Home » Halloween » Halloween’s Unintentional Ghouls

Halloween’s Unintentional Ghouls

There is a child in every one of us who is still a trick-or-treater looking for a brightly-lit front porch. ~Robert Brault

This is my second Halloween as a TSA deep in the heart of an unnamed location. Later on today we’ll be passing out candy to the boys, who don’t wear costumes, and we’ll bake some colorful cupcakes.

Last year, we were in the midst of a drought down here in the south and there wasn’t a pumpkin to be found! This year, while not plentiful, a few popped up at the grocery store and Walmart.

For some reason, I like to carve pumpkins. I don’t know why since I have no artistic ability and I insist on drawing my own faces, even though they aren’t cool and artsie like most of the stenciled pumpkins nowadays.

SAH has no interest in this activity but she puts up with me, just like my love for coloring eggs at Easter. She was very kind about procuring my pumpkins and even had the stock boy dig through dozens to find two that still had stems.

I thought about a week ahead seemed like good timing for pumpkin carving.

I was wrong. For starters, when I cut them open they were empty – really. Just a few seeds and strings. I don’t now if they have a different strain of pumpkins here in the Big state or if these two were just malnourished. It did make the scooping out go a lot faster, though.

They look pretty regular for the first few nights.

Then, they began to simply fall in on themselves.

I think they’re only a day or two away from squishy.

They’ve gone from grinning to ghoulish – not by design. Just by inertia. Today’s pumpkins will be tomorrow cattle fodder.

May Jack-o-lanterns burning bright
Of soft and golden hue
Pierce through the future’s veil and show
What fate now holds for you.
~Author Unknown

Maybe not so much with these fellows…

16 thoughts on “Halloween’s Unintentional Ghouls

    • Hey Judi –
      He was having some dental issues right from the start – I got a little blade happy and cut off one of his teeth. But by the end it was definitely too late for SeaBond! πŸ˜‰

  1. Okay, so I missed a post at each blog–don’t know why, I use the Reader and am pretty faithful, so I can’t offer up a good “‘splaining, Lucy”. I’m not a Halloween person, but celebrate your efforts–pumpkins, et al. I love the last bit–about going from grinning to ghoulish, not by design, but inertia. That probably sums me up this season… God bless you, TSA’s!

  2. The pumpkins looked great but a bit sad now. We usually carve them with our 3 Gransons and love it but didn’t get to do this year. We are on out way to become all going well a TSA. Happy Halloween.

    • Hi Linley!
      So you’re headed our way?
      We move to a new TSL on Friday.
      H won’t let me throw the pumpkins into the field until then because she’s afraid they’ll call out to the wild hogs! πŸ˜‰
      They’re looking sadder by the hour…

  3. The pumpkins look great! Having grown up in North Dakota where a carved pumpkin will last most of the month of October, I was shocked when I moved to Texas and found my carefully carved creation turned to a moldy goulish mess in just a few days. Here in Kansas our jack o lantern is holding up much better thanks to the cooler temps.

    I’m sure the boys will enjoy the treats!

    • Hi Carol!
      The guys were sweet about the treats – as usual. Such a nice bunch.
      I used to carve pumpkins a couple of weeks before Halloween.
      Boy, not in Texas, huh?!
      I guess, working with all men as a TSA, maybe scary is better anyway but it wasn’t what I was going for! πŸ˜‰

    • Hey there, Janice!
      Well, I had some fun even though they are really quite ugly now!
      I expect the guys here think it’s pretty odd – Top Secret Agents who carve pumpkins…
      They probably just chock it up to the eccentricities of old age! πŸ˜€

  4. Oh you FUN SA’s. The one on the left has SA H’s eyes! Great job. Sorry about the decay .. but that works for Halloween, course.

    Good news … the cows will just walk up and finish them off. You won’t even have to carry them off on your own power! πŸ™‚

    • Mel –
      We seem to have a shortage of cows and an abundance of wild hogs.
      SA H says the pumpkins have to stay in place until Friday – when we’ll be moving to a new TSL. Then, the hogs may feast. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

