Home » Holidays » The Four Seasons (Minus Three)

The Four Seasons (Minus Three)

I have an affection for those transitional seasons, the way they take the edge off the intense cold of winter, or heat of summer. ~Whitney Otto

Seasons… I’ve been thinking about seasons because I keep forgetting which one I’m in. I miss having real seasons. Back in the Midwest I knew what month it was because I could see and smell and touch Spring (lilacs and crocus) and Summer (fireflies and freeze tag) and Fall (bonfires and a potpourri of colors) and Winter (snowflakes and hot chocolate).

As a TSA in southern TX, I only know what month it is by seeing which holiday cards Hallmark is selling or what gaudy items Walmart has on the end racks or from the ads on TV. However, since I record more than I watch, I’ve learned not to rely too heavily on the TV. Last night I saw an ad encouraging me to take advantage of Back to School sales.

I don’t seem to be alone in this state of un-seasonal confusion. A few days ago, when it was 85 degrees, someone wrote 7/7/12 on the TS log and from then on – for hours – everyone else did the same. It was August for most of a day that first week in December on paper and on the thermometer.

But tonight is something special. We’re having a brief bit of cool weather. Tonight, and for the next 2 nights, the prediction is for temps to be right at freezing (which isn’t freezing as in terribly cold – just freezing as in 32 degrees Fahrenheit).

Some folks here love it. Some, not so much. Some, especially those who have never been north of Dallas, (no kidding – never, ever) started wearing stocking caps and coats when it got down in the 50’s at night. I couldn’t even get my kids to wear coats to school in the middle of the real winter in Iowa and people here are wearing Down Jackets when it dips below 60!

It’s 31 wonderful degrees right now. Some nights, after hours of looking longingly at the fake fireplace, I turn it on just for ambiance. But tonight, Henry VIII and I are enjoying the real heat from the real blower above the very fake logs!

I know I am but summer to your heart, and not the full four seasons of the year. ~ Texas

This is really a quote by Edna St. Vincent Millay but she could be speaking as Texas where it is perpetually summer. My heart longs for the full four seasons … fleetingly.

Mostly I just miss Spring and Fall which only last about 3 weeks each, but they’re such glorious weeks! And at Christmas time, I miss snow – just for a few days.

If you love Winter (the real Winter), or if you miss snow just a little, or if you’re happy to say you don’t have to shovel rain (or caliche), or just because it’s great music, I hope you enjoy this is a new video by The Piano Guys (ironically featuring just the cello guy). May this be your perfect snow fix – no shoveling required!

19 thoughts on “The Four Seasons (Minus Three)

  1. You make all things fun, gracious one! Even seasonal changes! Trying to see what He wants me to see and learn through it all, without looking back longingly at the warmth. πŸ™‚ Love you! P.s. we have a faker fake fireplace than yours . . .didn’t even put off any heat!

    • Deb –
      These poor Texas boys are so cold it makes me feel a little guilty for loving the weather so much. Looks like we should stay below 80 all the way through Christmas! Amazing! πŸ˜€

  2. Hi Debbie! I had to laugh about the cold weather gear when the thermometer reads below 60. You should see/hear the looks/comments I get around here–I’m still in my sandals and short pants, though I’ve occasionally added a sweater (and then I sweat!). Most folks are bundled up good. But, if you’re walking, and not for a very far distance–it takes more time to put on all those clothes, than to do the errand! I’m trying to come up with a clever reply to the constant question: “Aren’t you cold??” There should be a billboard or something: “It’s not winter till Caddo puts on socks and shoes and a jacket”. God bless y’all BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Oh Caddo –
      You and Heidi!
      She went into town in her sandals yesterday – the temps were somewhere in the 50’s – and everyone else was wearing cowboy boots or Uggs! πŸ˜€

  3. Thank you, thank you for posting the video (and your message)! We are in Tampa Fl this Christmas season. And we are missing winter. Great Music!!

    • Hi Linda –
      These guys (well just Stephen in this video but usually there are 2 of them) play with such joy, don’t they?
      I’m wishing you a very Merry, Balmy, Christmas in Tampa!

  4. I am enjoying laying up the wood for winter though this lingering cold has put a bit of damper on things. I love th Piano Guys how is it that I have never heard them before this!

  5. What I miss? The bluster and bravado of the windy coast where 30 mph is a breezy day with gusts approaching 70 to make things more interesting. I miss the massive roundy logs dredged up from the ocean depths scattered on the beach… and flotsom from Japan on the shoreline in secluded bays. That’s what I miss! Texas or the Midwest are pretty much the same in my head. The difference is that this is much easier to take without a coat during the winter,but it tempts me to nudity in the summer. Really, I’m better off in Southern Coastal Oregon…

    I LOVE the Piano Guys vid. Thanks! Got my day off to a wonderful start.

  6. Ahh yes….the seasons ..real ones. Sunday I was at Coffeesmiths waiting for
    Chris and it started to snow. People chatting, warming their hands around their
    cups, sipping and charmed by the calming white flakes. It’s amazing. The change that takes place in the heart when the snow appears on a cloudy misty day.
    This has been the very first year of my whole life that I have not minded the early darkness, shorter days. Don’t know why but I had no angst. The past several years since I got involved in all things green ( plants and flowers) I couldn’t wait for Dec 22nd, shortest day of the year. Because magically the days got longer rather quickly. I anticipate them. Since becoming involved in gardening the winters got shorter. They were a welcome time to rest, ponder and plan for the coming spring. I found the change interesting.

    I still enjoy it all Gods handiwork in all the seasons is amazing. Maybe I should start seeing myself that way. Seasonal. Pushing daisies.

    • Hey Cath –
      You can make winter sound so appealing! I do love all of that – for a few days. πŸ˜€
      What does make me happy is that you’re not minding the darkness this year. Wonderful!
      Wow! Yes – what an interesting perspective – we’re all a bit seasonal!
      Just so long as you picture yourself pushing daisies and not pushing up daisies! πŸ˜‰

    • dear Sue –
      I have a secret (well, it’s not a secret now I guess) desire to play the cello.
      I’m not sure Heidi would find it all that handy to have a cello in the RV so I just indulge my love for the music by watching Stephen play it with such glee!
      (By the way, did you notice how Heidi managed to turn the whole seasonal post to a lament about how much she misses Oregon?)

  7. Seasons make me think of Grace, (Harper). A higher power … those amazing changes of Mother Nature that we don’t “really” control, but we learn to love and sort of count on …

    I’m sure the seasons are missing you too SA in Hot Town (always)! xo MEL

    • Hello dear Mel –
      That’s it – I counted on the seasons! It’s kind of disorienting to me to only have one.
      Well, there’s no lack of seasonal changes where you are is there?! πŸ˜€
      While it never seemed to cool off at all last year, H, H & I are loving these 30 degree nights and 60 degree days. They’re fleeting but oh so fun!
      By the way, this is what my house really looked like – very, very green! I’m guessing I was about 5 or 6 in this picture. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

