Home » Gate Guarding » Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You

Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You

I wrote a post back in February called JambalayaΒ  which was really about alligators and the bayou with a great video of Hank Williams and real pirogues but no actual jambalaya.

Today I’m writing a post called Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You, which really is about Jambalaya and Crawfish and the kind of creepy feeling I get when my food watches me while I eat.

This past week, here in the no longer-a-town of Concrete, Texas, we’ve been transported back to the bayou. We have several guys on the rig that are from Louisiana. Our Directional Driller called us down for heaping portions of his homemade jambalaya. It was better than a biscuit buttered on both sides (they have a lot of biscuit sayings here, but no biscuits so far, just a lot of beans). πŸ˜€

~

~

The meat in this batch of jambalaya was sausage and chicken or pork, I’m not sure which. It was either the white meat or the other white meat. In any case, the jambalaya didn’t have any eyes. It was like eating regular, non-accusatory food.

Last week I experienced my first crawfish cookout. The caterer drove 14 hours from New Orleans with fresh crawfish and let me tell you, they made quite a splash! For those of you who, like me, have roots about as southern as central Indiana, you’ll get that this was a unique experience for me.

~

~

Seafood has never seen me eat it until I moved to the south. It began in February in Galveston with the Granddaddy Lobster Crab pot when we did Eat at Joe’s, but that didn’t prepare me for the crawfish fest.

~

Pardon the way that I stare.
There’s nothing else to compare.
The sight of you leaves me weak.
There are no words left to speak.
ButΒ  if you feel like I feel when I peel you I feel.
Please let me know that it’s real. This all is entirely surreal.
You’re just too creepy to be true.
Can’t take my eyes off of you.

~

~

The fact that I’d never eaten crawfish was a source of both amazement and amusement here among these southerners. Heidi, who begged off due to allergies (not entirely untrue – she hates most all seafood and probably would get sick) left me to fend for myself.

~

~

Some of the guys are a little shy about having their picture posted for a variety of reasons. Clay, our mud engineer, doesn’t mind and you can see everyone was feted with a turkey pan full of crawfish and plenty of extra Cajun seasoning.

~

The Company Man called me in for a crawfish cracking lesson. As it turns out, this was entirely necessary since, instinctively, I would have aimed for the wrong end.

~

~

There’s really quite a lot of technique involved: breaking off the tail, removing the first band, grabbing the meat and shaking it (really, no kidding, shaking it loose).Β  After Jimbo showed me about 10 times, I made one successful attempt and returned to the RV with my own turkey pan (despite my protests that I didn’t need nearly that many).

~

~

Heidi ate the corn and potatoes while I began the task of shelling my dinner. Shelling crawfish isn’t anything like shelling peas, which I’ve done quite a lot of.

I took a nice before photo.

~

~

Thirty plus minutes and a torn up thumb later, I had my dinner ready.

When there aren’t any fish in the sea, a crawfish can pass off for a fish. ~ Lech Walesa

~

~

There you have it.Β  A turkey platter of crawfish reduced to about 10 oz of meat. Amazing! It was an adventure to be sure!

You’re just too creepy to be true.
Can’t take my eyes off of you.
You’d be like heaven to touch so icky to touch.
I wanna Don’t want to hold you so much.
At long last love has arrived. Sorry you didn’t survive.
And But I thank God I’m alive.
You’re just too creepy to be true.
Can’t take my eyes off of you.

With apologies to Frankie Vali…

28 thoughts on “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You

  1. I’ve been to a crawfish boil in Houston at a LSU alumni’s house with a bunch of Texas A&M fans there too, it was really fun. The first one I ate took about 2 minutes, but it didnt take long and I could eat one in a few seconds. Kind of pinch the head off. An Aggie did eat one whole, but he was well lubricated at the time.
    Enjoy the blog.

