Home » Food » Confessions of a Closeted Dieter

Confessions of a Closeted Dieter

I’m on a diet. OK, maybe not a diet since everybody says diets are a remarkably unsuccessful way to lose weight. I’m on a quest to be able zip my jeans, sit down and still breath.

This is not my first attempt at breathing while sitting and it’s not my first attempt at dieting changing my eating habits. There are a few obstacles. I’m menopausal and if you aren’t or haven’t been, never mind. I’m remarkably sedentary. It’s one of the perks curses of the job.

I fall back on the excuse explanation that I work late afternoons when it’s really, really hot and nights when it’s really, really dark.

For me, dieting changing the way I eat, isn’t something I talk about because:

1. I might decide not to, in a day or a month and well, then, that’s embarrassing…

2. It invites tons (pun) of advice about diet eating differently and exercise

3. It’s just an a bad topic. If you need to lose weight and aren’t in the mood, nothing is more annoying than hearing someone ramble on about it. If you don’t think you need to lose weight (no matter what you weigh) then you’re either blessed with an incredible metabolism, you’re an overachiever in the area of self-control, you’re into things like being healthy or you’re not a female living in America – any of which makes the topic moot for you.

So, I’ve kept my quest to myself with the exception of telling Heidi and Henry, in the off-chance they should happen to encounter large or small flying objects (you know how dieting changing eating habits can make some people so moody).

I already had LIVESTONG.com (which is free) set up on my laptop. It’s a simple program: enter your activity level and weight goals and you get a suggested calorie count. Eat something. Type it in and it breaks it down into carbs and proteins and fats etc…

We began working with this rig on March 5th. My regular exercise regiment consisted of going up and down the 4 steps of the RV dozens of times each day. When that made me tired, I decided on April 1st – no fooling – that I had to make some changes.

Of course I haven’t said anything to the guys here on the rig. Seriously, only slender women talk to men about their need to lose weight. Mostly, only women who are a size 2, 4, 6, 8 or 10 talk to anyone about their weight! The rest of us pretend like it’s invisible and we’re the only ones who see it.

Once our Company Men decided that we were “family”, they decided to feed us. Sometimes they cook for the whole rig. Sometimes just for themselves and us.

It’s been 2 months to the day since I’ve been faithfully typing my food into LIVESTRONG. These are just some of the meals we’ve been graced with (I haven’t always remembered to take a picture) in the past two months. I’m including partial descriptions since the specific content is sort of unclear in some of these shots.

~

Chicken Fried Steak, Black Eyed Peas, Fried Okra, Mashed Potatoes & Gravy

~

Breakfast Tacos

~

Steak, Potato salad, Scalloped Corn, Green Beans, Peach Cobbler

~

Breakfast Burrito – almost forgot to take a picture as you can see!

~

Pigs in a Blanket

~

Steak and Sausage cookout

~

Flintstone Ribs, Sausage, Mashed Potatoes & Green Beans (both w/bacon) πŸ˜€

~

Steak and Ribs (buried under the huge steaks) and Sausage Cookout

~

Chicken Fajitas from the FRAC wagon (even though it wasn’t our site)

~

Catfish, Shrimp, Mac and Cheese, Green Beans and Cobbler

~

Steak, Shrimp, Mashed Potatoes, Corn (no meat added to corn) πŸ˜‰

~

Fried Chicken, French Fries, Fried Potatoes, Fried Okra from the FRAC Wagon

~

Louisiana Crawfish Boil

~

Amazing Steak! I’m from Iowa. I know my pork and beef.Β  The steaks here are so tender, you don’t even need a knife, Scalloped Potatoes, Cobbler etc…

~

Shrimp, Steak & Chicken Kabobs, Bacon in the Green Beans, Wild Rice and Banana Split Cake

~

Our Directional Driller’s Homemade Jambalaya

~

Ribeye Steak, Gigantic Baked Potatoes, Texas Toast & Beans, of course

~

Homemade Hot Tamales – and yes, I knew not to eat the husks this time! πŸ˜€

~

Cajun Meat Pies

~

Homemade Crawfish Etouffee (left), homemade Guacamole which Heidi claims was the best in the world, & what was left of the Chorizo and Eggs (on top of the guacamole) when I got up! πŸ˜‰

~

Grilled Pork Steaks, Cajun beans, Potato Salad and Squash (that even I liked)

~

Our CM’s batch of his special Cajun Creamy Taco

~

Yep. Now you can see why I’m a closeted dieter trying to fit into the clothes in my closet!

