Home » Gate Guarding » The Night the Lights Went Out in Texas

The Night the Lights Went Out in Texas

It was the night the lights went out in Georgia Texas. And Oh What a Night it was!
~
 ~
I’m writing as lightning gives the illusion of dawn.
We lost the outside lights and bell hours ago.
~
~
It took me a long time to remember I have scare lights and a porch light.
There’s a remedy for the lights but it’s hailing and I’m already soaked so wading over to the generator will have to wait until morning. My mega flashlight is adequate for tonight.
~
~
The rig is set to move tomorrow so the traffic has been non-stop all night. I unplugged the laptop (old storm habit) and it’s running low on battery life.
This is just a quick post to say I hope you all are OK?
The hospital Heidi and I used to teach for in Creston, IA was hit by a tornado yesterday. Thankfully, no one was killed, but six in Creston were injured, one critically.
~
~
We were able to get in touch with our friend, Jean, for whom we did dozens of seminars over the years. The roof was ripped off of the building at the college which houses her office is but everyone is OK.
~
The guys on the rig are wet and weary but no injuries.
There’s much to be thankful for!
Our Tuesday move is to a swamp.
~
~
It was a swamp before the rain.
Hmm…
We’ve been here for almost 5 weeks.
Yesterday, for the first time, they watered the road. 😀
Ya’ll take care. Stay safe. I’ll try to write a real post soon.
15 thoughts on “The Night the Lights Went Out in Texas

  1. glad I can see quick things on fb when I don’t get here for longer reads. Glad you and your friends were safe and you didn’t get the coon sized hail someone else posted. Looking forward to your bayou blogs.

    • Judi-
      And I thought all hail came in the shape of sports balls (golf ball, baseball, softball etc… ) Coon sized hail would certainly do some serious damage!
      I did see two racoons fighting outside my window a few nights ago, but no hail. 😀
      Debbie

    • Vicky – we only moved about a quarter of a mile back on the same land. I don’t know why it’s swampy just in this spot?
      There are cactus growing in the water and frogs croaking all night.
      We’re following a Marathon rig. I’ll try to get some pictures up since we’re practically sitting on the pad. 😀
      Debbie

  2. Glad you are all okay. We didn’t get any rain. Do you know where Corydon, IA is? It’s about 1 1/2 hours south east of Creston, IA, I think. That’s where my Mom had her treatments for cancer several years ago. Stay well.

    • Penny –
      We’re still a little soggy but all is well.
      The community college in Creston did the CEU training for the entire area so we had participants from Corydon, but I don’t think I’ve ever been there.
      Hope all is well with you guys!
      Debbie

  3. I was thinking of you! So thankful you and Heidi are okay, and those in IA too. I read about that . . .and then the connection you have there made my heart jump. God bless you as you move again, on well watered roads. 🙂

    • Hello Debbie!
      I was a lot more concerned about my friends and family in Iowa than Heidi and I here. We’ve had 2 tornado warnings this month, but no damage.
      Last night I wasn’t expecting a second round and forgot to get an extra set of clothes out before Heidi went to bed. My feet were dry by morning! 😉
      We’ll head on down the road tomorrow (now that song is in my head).
      I need Aub to sing to me.
      Debbie

  4. I’m glad you and Heidi are OK. Wow, nasty weather all around the south, well, DUH?!

    I can’t imagine how scared you must have been with the winds and rain. Being a Midwestern girl, i bet you can remember watching a few storm clouds sweeping over the flat, flat landscapes.

    BIG LOVE to my BIG RIG girls, Love Mel

    • hello mel-
      I wasn’t particularly scared. We’re in such a remote spot there’s nothing to do but pray and hang onto your hat. 😀
      You betcha this Midwestern gal has seen many a tornado (6 or 7 at least) – but never in an RV!
      I figure, if it’s my time, it’s my time. I’m ready whenever He is.
      Until then, I’m just trying to keep my log sheets dry. 😀
      Take care in the WINDY city!
      Debbie

  5. Adding my prayers for Creston and for my sisters, Heidi and Debbie–Sending arms full of real love via Internet. God bless y’all–take good care. Sis Caddo

    • Hello Caddo!
      We didn’t wash away or blow away! I said a lot of prayers for the guys on the rig. It sure was a nasty bit of weather to work in.
      Our Creston friends are in the midst of clean up and putting life back together as are so many this week.
      Tomorrow it’s:
      “Move ’em on, head ’em up
      Head ’em up, move ’em on”
      About a 1/2 a mile!
      With an RV, it’s the same amount of work to get ready if you’re going a mile or a hundred miles. 😀
      Save’s on the gas, though!
      Debbie

  6. I will start the prayers for Creston IA and you and Heidi’s oil rig move – well, for all involved!
    Take care and hopefully this week will be better weather
    God Bless
    susie

    • Thank you, Susie!
      Your prayers are always so appreciated.
      Our move was postponed until tomorrow (18th).
      After two stormy night, the weather has calmed down.
      We hit the trail at daybreak! 😀
      ~ Debbie

What do you think?

