caddo!

    • Heidi – You might know it’s been a non-stop traffic spot tonight! Believe me, I’m watching for the bus!
      And yes, I miss my blendy colors…
      Debbie

    • Vicky –
      Oh so true! A place for everything and everything in it’s place – wasn’t that the saying?
      There may be a place for everything (eventually) but fitting everything in it’s place is like watching a contortionist squeeze into a tiny box! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  9. I like your velcro idea Debbie. We’ve been using a binder clip and just slipping the pen pocket clip over the binder clip. It’s loose but it works if you think about it and are careful. Eventually though the pen clip stretches out and the pen no longer clings to the binder clip. The velcro sounds like a better solution. Thanks!
    Vicky

    • Hi Vicky!
      I suppose some afternoon, I’ll wake up with tiny Velcro strips glued on my earlobes. πŸ˜‰
      We use Velcro for everything on the walls, too, except for one larger framed painting. We never have to take them down when we move!
      Debbie

  10. I “lost it” where you describe the designated hook/hole for the earrings–in your ear!! And I’m so visualizing you with all your important stuff velcroed to your jacket–and wearing the helmet. Don’t be surprised when the “short bus” pulls up for you!

    We’re on parallel trips, Sis–you in the Big Yellow Taxi, and I, fretting over the white stretch limo!! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Caddo –
      Every time a truck pulls in with flashing lights (and that’s about a quarter of tonight’s traffic), I now think they’re coming to take me away in the short bus! πŸ˜‰
      Did I mention that our landowner a couple of ranches back used to come to check on things in a white limo?
      It was interesting!
      Debbie

What do you think?