Home » Gate Guarding » Crashed and Burned

Crashed and Burned

Sometimes we crash and burn. It’s better to do it in private. ~ Dean Kamen
Saturday I crashed and burned – just me, not the RV this time! šŸ˜€
Saturday morning we were up (I hadn’t gone to bed since I’d worked all night), Heidi was up and more than raring to go at 5:45. Having done most of the outside work the night before and undeterred by the fact that it doesn’t get light until 6:30, we drug the chairs into place, unhooked the electricity, pulled in the slides and made a slick, tight 90 degree turn out of our tiny slot to wait for our replacements.
~
~
We were ready before 7. Everything went smoothly to either the chagrin or amazement (and our relief) of our audience, which was BIG. We were the only show in town at 6:45!
There were a dozen semis waiting to get in, floor hands hanging around drinking coffee and the rest of the men waiting for the semis who were waiting for the go ahead to haul our moving village 75 miles SW so we could begin it all again.
~
~
Henry kept a close eye on everything.
For some reason, two women hooking up a dually to a 40 ft 5th wheel seems to be a jaw dropper here in Texas. šŸ˜‰
On the up side, it’s scares people! When they see us coming, they give us a wide berth!
Eventually, our Safety guy said to just get on along, so we set off, bumping through many a small town. Steven B. Harper has some interesting insights on life in a small town. All the quotes below are from him. If you’d like to read his entire list, you can find it here.
~
~

Living in a small town: You referred to anyone with a house newer than 1965 as the “rich” people.

~
~

The town next to you was considered “trashy” or “snooty,” but was actually just like your town.

~
~

It was cool to date somebody from the neighboring town.

~
~
I love this typical southern Texas Laundromat! I love the Wash-N-Fold! No tossing your clean clothes back in the basket here! And I love the STOP sign. I’m not sure if it’s there to indicate the demarcation line for parking or to entice you to bring in your unclean clothes? The gate on the door tells me that whatever STOP means, they take it seriously.
~
~

Anyone you wanted could be found at the local gas station, drive-in or the town bar.

~
~

We pulled over at a town that used to be, that no longer is, to double-check our directions when someone came walking up and tapped on the window.

You ladies lost? Follow me. I know a short cut. When your Company Man tells you to follow him, you follow! šŸ˜€

It’s hard to miss Jimbo since he has a giant LSU decal on the back of his bright red truck – not exactly Texas PC! He’s every bit as proud to be a Louisianan as any Texan is to be a Texan. He calls us Yankee white girls, which is kind of funny since he’s white and maybe a little younger than me.

~

~

By 10 o’clock we arrived … somewhere that isn’t real close to anywhere.

When you decided to walk somewhere for exercise, 5 people would pull over and ask if you wanted a ride.

~

~

Your car stayed filthy because of the dirt roads, and you will never own a dark vehicle for this reason.

 

~

Set up was easy and for about an hour, it was just us and the neighbors across the road that dropped by to see if we wanted anything from San Antone and to warn us that their black lab loves people but eats little dogs.

Heidi now walks Henry with mace in hand. I prefer the BB pistol. šŸ˜‰

~

~

We weren’t alone for long.

The video is short and the quality is pretty poor but you get the general idea. The guy in the red truck waving (even though I thought I was discreetly tucked away behind the generator) is Jimbo.

If you click on the screen symbol in the bottom right corner you can see this full screen which gives you a little better feel for the action.

~

~
Moving days are always interesting for those of us who work the night shift.
I don’t know how those of you who have written saying you work FRAC and move every week, do it?
I’m not asleep… but that doesn’t mean I’m awake. ~ Unknown Author
At 22 hours without sleep, I was sailing – like I’d had 5 double espressos.
At hour 23 I couldn’t talk in complete sentences and did a 4 hour crash and burn.
The night was quiet, thankfully, since I’m sure I would have written in all the numbers and letters upside down.
It hasn’t been quiet since! šŸ˜€
~
~
The floor hands are our neighbors.
~
~
We’re about 100 feet from the pad this time, instead of 10, but we still have quite a view of the action!
~
~
You didn’t give directions by street names but rather by references. Turn by Nelson’s house, go 2 blocks to Anderson’s, and it’s four houses left of the track field.
Although we passed through many small towns, we don’t live near any. I can stand outside at night and see the lights of 5 derricks and the flare of 3 FRACS . This leads to a lot of confusion for the drivers. So far, Id say about 75% of the people have gotten lost trying to find us and then they find us all at once! It’s another great adventure, for sure!
23 thoughts on “Crashed and Burned

  1. Your video is great — not shaky or anything. I love — I mean absolutely love — the quotes and the photographs. What a life you lead. Blessings to you, Debbie.

