Home » Gate Guarding » The Frog Whisperer

The Frog Whisperer

It’s been raining – quite a lot –  but that doesn’t really explain it.

~

~

There was that brief time, back in May, when we were parked right next to a swamp. There, it would have been less surprising. But here, south of Kenedy and a very long way from any water, well, it’s just odd.

~

~

Since the rains started a few days ago, stepping outside at night is like stepping into the 2nd of the 9 plagues. As far as I know, they didn’t have  Tumblebugs Egypt and ours have washed away, but the activity on the green carpet and surrounding area continues.

~

~

We’ve switched from insects to amphibians.

~

~

I like frogs. I try not to step on them on my way to the gate. As soon as I start down the steps, they freeze. I guess they think if they don’t move, I won’t see them.

You can keep your willpower, Frog. I am going home to bake a cake. (The Toad)      ~ Arnold Lobel

~

~

Blah, said Toad. ~ Arnold Lobel

~

~

The cynics among you may think that they’ve come to eat the bugs the lights beckon at night.

~

~

Time’s fun when you’re havin’ flies! ! Kermit

But I have another theory and I’m pretty sure it’s valid. To test it, I cornered a frog. He told me the first part of the story.

~

~

When I sit at the table and turn on the computer, Henry likes to take the window seat. I thought he just liked watching the men and the cows and the trucks and the rig.

~

~

It took some persuasion, but I finally got one of them to come clean.

~

~

This last little guy led me straight to the source.

~

~

I came inside where I found The Frog Whisperer feigning sleep. He’d tried to cover his tracks, but as you can see, he was in a hurry and didn’t do a very thorough job of it.

~

~

Come back and wake me up…..half past May! (the Toad)            ~ Arnold Lobel

Really, I think he’s just being modest about his gift. He’s Henry VIII. He’s too shy be a Cesar, but he does know how to whisper. I’m convinced.

~

~

22 thoughts on “The Frog Whisperer

  1. How fun. They are so cute and fun to watch. My frog is 36 pounds and delightful to watch hop. I call him Jerry. I need to get a video for you.

    • Hey Cath!
      I didn’t know you had frog – at 36 pounds, I’m surprised he can hop at all!
      Jerry – now that’s funny. Since you already have big Jerry and little Jerry, is he medium Jerry? I’d love to see a video! 😉
      Debbie

  2. Interesting Deb! Our lawn is usually teaming with frogs. We have a brrok out back where as a boy I used to catch pollywogs and watch them grow. This year all our frogs seem to have moved to Texas! N’ary a peep or a burp from a bullfrog!

    • Howdy jelillie!
      That little bright green guy was is so loud, I can hear him every night over the roar of the generator and all the noise of the rig. He’s amazing.
      Maybe he got his singing gifts from you before he migrated?
      Sorry to hear your frogs have hopped off, but thanks for sharing them. 😉
      They’re the one creature (along with the armadillos) that I really enjoy here!
      Debbie

  3. Well DEB I might have a answer to the oddity. Frogs will bury them selves when it gets dry kinda like hibernation; and come back out when its wet again. Kinda like the old movie about a village that comes t0o life every 100 years. So as far as frogs are concerned its just a celebration of life.

    • Mike and Casey –
      So that’s it!
      I thought it was something like those little monkey pills that you added water to and they grew into little foam monkeys! 😉
      Debbie

  4. Hey, Debbie! This is my new fave Forks post–the first little guy in your photo lineup has the cutest expression. (And I cannot believe Caddo just said that…) When I clicked on the videos, I was expecting to hear a song–you must have me conditioned for them, eh? Well, I’d say frogs (2nd plague or no) are a heap-big improvement over poop-bugs, for dang sure. That Henri–he continues to be the new love of my life….sigh. God bless you gals–love, sis Caddo

    • Caddo Delight!
      I finally have a moment of internet connectivity!
      I can’t believe you like the frog and the dog! Wow! That’s some transformation!! Almost like kissing and frog and… well, not quite that dramatic. 😉
      Henry is a dog with many gifts. He would love you to pieces and back together again!
      Debbie
      P.S. Big heap was funny!

      • Yeah, this Holy Spirit transformation (or old age, who knows?) is getting scary–a year ago my constant refrain was, “I don’t even recognize myself anymore”. So to add Henri to my BFF list, and then go all mushy about a frog–no one who knew me “when” would believe it, just sayin’…

      • PS–I’m so glad to see you connected–I was thinking of calling out the Marines–no, I guess it would be the Texas Rangers, down there. Ooooh, that’s even better–think I’ll fly down to look ’em over…

    • Sherrie –
      True confessions: last night I took Henry over to meet a frog (most of his contact has involved bringing us dead ones, along with dead snakes and dead fish).
      He cocked his head and looked at the frog.Then he touched it with his nose. The frog made a jump of maybe a half an inch and then flattened himself down. Henry looked at the frog, looked at me and jumped right up into my arms. 😉
      I think he only likes to talk to them when he’s safely tucked away inside and they’re outside.
      However, I’m certain that Jeff would be an exception. 😀
      Debbie

  5. Working days, I never see anything that hops. There’s a lot of truth here. The only animal Henry ever liked was his frog. It makes sense now. He’s so much more than a certified pet therapy dog!

    • Vicky –
      I pretty much lose my internet any time it gets cloudy. I’m guessing you’ve had some rain by now… or maybe not?
      You were right, being a little further East, we do get more rain AND more humidity!
      Hope all is well with you. I’ll be over to check if I can stay on line long enough.
      Debbie

  6. Aubrey and I were fascinated! And of course, it was love at first sight! 🙂 One of those little guys looked a bit like a sumo wrestler! haha! Henry is one gifted pup. There is no end to your fun, is there? love and hugs!

    • Deb –
      We continue to have on going weather events – not enough to do much good, but apparently enough to hydrate the frogs and knock out my internet. 😀
      I thought Aub might like this.
      You know that old saying about how sometimes you have to ‘make your own fun’. Never more fitting than here!
      Debbie

What do you think?