No complaints. Not only can we make 3 meals out of every meal, we never buy meat, except for an occasional package of chicken!

And I always say:

If you gain five pounds….it’s water.

If you lose five pounds….it’s weight.

If you gain 15 pounds….it’s Cajun cookin’ y’all!
30 thoughts on “Confessions of a Closeted Dieter

  1. I SO know it’s unkind of me to laugh, but I can’t help it–shoot. I’d sure love to try those Cajun meat pies!! Actually, in between giggling, I’ve drooled all over my keyboard…God bless you gals! Much love, sis Caddo

    • PS–In all seriousness, I hope you know that I support whatever you need to do (and I’ll add “eating prayers” to my list for you)–the Livestrong sounds interesting. Pizza sounds even better.

    • Karen and Steve –
      No kidding!
      Our CM gave us huge steaks and two giant bowls of the most amazing beans again last night! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  2. I’m confused. I didn’t see any “diet” food in any of those pictures. πŸ™‚ I subscribe to the Garfield theory. “Diet” is “die” with a “t.”

  3. Wow the food looks great! We’re gateguards, also and I know what u mean about making 3 meals out of 1. I have a ? what else can I do with guacamole besides topping it on salad or dipping chips in? I have some avocados I need 2 use.

    • Hi Donna!
      The servings are very generous aren’t they?!
      Jimbo served the Chorizo and Eggs on top of the guacamole.
      But there was A LOT of guacamole. I’ll have to ask Heidi what she did with the rest of it and get back to you on that!! πŸ˜‰
      All I’ve ever used it on is taco salad and as a dip. This was the first time I’d ever had it with eggs so I’m guessing there’s a whole world of guacamole yet unknown to me!;)
      Debbie

  4. Wow having someone cooking 4 u is great, and the food looks yummy. I know about the weight and weight off . But you my friend can do it, keep the faith and heart hugs !

    • Sue – I gotta say, these guys can really cook!
      Seriously – better than any restaurant anywhere!
      Jimbo says he probably should have been a chef. He LOVES to cook (it’s all Cajun – I think you’d love it)!
      20 pounds down, 30 more to go… πŸ˜‰
      Heart Hugs to you, too, my friend!
      Debbie

  5. I would die if I had to eat that food……..I don’t know how you manage with that much grease. I know people think that New Jersey is all pizza and drive-thru, but I have to tell you I could hear my arteries just looking at the chicken fried stake….Best of luck on your diet/food relationship change

    • Hi Sherrie!
      I’m not much on chicken fried steak – so Heidi got those.
      Most of the meat is grilled – so it isn’t too bad.
      But, oh golly, are the portions big!
      I suppose that the guys that work on the rig can probably eat 5000 calories a day and never gain an ounce – not so much here in the RV!

      I could live on pizza! I love pizza! We have a pizza on moving days. That’s our one big indulgence! πŸ˜€
      Mostly I wrote the post because I thought it was so ironic that I decided to cut back at the same time they decided to shower us with food! We’re grateful, though. It’s so nice of them.
      Sure wish we had a Halo Farms around here! The fruits and vegetables are almost non-existent…
      Debbie

      • Wow, where is the Halo Farms you know?? Mine is in Trenton, NJ, I love that place! I hear you about Pizza, I miss it so much! I am gluten free and the ONLY thing I miss is pizza, but feeling so much better is worth it….I remind myself of that when I drive past the pizza parlor and the wonderful smells come wafting out. It is great that they feed you, but wow it must be tough trying to keep your body hale while having such a meat based diet.
        I think of you often, it is so green here and I feel a whinge of guilt that I can’t share it with the two of you.
        Hey, did I tell you I have tadpoles?

