Home » Humor » Secret Agents

Secret Agents

Before I share anymore about my recent travels, I think I’ve reached the point with Fork where it’s necessary to establish a TSACTop Secret Agent Code.

A certain simplicity of thought is common to serene souls at both ends of the social scale.
~ Joseph Conrad, The Secret Agent

In the spirit of simplicity and serenity, I’m keeping the codes to a minimum. You’ll see them re-occur from time to time in future posts. If this is your first time at visiting The Fork in the Road, you should know that 413 of the past 417 posts have been classified as TS – Top Secret, which is the answer to the mystery of 98,000 views on 4 entries.

Those of you who are continuing to read, in spite of my recent reclassification as an SA, will understand the necessity of the code.

My job, which is now classified, will simply be referred to as my TSJ – Top Secret Job.

My location, which is also classified, will be known only as my  TSL – Top Secret Location. Clearly I’m not code clever, but I am simple.

The weather, which isn’t classified, will continue to be referred to as The Weather.

All of this SA talk, makes me think of Johnny Rivers.

~

~

As a SAW – Secret Agent Woman, there is something about all this Top Secret-ness that’s givin me a false sense of importance and intrigue in what heretofore had been a rather mundane job. The recent reclassification seems to have had the same effect on my SA companions – Heidi and Henry VIII – who will be going by the code names Heidi and Henry VIII.

As FTs – Full-Timers, YRSAs Year-Round Secret Agents and TYsTerminally Yankees, we try to take a week or two off from our TSJ on our TSL about every 6-9 months. My next few posts will be about our most recent adventure.

After leaving the RV at another nearby TSL, we spent the first evening of our break getting lost and crying over dinner. Actually, only Heidi cried when she saw the hamburger, but that’s a story for another night.

Although we were officially on vacation, we must have still been feeling very clandestine-ish because we left the following morning at 4 a.m.

There’s a (wo)man who leads a life of danger.
To everyone (s)he meets (s)he stays a stranger.
With every move (s)he makes, another chance (s)he takes.
Odds are (s)he won’t hit another palm tree.

It was very, very dark. We were very, very stealth.

It’s now time for me to return to my TSW – Top Secret Work at my TSJ. More on our not top-secret adventures to come!

Secret agent (wo)man
Secret agent (wo)man
They’ve given you a warning,
and taken away your plans.

SAW, Debbie

49 thoughts on “Secret Agents

  1. Pingback: Me and My Velcro « FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Pingback: Planes, Trains and Automobiles « FORK IN THE ROAD

  3. Pingback: 64th Emmy Awards Detour « FORK IN THE ROAD

    • Hello Sherrie!
      You’re so kind! I think a persistent sense of humor is the best safeguard for my sanity, safety and job security! 😉
      My internet is mostly an apparition here at my TSL.
      Next week I will be at a new TSL!
      Maybe it will materialize more fully there! 😀
      It’s always a joy to ‘see’ you!

  4. Oh you are the best SAW ever!! The code is simply perfect and sure to jiggle our livers as we decipher and get to be somewhat SA too! Love you . ..or, er, carry on! -the other deb

  5. OH … i was was TS, LMAO, and saw H VIII, with his TS shades … and nearly peed myself. HENRY! Good sport. OH HEAVENS i will not be able to keep up my HH, H VIII, and TSJ, at the TSL for long without bursting into a country-western song-fest. You are a SAW indeed (secret agent woman). Carve a move baby! XO MEL

    • Okey dokey, here’s a little more code for you:
      S2 DE S1 = GA DR M UR RST 5NN HR = QTH TIMBUKTU = OP IS Debbie = HW? S2 DE S1 KN
      Which means something like:
      Good afternoon dear Mel. You are RST 599 here (the N’s substitute for 9’s;
      signal is very readable (5) and very strong (9), with very good tone (9))
      I’m located in Timbuktu. The operator’s name is Debbie.
      How do you copy?

  6. To Debbie and Heidi. I love all of your blogs and am so glad that you find a way to communicate with honor, grace and wit. Keep up the good work.

  7. So when do you get your SAS (Secret Agent Shoes) with the phone in the bottom? Will you be entering your SAL through a phone booth?

    Keep up the fun blogs. You’ll have a book written in no time.

    Love your humor.

    Susan

    • Susan –
      YOU are funny!
      I’m afraid Heidi’s special SAP was surreptitiously lifted from her pocket in a large gathering in AZ.
      We’re still trying to recover all the coded info…

  8. You crack me up! This stealth existence seems to suit you SO well. I am in my car (aren’t I always??) laughing out loud. I know the danger you face, I know your bravery and commitment to the TSJ. Lordy! I hope Henry (oops!) is wearing Kevlar.

    Heidi, thank you for outing the long career of our VERY funny friend. You just might be in trouble, and I for one am sorry about that. I am also grateful to you for spilling TSB (top secret beans).

    Way to Go my friend! SO many ways to end run the powers that be. My father in law would be Proud. Covert reporting at its best (and funniest!)

    I adore you both. And Henry too of course…

    Welcome ‘home’.

    Laughing out loud,

    Love, jen

  9. Heidi stole my words. You are the most witty person I know, Debbie. How clever and funny. I hadn’t thought about Johnny Rivers in years….what a great play off of his lyrics.

  10. We are indeed in trouble now! Pot Pie has donned his Inspector Clouseau attire… the Pink Possum! After all, every SAF like Henry (too cool) needs a faithful sidekick. btw…don’t forget to enter the “cone of silence” before responding. It seems vacation primes the imagination among other things. Blessings

    • Oh! What a picture!
      Pot Pie: “Henry! Where is my Surété-Scotland-Yard-type mackintosh?”
      Henry, being a dog of few words, would likely give Pot Pie the look, and they would both know the adventure was underpaw!
      I must confess, I’d forgotten all about the “cone of silence”.
      Fair warning! Thank you! 😉

  11. Debbie– You’re without a doubt the wittiest writer I know. Granted, I don’t know any other comedians, personally! I think the change in direction on Fork will work out for the best. God does that, you know… Where you were promoting a company we knew too little about, you’re now promoting good will, humor and witty exchanges. Kudos!

    (Is my tongue showing?)

  12. What a HOOT! You are so clever and funny. I loved it and I love you! That SAV (Secret Agent Vacation) apparently did you a lot of good!!! I’ll take a dozen. Still chucklin’ . . .

    • Thanks, Penny! I bought transition glasses while we where gone which makes me look much more SA-ish. They’re kind of dark so I can’t really see but I look the part now! (so dark I can’t see to spell they’re!) 😉

    • Vicki. I’m replying because she’s never going to tell anyone this. Yes. She did stand-up comedy, sort of. But we called it communications training. We traveled around the country for 25 years training people in conflict management and leadership skills. We had a ball! I did the straight teaching content briefly throughout the classes but she did the story telling, delivered the anecdotes and gave the heart of the message. We role played and got participants involved in the learning. She made people cry sometimes, laugh sometimes and most of all, she made them feel like change was possible. It was an honor to share the stage with her.

      Boy, am I going to be in trouble when she gets up today! I don’t make such a good SA. Can ya tell? I kind of stick out in a crowd.

      • Heidi –
        We may have to send you back to SA boot-camp!
        You know that we still have former employers that read Fork. 😀
        We wouldn’t want the State Board of Nurses/the Licensing Boards etc… to revoke all those thousands of CEU hours thinking people were actually having fun…

What do you think?