    • Hi Jim!
      I’ll make sure Heidi sees this! πŸ˜€
      How fun!
      I’m not very fast in the kitchen (it takes me forever to chop things), plus every time the crawfish looked at me, it slowed me down! I can’t imagine eating the whole thing (if you mean shell and eye and all). Pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to keep stomach it!
      Debbie

  2. Now that is a Hoot, I am not a sea food eater of any kind, My Father used to eat enough for all of us and as a child we had to eat what was put on the table. So when I got to where I could chose I chose not to eats it. But you sure do make bad sound like a fun hoot. We are still on the road heading home. Maybe we will make it to Georgia Sat or Sunday this week. Keep up the good work and we Love your Blog. I seen where you all got a bit of rain.
    Sincerely Luke and Inez

    • Hi Luke!
      Heidi spent her summers on a lake in MN where almost all they ate was fish. She like it then, but I guess she got ‘fished out’.

      The crawfish boil was such a fun time. The guys loved it that I’d never had any!I think almost any new experience that doesn’t raise my insurance bill (Good Sam doubled our premiums after my palm tree tangle) is an adventure! πŸ˜€

      Keeping you and Inez in my prayers as you travel home. Just a couple more days! Hurray!
      I hope you have a wonderful break!
      Debbie

  3. I love jambalaya. I’ve had the pleasure of being involved in one crawfish boil. It was good fun, and the crawfish were delicious. I have to ask, since I didn’t notice anyone else asking. Did you suck the heads? I never got brave enough to do that, myself, but I hear it’s where all the “good stuff” is. Did they have any boudin?

    • Hey Jeff!
      No boudin with the crawfish – there was spicy sausage in the jambalaya but I don’t know if it was boudin. We often have sausage with steak when they have cook outs here.
      Jimbo told me about sucking the heads but umm… no, I had a hard enough time seeing the heads!
      Debbie

      • The sausage in jambalaya is usually andouille sausage…at least it is at the restaurants where I’ve had jambalaya. I love that stuff!

        • Jeff –
          Ted not only typed off the recipe for us but printed a page a photos of ingredients that he thought we might not have heard of and a part from the chicken and the pork and sausage(turns out it had all 3) he was right. We hadn’t heard of any much of the main stuff: smoked tasso, Zatararains Jambalaya mix, Tony Chacheres More Spice, Louisiana hot sauce, Cajun Power Garlic Sauce, Savoies Flavoring & Brown sauce. Then he included a web site where we could order what we can’t get here – which would be pretty much everything. Can’t afford to order it right not, but it will be a fun dish to introduce to many or our Yankee friends and family! πŸ˜€
          Debbie

  4. Oh Debbie, you had me laughing so hard! And Aubrey wondering why! Those eyes watching . .. reminded me of the Geico commercials. haha! I’ve not experienced crawfish, so I’m so impressed and proud of you! The girls and I used to view the lobsters at the grocery store . . .and want to take them home for pets. haha! Your version of the song was just priceless . . .I think Frankie would love to sing it for us your way!

    • Deb –
      I’m far from a vegetarian, but if all my meal came with eyes, I’d probably eat more cheese! πŸ˜€
      Tell Aub the current tune playing here is “I Love to Laugh” from Mary Poppins (does she like that one?)
      Debbie

  5. When we lived on the lake in Llano County, there was a yearl “Cawfish Boil”, we also went with several couples. One of the other husbands and I always stopped at the “hungry Hobo” and bought us a Hamburger combo to take to the park. The others ate till they were almost sick. Any the corn and potates are boiled in the same pot as the crawfish and it was just too spicy for us.

    So glad you are getting such a good “education” from being in Texas.

    Love your blog.

    We had another interesting storm early this morning 2amish. Had to wake hubby to secure the camopy, wind was picking it up and trying to walk off with it.
    He sleeps thru everything.

    • Hello Mickey!
      We’ve had some wild weather, haven’t we!
      Looks like mostly HOT sunny days ahead for a while now. πŸ˜€
      The crawfish were an interesting experience!
      Heidi’s getting the jambalaya recipe from the driller – it was really FINE!
      Take care and hang onto your hats!
      Debbie

  6. Oh Sis, this was just what I needed today!! I love the song–with or without the “adjustment”. I love seafood–but anything that takes that long, and cuts up my hands, just ain’t worth the trouble–I’d surely starve to death, fall face first into the eyes… I’ll tell ya what I could go for–a plate a them biscuits buttered generously on both sides–mmmm!! You gals take care–God bless you BIG! Much love, sis Caddo (half-Cajun, truly, which probably explains a lot…)

