Home » Gate Guarding » Riggin’ Up Day 2

Riggin’ Up Day 2

Texas is neither southern nor western. Texas is Texas ~Senator William Blakley

The derrick came in on Day 2. It took one more day to get everything rigged up and operational. I’ll post several photos in a slide show and then a smaller batch separately so you can click on them and take a closer look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The diagram below from Wikipedia shows the details of many of the components you see in these photos.

List of items

Simple diagram of a drilling rig and its basic operation

  1. Mud tank
  2. Shale shakers
  3. Suction line (mud pump)
  4. Mud pump
  5. Motor or power source
  6. Vibrating hose
  7. Draw-works
  8. Standpipe
  9. Kelly hose
  10. Goose-neck
  11. Traveling block
  12. Drill line
  13. Crown block
  14. Derrick
  15. Monkey board
  16. Stand (of drill pipe)
  17. Pipe rack (floor)
  18. Swivel (On newer rigs this may be replaced by a top drive)
  19. Kelly drive
  20. Rotary table
  21. Drill floor
  22. Bell nipple
  23. Blowout preventer (BOP) Annular type
  24. Blowout preventer (BOP) Pipe ram & blind ram
  25. Drill string
  26. Drill bit
  27. Casing head or Wellhead
  28. Flow line
  29. hook
18 thoughts on “Riggin’ Up Day 2

  1. We start gate guarding Friday, May 4, near Cotulla for LOMA. Bob is so fascinated by your blog, he had me copy the link to him. We love hearing all about what you’re doing as we’re newbies…new to Texas, new to searing heat, new to gate guarding. Should be interesting.

    • Susan-
      Well welcome to the community!!!:D
      I’ll look forward to hearing about your adventures.
      We started in December of 2010 – that seems like a lifetime ago! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Keep in touch!
      Debbie
      If you guys have any questions I can help you with, feel free to email me at branson.debbie@gmail.com

  2. Thinking of you and praying too! And praying for the guys as well! We are watching and learning. It all looks more than a little overwhelming! love – the other deb

    • Deb –
      I think it was all a bit more overwhelming for us since we’d never been to Texas (Heidi & I flew into El Paso for a seminar once but that doesn’t count). We had the state (weather, mindset, bugs, snakes, scorpions, tarantulas, wild hogs etc…) and the job to adjust to – quite a change for two ladies from Iowa. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Debbie

  3. Shiver me timbers young lady. This is major work. I love the slide-shows and the detailed info about what actually goes into this work. I wonder if D or Jen would do this with me? It seems so adventurous! Different! Hard work, rest … being with Heidi. Amazing. The dust, well, that might suck it for me. Dunno.

    Great post as usual.

    • melis –
      The dust is something else. This RV has a central vac but no beater head so the carpet is about 2 shades of caliche lighter than it was when we bought it last September! It’s an adventure for sure! Some days we both think we’ve gone a bit off our beam but for some crazy reason we like it. Go figure! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Debbie

  4. Hi Debbie–Don’t get a swelled head, but I was beyond impressed with your precise drawing–until I saw it was from Wikipedia. God bless you gals today!!

  5. Debbie, Fascinating pictures. Thanks for the details. Will you have more pics as this thing goes into the ground? Love to see the finished product. We’re hearing rumors here in Georgia that Texas is passing laws to rename the place The United States of Texas and the new capitol will be at the Alamo. Have you heard those rumors? :>) Have a great day and thanks for the pics.

    • Hi Sherrie!
      Texas is certainly nothing like Iowa or Oregon or anywhere else. Since we’re here full time for a few years, we changed our residency last fall. Heidi kept saying we were becoming citizens of Texas instead of residents. I think she had it right!
      No, I guess I’ve never written an actual post about how we got started. Funny. Maybe I will. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Debbie

  6. I’ve seen guards that actually are on the pad. Don’t envy them. I hope this is it for as close as we get. I’m voting for a little distance next time. These are great pictures, Debbie. Good job finding the diagram. I learned some things.

    • Heidi –
      I guess I wouldn’t want to be this close every time. I miss the weird isolation I’ve become accustomed to – but it has been fun, so far. It certainly isn’t as dark when I have to go out in the middle of the night! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Sure is nice to be away from the highway!
      Debbie

What do you think?

