Home » Gate Guarding » Why Mow When You Can Moo?

Why Mow When You Can Moo?

We’re getting ready to skid over to drill a second hole sometime next week, so there’s not a lot of activity. There’s also been NO connectivity. Even though we have both AT&T and Verizon air cards, the internet seems to go down with the sun each evening.

~

~

We’re still in the same spot, somewhere south of Kenedy (not misspelled – just one n – Texas is a red state, y’all). We’re maybe 150 feet from the rig. I’m really not much better with feet and yards than I am with north and south so that may be way off but, as you can tell from this photo, we’re close.

Our RV is in the left front, then the rough-necks trailer and then it’s time for a hardhat. We’re sitting in pea gravel. To a gate guard, pea gravel is pad heaven. No caliche! Well, that’s not entirely true, there’s always caliche, but it’s on the road, not under us!

The picture below is rather remarkable. I took it a few days ago when we had clouds. We almost never have clouds.

No matter which side of life she was looking at, Judy Collins would have nothing to sing about if she lived between Beeville and Kenedy. Except possibly, next week if Tropical Storm Debby (don’t you hate it when they name something destructive after you – at least they spelled it wrong) takes the path predicted and turns away from Florida, landing here about Thursday.

Just a reminder, in the right margin, you can always check your weather at Weather Wunderground or track Hurricanes and Tropical Storms by clicking on the live links.

~

~

One of the guys came by to pick up our garbage. Heidi was asleep and I don’t know where she keeps it. I know, how could I not know that? There doesn’t seem to be any anywhere. 😀

It’s probably bagged up in the truck but I didn’t want to make him wait. It’s that or the shoemaker’s elves. I did get a partial picture out of the right to your door service. Sorry I cut off the forks which, of course, is where the garbage goes.

~

~

Since moving to Texas we’ve spent a surprising amount of time with cows. I don’t have a farming background. My Mom grew up on a farm, but I’m more of a town/city girl.

What makes the picture below rare is that this cow was actually on the other side of a fence from us. Normally, we just share the space, so I’m getting to know a lot more about cows.

~

~

We had  a lot of cows in Iowa. I saw them from the window of the car. There are a lot of cows in Texas. They lick the window of the car and just about everything else.

This cow is a good example. I stopped to take a picture because she was just wandering along the side of the road. She walked right up and licked the truck.

~

~

There doesn’t seem to be an unappealing part of our service wagons.

~

~

The picture below was taken when we were in that really weird patch of 8 foot tall weeds last fall. I think this is where Heidi mastered the art of throwing water on the cows (calves) since they were bent on eating our satellite.

~

~

In the end, we bent it ourselves. In a missed relay from me to Heidi to the ground and it fell on its nose. We now have the little dome kind that finds the settings for you and is impervious, so far, to cow licking. Which is kind of surprising because it looks a whole lot like the salt licks we used to have back home.

~

~

As apparently so do I (look like a salt lick).

Those of you who’ve been reading for a while, know about the night I tried to open the door to check out the constant whacking sound and it wouldn’t budge.

When I finally got it open there were cows and calves everywhere – swatting flies and the RV at the same time.

~

~

I literally tumbled onto one. Although he was temporarily startled, I was soon surrounded and received some serious licking. I had my camera in my pocket. I have no idea why I thought this was a great photo-op moment.

The little bit of white in the bottom of the picture is my t-shirt – clearly salt-lick looking.

~

~

Their joy came to a halt when I had to wrestle the lawn chair away from one and the leather tire cover away from a particularly hungry guy.

~

~

I took this photo yesterday. I’ve heard of people keeping goats so they don’t have to mow. Our neighbors have gone Texas BIG and substituted cows for goats! No mowing, just mooing!

~

~

Notice the open gate in the above picture. It’s not at all unusual to have to pull over and wait to see why the cows crossed the road.

~

~

She always says, my lord, that facts are like cows. If you look them in the face hard enough they generally run away. ~ Dorothy L. Sayers

~

~

Dorothy Sayers was a great writer who clearly didn’t cross the pond to hang out with Texas cows.