    • Dear Half Cajun Caddo –
      That probably does explain a lot!
      I’m not sure exactly what since most all of my Cajun experience comes from watching Swamp People (Heidi’s “feel good” show) and working for 10 months with a crew from Louisiana. πŸ˜‰
      I suppose all the food prep is better for the diet, but it did seem to take me an awfully long time.
      The guys were a lot quicker: snap, tear the band and pull the meat out with their teeth. I tried to be a little more lady-like. πŸ˜‰
      Picturing you falling face first into the tray of eyes is really funny, in a kind of terrifying way.
      Debbie

  7. Debbie, great post!! You took me back to when I was a little girl catching crayfish in the local streams! I loved the altered lyrics, made me laugh aloud.
    I always enjoyed the altered lyrics, “Walk like a man, sing like a girl” also sorry Frankie Vali

    • Sherrie –
      Walk like a man, sing like a girl! Love it! πŸ˜€
      Did you get pinched a lot (by the crayfish, not when walking and singing)?
      These guys had really big claws!
      Debbie

    • Heidi –
      Careful what you think me into. Remember my brief career as a wedding/graduation video maker… I nearly drove you crazy you know. πŸ˜‰
      Just sayin’.
      Debbie

  8. Frankie won’t mind – I heard he’s visiting the South for his annual Crawfish chow-down – LOL
    God Bless
    susie

  9. I’ve been reading your blog for quite awhile and always find it entertaining and informative, and how you come up with the topics you do for your posts amazes me, I think it has something to do with a highly creative mind combined with a slow night shift, but………. I think it has come time for you to rise to the next level-and you know what that is don’t you …………………… ……………………yes that’s right it is time for the inception of your very own Video Blog. No, nothing too big to start with,just a short 3-4 minute post. Uploaded to you tube. It will be wonderful and would be a whole new you. Just think about it. You would be great. I am sure your readers would agree—— right readers. I think all Debbie needs is some encouragement. Come on help me readers. A Debbie and Heidi video blog. Just remember you two, you’ll be behind the camera.

    Promise me you will think about it. Please. I could see it being better,——— better than a biscuit buttered on both sides.

    Kevin

    • Kevin –
      Well it’s a lovely thought.
      I don’t have any idea what you’re talking about, but it’s a lovely thought all the same! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  10. A couple of years ago we gate guarded in Louisiana one of the crew bought us some crawfish said we had to try them. I didn’t have 10 lessons on how to get the meat out so a long time later we had something to eat. To me it is a lot of work.
    Hope you are coping with the TX heat. Love your Blogs.

    • Hello Linley!
      To be honest, I think I’m a bit too lazy or maybe too hungry to go in for crawfish on a regular basis. I think I burned more calories trying to peel and shake them out of their shells than I did eating my little bowl of the fruit of my labor. πŸ˜‰
      It was a fun experience though – doubled by how excited our CM was to share it!
      I’m so glad we got to meet you and John in Whitsett!
      Debbie

  11. OK, i can’t stop thinking about a biscuit buttered on both sides. I may have eaten 3 sticks of butter in one sitting, but never buttered a biscuit on two sides. I may try it now! I can do so in moderation. Giddy up!

    OK, lobster and crawfish creep me out too. I don’t want to be watched and accused of “splashing” their poor little bodies into boiling water. However, i don’t think i’m against eating their deliciousness when i’m not being observed. Terrible me … animal and fish-like lover as i am.

    The meat is quite light and tasty … but now that i’ve seen these little guy, i’m glad i’m a big fan of corn and beans.

    However, the jambalaya looks AWESOME. I just ate breakfast and i have a yen for a bowl of broccoli! Whatever… Thanks for the Texas Biscuit lesson. I need to visit Texas for the linguistics at the very least!!

    • hey melis –
      you know how it is with us Midwesterners… seafood Red Lobster style – all cracked and ready (with awesome cheese biscuits)!
      My cousin bought me a CD in San Antonio on “How to Talk Cowboy” which is pretty much a lesson in Texas linguistics. It’s a hoot!
      I’ll see if I can get you a copy one of these days! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

    • Thanks Linda! πŸ˜€
      Crawfish taste kind of like lobster, if you dip them in enough butter,which probably isn’t very Cajun… πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

What do you think?