  6. OH BOY I can see the temptations looming up, at this point all you can do is eat sparringly and buy a freezer, that way you will never have to buy groceries again that also is why we are in a hidden camp so nobody can load us up on food. Good luck

    • Mike and Casey –
      Well, it certainly has been a blessing when it comes to buying groceries!
      Some of the food we freeze and give to our FS (the guy who sets us up when we move from site to site), some we eat in small batches – and some of it, like the cake and cobbler, we just don’t eat at all.
      Heidi only has 5 pounds to lose but I’ve got about 30 more to go.
      When we do cook, we’re enjoying your recipes!
      love to you both, from both of us,
      Debbie

  7. I’m so glad you shared this! Because I needed someone to talk to about it . . .or to listen talk about it. . .that understood. Thank you! I’m at the heaviest I’ve ever been . . .and just not trying too hard to eat better and exercise more. I want it to magically just go away!!! haha! love you!

    • Hello Deb –
      The magic just wasn’t working for me!
      You have my email if you ever want to ‘talk’ about it. πŸ˜€
      Like everything else, one day at a time…
      (Does Aub know that one? I just dropped the needle on it by typing it here!)
      Debbie

      • Are you speaking of, “One Day at a Time, Dear Jesus”? Christie Lane, I think? Now I’m singing it in my head…

    • What d’ya mean you need someone to talk to about it? I listen–and then offer you more M & M’s–oooh, I’m such a brat today, eh?!! God bless you, sweetie! And by the way–I have it on good authority (?) that all the angels in heaven are Round, so there we go!!

  8. I’m a walk-in closet dieter – the farther I walk into my closet sizes stagger from smallest to biggest – lately I have been walking further into the closet – OH MY!
    I will check out Livestrong.com
    God Bless

    • Susie –
      You’re fun – and witty!
      I really love LIVESTRONG. It’s simple. I decide how I want to eat my calories. And, for the first time in my life, I’m paying attention to the carbs, cholesterol, fats, protein etc… and making choices to make those come out about right, so I feel like I’m moving toward healthy, not just weight loss. πŸ˜€
      God bless you, too, my friend!
      Debbie

      • Morning my friend
        Yes you are on the right track when you think healthy first – weight loss is an added benefit
        I was reading an article yesterday about Pastor Rick Warren – he was over 300 lbs – he started a Plan called the Daniel Plan at his church – their plan is based on 70% fresh fruit and veggies and 30% meat, dairy and carbs – sounds like a simple plan – I found it interesting that the article also says the Bible does not teach any principals on “how” to eat just balance and not over-eating – We are to stay healthy during our lifetime in order for God to fulfill His plan in our lives
        Isn’t that beautiful?
        God Bless

  9. I so feel your pain!! It is a real merry go round. You are braver than me, I don’t get on the scale. When my belly rests on my lap I know I am in deep trouble and right now it is sliding off my lap and heading for the knees!! The guys are so wonderful giving us food, you can’t say no. But it all is so heavy. Of course they all burn it off with physical labor. But those of us who work nights and just run up and down stairs pack on the pounds. (Ecept if you are Mr. A and you eat all the above plus a bowl of ice cream and snacks every night. Got home and our daughters accused me of not feeding him as he has lost more weight). Now I am home for a while I am eating just fruit and vegetables with very little meat. Andy and II are walking everyday. I take it one day at a time. I love winter squash. Yesterday I microwaved 2 squash. Enough for a few meals for me. Took it in for dinner feeling very safe no one else would eat it. (Very picky eaters here). I got one little spoonful and those 3 men ate it all!! They were scraping the bowl. I am going to be a closet squash eater from now on!! I have been fighting weight all my life but the belly flopping on my knees scares me!! LOL We will see what today brings – I think I will keep my expandable jeans with the elastic waist just in case. LOL Love you girl – keep up the good work. I am not even going to comment on menopause – there aare not words to describe it. At least none I would put in print!!!

    • Jill –
      πŸ˜€
      You always make me smile!
      I wish I could get you the recipe for secret special squash our CM made the night he grilled the pork steaks. I have NEVER heard Heidi go on and on about any food like she did the squash and the beans that night (I gave mine to her and ate most of her meat the next day). πŸ˜‰
      Jimbo won’t share his recipe (funny man but we love him).
      I’m hanging in there with the “diet”.
      The first 2 months went pretty well, in spite of all the wonderful food (most of which I didn’t eat – or only ate small portions of).
      At this rate, only 4-5 more months to go! πŸ˜‰
      Maybe I’ll be able to sit and breath just fine by the time you come back in the fall! πŸ˜‰
      love you and your grand sense of humor!
      Debbie

What do you think?