~

~

Some people talk to animals. Not many listen though. That’s the problem. ~ A.A. Milne

When the bulls talk, we listen. There were 3 (although you can only see one in this video. There was another behind him and one across the road – not fenced in of course. We asked the rancher (this was a while back) if we needed to be worried since the not-fenced-in-bull hung out right outside of our RV.
Apparently they were all three trying to impress the lady cows, so Yep.
~

~

Greatness alone in not enough, or the cow would outrun the hare.  ~Proverb

~

~

All is not butter that comes from the cow.  ~Proverb

I now know this to be a fact.

27 thoughts on “Why Mow When You Can Moo?

  1. I have this thing for roosters and cows when I travel so yes…if I headed your way, I’d be writing about them too!! Perfect proverb!!! No wonder you get so many steaks!

  2. Debbie, those are some interesting cows down in Texas. It reminds me of Ireland, switching goats (with big x’s marked on them) for cows. I mean, i’m kind of wondering why people are whacking cows for bbq. Sorry. That’s gross, but beef is a big deal (and BIG beef) is a big deal down in TX, right? How can you be sure you’re not eating one of your campsite friends? Never mind … i don’t think vegetarianism is in my future. I like the story about cows eating/licking to pieces your satellite dish and the ultimate misadventures of my favorite traveling adventurers. Figures, right? Heidi is an excellent ally handling the animals. I would be trying to reason with the cows and making friends. Oh, and yes, there was a wicked Hurricane Melissa a few years (or more) back. My mother, RIP, was probably saying, Thank you God! See what i’ve had to put up with? However i think Mother Nature would probably name storms. She’s on my side. 😉

    What does Henry say about all the cows and the LICKING! Holy cow (erm) … that’s one big bath! Love you, Melis

    P.S. sorry to be late late late! I’ve been a travelin’ gal. Made my last trip to I.C. for many years to come, if ever again. Dad’s packed up tight as a drum … and he won’t be moved by Jeff and Carlos until July 3. We had a 3 hour conversation about what we should do without one pair of shorts. He has 4 pairs of pants, so he won’t be naked. Oh boy. Big zit on my chin. Breaking out when dealing with the final stages … preparing for dad’s new phase in life.

    • Mel –
      I knew it was a big week for you. You’ve been so much on my heart and in my prayers.
      We’ve had quite a number of unfenced bulls (starting the very first day on our first gate – standing between us and the gate.
      Heidi likes cows, but bulls, not so much.
      She actually taught Henry – WHO NEVER BARKS – to bark at them in hopes of scaring them away, which it didn’t.
      He’s stopped barking but still isn’t keen on cows.
      Heidi thought it was pretty disgusting that I let them lick me. I think I was probably just a little stunned. 😀
      Take care, dear heart!
      Debbie

  3. I had no idea you had cows around you in such abundance! My step dad’s cows were afraid of us . .would run. And then there was that one encounter I shared with you. . .now I see how you know about these things and horns. 🙂
    I just love your humor and your fork posts! That last quote was hilarious! Praying for you in the storm!!! love and hugs!

    • Hey Debbie!
      Texas cows are fearless! No surprise in that, is there?
      All the cows are currently on the other side of the fence which is a nice change.:D
      I’m so surprised that none of them ever seem to get run over wandering around on the side of the road.
      So far, throwing tubs of water on them is the only deterrent we’ve found. Funny how much they don’t like that since they stand out in the rain.
      Must just be too much of a good thing all at once. 😀
      Debbie

  4. Well, “how now…” Debbie, I was going to email you a brief note re the tropical storm whipping up with a variation of your name–but thought it wouldn’t be prudent! You must be really sweet–or salty–the way the cows love you; I think that’s really “special”! As I’ve been following this for awhile, and hearing about all the benefits to living “small”–as in an RV–I’m stymied as to how you could miss (or “hide”) garbage in them. Oh well. So sorry y’all lose Internet at sundown–kind of like rolling up the sidewalks at eight! God bless you gals–much love, sis Caddo

    • Caddo –
      Woman, how do you do it? One quip after another! You might think of expanding your writing to some just plain old humorous prose! Really!
      As it turns out, the garbage was locked in the back seat of the pickup – wouldn’t want anyone to steal it! 😉
      Debbie

      • I just got out of bed–and remember I told you my sense of humor doesn’t usually reboot immediately–I’m howling with laughter over y’all “locking up” your garbage–what’s IN there, pray tell?!! I think y’all’ve been down there in the TX heat far too long–that’s what I think.

