Home » Gate Guarding » Rig Move Day 2 Photos

Rig Move Day 2 Photos

The trick to forgetting the big picture is to look at everything close-up. ~ Chuck Palahniuk

OK – that’s probably true so I’ll try to share a mix of both the big picture and some close up shots. Hopefully, you’ll be able to click on any of these images and take a closer look around.

Because the gate is busy and the computer and I are still at odds over posting photos – tonight will be a few more shots from Day 2. I’ll try to get a final Day 3 slide show in the hopper. I made a dozen attempts last night but the pictures kept floating off into… well, I don’t know where. One minute they were here and the next they weren’t there. 😀

~

~

As you can see, the derrick comes in backwards.

~

~

It gets put together like an everything is bigger in Texas Lego.

~

~

~

This gives you a bit of perspective on just how huge everything is.

~

~

~

Either you run the day or the day runs you.  ~ Jim Rohn

~

~

~

~

Everyone has his day and some days last longer than others. ~ Winston Churchill

~

~

Every morning at 5:30 and each evening at 5:30, there’s a meeting of the minds. The day shift and night shift rig crew, the rig manager, the safety guy and the day and night Company Men talk.

~

~

Heidi made creamed filled cupcakes for their meeting. It didn’t take any time for them to go through 2 dozen cupcakes!

The guy in the white shirt is our head Company Man, Jimbo. He’s the second CM we’ve worked for from Louisiana and both were named Jimbo! Funny! Must be a common name there. Next week he says we’re having a craw-fish cookout. 😀

~

~
Well, that brings us to the close of the second day. One more slide show to go to show you the last day of rigging up.
~
~
Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in, forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day… ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
The rest of that sentence –  Tomorrow is a new day and you shall begin it well and serenely –  just seemed a little discordant with life on an oil rig.
Although, when no one is snaring wild hogs 10 feet from my window; the cows aren’t eating the satellite cables; the donkey isn’t guarding the gate; there aren’t any tarantulas in the crock pot or rattlesnake loose in the truck bed, it’s pretty serene. Surreal sometimes, but serene. 😀
22 thoughts on “Rig Move Day 2 Photos

  1. Debbie,,

    This looks SO COOL to watch! Maybe it is being the mom of a teen boy who was once obsessed with construction equipment… I love the photos and can’t wait to see the rig go up. HOW cool!

    I have to say we have another small world thing on our hands (in our hearts??)

    I have the Emerson quote in our bathroom. I think it is a GREAT thing to read everyday. Beautiful and Wise sentiment.

    XO to you two!

    Jen

  2. This is all so good! The way you put it all together and give us a little info and humor . .. you make it look so natural to be right there. No big deal. haha! love and prayers for all your guarding days/nights ahead! p.s. we saw a baby donkey on the way to horse therapy time last week. It was just the cutest thing ever. 🙂

    • Deb-
      For about 6 weeks we shared a gate with a guard donkey named Festus – and he was quite a gate guard! He also took great care of the cows. 😀
      Debbie

  3. Wow, that is impressive–Texas Legos!!! I could use a couple of them cupcakes Heidi fixed–cream-filled is always good!!! (But I can’t do those…) You gals take care, hear! Sending up prayers, and lots of love down to y’all!!

    • Caddo –
      We were impressively well behaved and gave all the cupcakes to the guys and didn’t even eat one!
      All is well with the well and with us as well. 😀
      Thanks for sending all those prayers and love our way,
      Debbie

  4. Fabulous as ever! So, did you take a picture of the spider? I just finished writing a YA fiction about a toad……..I find I haven’t quite shaken a reactionary interest in things……crawly and crunchy!
    I didn’t know that cows ate cables, though my rabbit used to eat the phone lines. Hope you are having a wonderful day 3 of rigging up!!!!!

    • Sherrie –
      Oh yes – several great spider shots (more than one occasion).
      Maybe I’ll post a critter post just for you: frog, possum, raccoon, donkey, tarantula, black widow, scorpion, rattlesnake, cows eating cables, mad bulls, giant beetles, blind snakes, wild hogs, bats, mice, buzzards, armidillos and I’ll have to think about what other creatures have ventured into my area or my hair or my coffee in these past 16 months! 😀
      The rigging up is over and drilling has begun. I’m just having a few picture posting issues. Maybe tonight!
      Debbie

  5. “Cream Filled Cupcakes” for the safety Meeting–You know you two ladies will be treated well there!
    It doesn’t take much to bring a crew together, I do believe that you may have found the secret.

    • Hello Great American Southwest!
      They guys love it when Heidi bakes! She tries to make something for them at least once a week. We also give them candy and granola bars and chips when they’re heading home (some work their 12 hour shift and then drive another 6 or 7 hours). Mostly we just try to always be positive and smile.
      Food and smiling will bridge most gaps! 😀
      Thanks for commenting! Nice to have you here.
      Debbie

  6. It’s surprising how much of our time and energy goes into technology problems. I’m sorry that you had issues with uploading again. I like the pictures you chose to use, in the end. No one would know what it takes to ‘keep in touch’ out here unless they’ve tried it.

    • Heidi –
      I miss Photoshow Gold (I just Googled it and there’s a freesoftware download – but I’m too tired to look at it now).
      WP isn’t really set up to handle many pictures – plus I keep losing my internet connection before I save my changes…
      On the bright side, it keeps me busy so I’m not eating! 😉
      Debbie

  7. Love, love, love this blog post…great photos. We’ve never been that close to a rig so your photos are very interesting.

    • Hi Bobbie!
      One more day of photos to go. And then some night shots if they come out OK. We’ve been drilling for 2 days now and it’s surprisingly quiet. I thought the noise would be kind of intense. Glad it’s not a frac site!
      Debbie

  8. The trick to forgetting the big picture is to look at everything close-up. ~ Chuck Palahniuk I like it! Hard to believe it’s more serene being right on top of the rig.

    I’ve heard it said that “bugs” are protein …

    Which is more common, Jimbo or Bubba?

    And I love your quotes. Wednesday lasted 48 hours i swear! Love to you …MEL

    • melis – 😀
      Well, Henry eats the bugs he can catch and I accidentally drink mine so I guess we should be doing just fine for protein!

      I’ve only met 2 Jimbos – both were from Louisiana. I’ve met 6 or 7 Bubbas and one Bobbo – all from Texas. So I’d say the Bubbas rule here. 😉
      Debbie

What do you think?

