Home » Gate Guarding » Be Prepared

Be Prepared

This gate guarding business isn’t a complicated job. The environment is our primary challenge.

~

~

Given that, it pays to be prepared. I’ve already gone through all of the weapons in our attack and conquer closet but there are also practical, everyday ways to be prepared – or so I’m told (by Heidi).

I was in Brownies. I liked it quite a lot. (I’m the one on the left w/o glasses.) This picture was taken in 1966 as you could probably guess from the car across the street. It was the summer before I turned 10. I think we were marching in the 4th of July parade (there were more than 2 of us – the rest of the troop must have been somewhere else). πŸ˜€

~

~

I can’t remember why I only was in Girl Scouts for 1 year but I apparently it wasn’t in long enough to fully absorb the always Be Prepared Scout motto.

Heidi, who dropped out of Girl Scouts after 1 week because they wouldn’t let her light her own Bunsen Burner, was born with Be Prepared tattooed on her brain. She was the kind who would start her term paper the day the assignment was announced and have it done weeks ahead. She used to be an English teacher so you get the picture.

Heidi has a system for everything. She asked the Safety guy to redesign the log sheet, despite the fact this oil company has a standard form that everyone uses. He did! I guess her constant supplies of baked goods are persuasive. πŸ˜€

She Velcroed a pen and a clock to the clipboard. It couldn’t be easier.

~

~

And in case of rain, she has a separate, waterproofΒ  container to keep the log sheet and pen in.

~

~

Rain has been a new thing this year. We didn’t have any last year. As y’all know, the drought in Texas was terrible.

It’s been raining lately. A lot in the sense that it’s rained a lot of times, not a lot at a time (with a couple of exceptions). One minute the sun is shining and the next minute the sun is shining (it refuses to give up down here) but it’s also pouring.

~

~

Anyway, when we’re anticipating a weather event, which is what locals call rain, Heidi get’s everything ready. She bungees down the lights. She has a dozen boulders anchoring down the fake grass carpet to keep it in place. She keeps her rain coat in the closet, right inside the door, and an extra set of dry clothes and shoes ready to change into.

All day long, even during weather events, she works while I sleep and things go seamlessly.

Heidi goes to bed early – 7-ish.

Then I have a weather event, like yesterday. I’d forgotten to get dry clothes. I have a jacket but I didn’t take the time to put it on. I forget about the special blue case. All the ink ran and the page was so wet the pen ripped right through it.

~

~

I have no explanation, really.

~

~

I blame it on being a Girl Scout drop out.

~

~

This is the last portion of the English translation ofΒ  Robert Burns’ poem To a Mouse which could also be rightly be retitled ‘Ode to an English Teacher’:

But little Mouse, you are not alone,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

Still you are blest, compared with me!
The present only touches you:
But oh! I backward cast my eye,
On prospects dreary!
And forward, though I cannot see,
I guess and fear!

25 thoughts on “Be Prepared

  1. Once again knowing you two has been such an adventure! I was a Campfire Girl and yes I can start one, as for Brownies I only like to eat them! Thanks for the laughs I needed it. Love ya, Chris

    • Hi Chris!
      Campfire Girls has such a fun name!
      I think it’s hilarious that Heidi quit Girl Scouts (I don’t think they had Brownies where she lived) after the first meeting because they wouldn’t let her light her own Bunsen Burner. Sounds just like her, doesn’t it?
      I didn’t even know they had Bunsen Burners in Girl Scouts. I thought they were in chem labs. πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

    • Jeff –
      To which I’m certain she would reply: “Well one of us has to be!”
      I got mono my junior year in college because I’d stay up talking most of the night and then study after everyone went to sleep.
      Be prepared has never really been in my repertoire! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  2. I had problems with rain on our log sheets too. I thought the Boy Scouts were supposed to be prepared. Brownies just went around singing, “I’ve something in my pocket, it belongs upon my face. I keep it very close at hand in a most convienent place. I bet you couldn’t guess it, if you guessed a long long time, so I’ll take it out, & put it on, it’s a Great Big Brownie SMILE.” Or something like that, do you remember singing that. Then Girl Scouts had to see how many badges they could get on their sash & sell Cookies. Guess that was suppose to make sales & marketing reps out of us. Instead some of us became smiling gate guards & we stopped selling cookies & started making them & “brownies” for the rig guys & company man. Make me stop! Cute pic, you had that smile!

    • Hi Lynn!
      I’d forgotten all about that song, but yes, we certainly did sing it!
      Maybe I didn’t even last a whole year in Girl Scouts – it’s a blur.
      I never graduated to selling cookies. πŸ˜€
      Debbie

  3. Oh I love you! And this post. I think weather events are evil and impossible to prepare for after 7. πŸ™‚ I was a brownie, but a girl scout drop out too! I have trouble keeping prepared even for simple events like going to the store or taking a bath. I’d make you look good, if I were there on duty!!!
    God bless you and Heidi, no matter what happens next!

    • Deb –
      Thank you, kind friend!
      About all I can say is that I seem to have thoroughly adopted Elwood P Dowd’s philosophy:
      “For years I tried smart. I recommend pleasant.” πŸ˜‰
      Dbbie

  4. Great blog. You deserve a Blog Humor Award. Don’t know if one exists, but if it does, I’m nominating you. Thanks for the graphic pictures and being able to laugh about it.

    • Susan –
      I make so many mistakes that I used to make a living talking about them.
      I should probably just keep the camera in my pocket. I think I could write a post a day just on the things I do that come out kind of peculiar! πŸ˜‰
      Debbie

  5. Oh I love this stuff–laughing is a stupendous way to start the day, gals!! I, too, love the Brownie photo, and I was one–though I can’t recall if I made it to Girl Scouts. Probably was a drop out too–not good at social stuff, or practical skills… Heidi is somethin’ else, really (a Good somethin’)!

    I’m not big on Being Prepared–I have 2 flashlights, one has working batteries. I don’t have bottles of water, or “disaster” foods–just cookies. I do have lots of blankets–and of course, I’ve got that emergency cell phone….

    God bless you BIG–much love, sis Caddo (who, in an emergency, might go all “drama queen”–or “cast my cares” and rely on the Lord completely; just depends on the day)

      • Oh, I forgot to mention that I also have 2 hammers in my nightstand–weapons against boogie men, real or nightmared up…(probably not as good as that .38 special I sold last year–but they kind of go with the cookies and blankets, doncha think?). Happy Fourth, y’all–have a safe and sane one (best as ya can)–God bless you–love, sis Caddo

  6. Now I know another reason why we are friends!! It looks pretty normal to me. I drive Mr. A crazy sometimes with my disorganization. That is why Mr. A likes me to work nights as it keeps the “incident” rate down. Notice I say incident rather than accident. I prefer it that way. LOL

    • What is even sadder – I was a brownie and girl scout as a child and then a leader for both girls when they were growing up!!! Being prepared must have been one of those things I told them to do what I say and not what I do.. LOL

      • Jill –
        Oh funny! I guess it’s just not in our genes?
        You never need wonder about our division of labor. Heidi’s afraid to let me near anything that’s hot, heavy or mechanical.
        I do dust every night. πŸ˜‰
        Your friend,
        Debbie

    • Cindy –
      Although I like to think of them as adventures, I think you’re right, escapes is probably a better word for it! πŸ˜€
      Debbie

What do you think?