        • Caddo-
          This comment was spammed but the other wasn’t. Weird, huh?
          Really we just put the garbage in the truck to keep the NUMEROUS critters from ripping into it during the night!
          Debbie

          • Okay, that makes perfect sense (critters and garbage)!

            The spam makes none–but I’ve stopped caring–I have a life…most of the time.

          • Caddo –
            Here you are, hanging out in my trash again…? :p
            At least I know where to look for you!
            Julie is being spammed on my Grace blog but you aren’t.
            Reminds me of crop circles! 😀
            Debbie

          • Crop circles–don’t get me started! I’m finally coming out of this week’s Kamikaze gig–shoot! Hopefully I’ll be sufficiently calm to email AJ Barlow tomorrow–he’s offered to hear my issues/questions and give me his best nickel’s worth of feedback. Why do I think it will be more of the same: “um, yeah–that’s frustrating”? No put down of AJ–I dearly love him! But I’m thinking Spam is the new “feature” or some dang thing…

            Hey, you ought to be here–I’m watching a PBS documentary/reunion of the Beach Boys!! Way fun–I feel like I’m 14 again! Ooops–threw my hip out on that last song….”We’ll have fun fun fun…”

          • Hello dear Caddo –
            Laughing at the fun fun fun ouch! but not at just now finding this in my trash again. Were you down there looking for Tumblebugs?
            Seriously, I SO don’t get why half of your comments post and half go to spam???
            I’m hearing the Twilight Zone theme sound and seeing those crop circles!
            Thanks for continuing to play Hide and Seek with me.
            I’ll never stop looking for you!
            Debbie

  5. I have so many bucolic memories and cows are always part of the charm. Since becoming a gate guard, I’ve found my favorite bovines are the ‘behind a fence’ kind. Just as long as I’m on the outside, I love em!

  6. Super post Debbie! My first comment is….the more advanced the society the more they hide their garbage……second, to cows we are all salt licks, I always found this wonderful, I love cows, but in my world cows are for milking and are easily controlled, I’m guessing Texas cows don’t follow the same rules….third the fact that they miss spelled your name proves that those weather folks don’t know you and your sunshine disposition and have misnamed that storm! hugs!

    • Sherrie –
      You are so fun! When I come to NJ next year, we have to have lunch or hang out at Halo Farms, unless there are cows there, in which case, I might meet you somewhere else! 😀
      Sending hugs back East (I’d probably get lost driving – plan to fly, but I do know that NJ is East!),
      Debbie

      • I am so excited that you are coming to Jersey!!!! There are no cows at Halo Farms, they only bottle the milk there, but we can meet anywhere! Will you fly into Newark airport? I would be happy to pick you up if you need a ride. (Newark can be a bit daunting not everyone loves it like I do) How long will you stay? And yes we are very east!

        • Sherrie – 😀
          Well now, that’s some serious enthusiasm!
          I don’t know when for sure. Maybe when Dan is done at TCNJ in May?
          Or maybe before he goes back in August. A lot depends on how work is going here and how stable our job situation is.
          I’m guessing I’ll be flying into Newark.
          Heidi and I flew in there when we did a series of conferences in Delaware (which doesn’t, or at least didn’t have an airport).
          We rented a car and I was terrified driving out of there! 😉
          I’ll let you know when I know more about Dan’s schedule and mine!
          Debbie

  7. I grew up on a farm in Illinois and we had cows. Cows are not very bright and they will chew on anything. Including things on your rig. So keep an eye on them.
    Vicky

    • Vicky –
      I’d always heard that sheep aren’t especially bright and that goats will eat anything…
      I guess I didn’t know much cow lore before. 😉
      Debbie

What do you think?