  2. Debbie
    I think you and Heidi need to name some of the equipmend “FRICS”
    Then you would have FRICS and FRACS
    Getting silly and I had 8 hours sleep
    Blessings

    • Susie!
      How fun you are!
      Since I still don’t know what half the things really are called, maybe we’ll do just that!
      Hope you’re enjoying your new sort of small town!
      Debbie

      • Morning
        Yes, we are enjoying small town life, the roosters and the stars – We are on an acre of bare land so we are in the dreaming stage right now – since we live in an arid region (like Texas) our temps are similar – we are going to visit the University Extension Office and learn how to plant native landscape to save on water – we want raised vegetable beds so we need to conserve water every where we can plus it saves the environment since everything out here is on wells
        Blessings on your weekend
        Susie

    • Hi Jeff!
      I grew up (until age 11) in Middlebury, Indiana – population 1000 (counting me)! šŸ˜‰
      Small towns can be quite different in appearance and still very much like Mr. Harper described!
      Debbie

  3. Love this one! Nice video Debbie, give Heidi a hug and tell her I DO owe her an email and will conjur one up when I have some time to write all the happenings!

    ~~ peace ~~

    • Hello Maureen!
      Well you sure know how it goes with the audience and all… šŸ˜‰
      Of course, you’ve a pro by now. We’ve had some learning to do, switching from the motorhome to the 5th wheel, but we do love it!
      I’ll make sure Heidi gets your message.
      Debbie

  4. i say this all the time, but you two are amazing. remember i was the woman in the single parent class who refused to learn to change a tire. there is no way i could live the life you are. thanks for letting me look in on your adventure.

    • Gaye –
      You were also the woman in the single parent class that single-handedly raised 5 kids!
      What you did with heart and grace is 1000 times harder than what we do!
      I love it that you’re “here” in Texas with me!
      Who would have thought that I’d be the one living in Texas and you’d still be in Iowa? šŸ˜€
      Debbie

    • Change a tire? Nope. Too hard, but I do know where the lug nut thingy is and I can still ask for a rescue now and then! But I pretty much supervise any work done on the truck. We’re living on the edge and I feel like it keeps us sharp!

  5. Sounds like another great adventure coming up, proud of my friends 4 sticking with it but sure do miss u on the OR. Coast. Heart hugs šŸ™‚

    • Hey there, Sue!
      We make our own adventure! šŸ˜‰ I was just out practicing with my BB pistol when the Company Man came back from town. No comment. šŸ˜€
      I think they’ve all gotten used to us by now.
      Miss you, too!
      Heart Hugs,
      Debbie

  6. How I remember the moving!! Even though we just moved 1 1/2 miles each time!!! Rough going on us night shift people. I have to admit that I already miss it. Don’t miss the environment – just the guys.

    • Jill –
      Moving days are rugged aren”t they?
      We’re usually really busy the night before and then I can’t go to sleep when we get set up because I’m so wired (even though I completely avoid caffeine on those nights). You know how it goes. šŸ˜€

      I think I was asleep before I hit the bed.
      4 hours later, I was wide awake again.
      The second day I slept 10 hours straight and made up for it! šŸ˜‰
      Glad you’re getting a good break and enjoying those boys!
      Debbie

  7. “When you decided to walk somewhere for exercise, 5 people would pull over and ask if you wanted a ride.” Sounds about right!

    Good job “girls” !! Hope the new place is good and the neighbor realizes Henry is a King!! Peace to all.

    • Hi Judi!
      The location is great – we have a whole lot of pea gravel which is a major improvement over a whole lot of caliche,although there’s always plenty of caliche swirling around!
      The neighbors just let the lab wander.
      I fired off a BB by his feet just now (I’m a pretty decent shot).
      I won’t hurt him, but I do have to take care of Henry VIII. Your reference was a hoot, by the way! šŸ˜€
      Keeping the peace, one BB at a time,
      Debbie

  8. Quite the adventure, though you about scared the s*** out of me when I read the words “crash and burn”–keep in mind, I’m your “older, high-strung” sister! God bless you gals–I’m praying always!

    • Oh Caddo –
      Sorry about that. I’m not used to anyone taking me seriously! šŸ˜‰
      I haven’t hit anything since I ripped the side of the brand new RV off with the tiny palm tree last September.
      Of course, I hardly ever drive because every time we move, I’ve already been up all night and I’m not sure my sleep deprivation wouldn’t affect my depth perception. šŸ˜€
      I love being prayed for! Thank you! God has His hands full with us. šŸ˜‰
      Debbie

What do you think?

