Home » Full Time RVing » Time Flies …

Time Flies …

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana. ~ Groucho Marx

We started working as gate guards Top Secret Agents 2 years and 5 days ago. Wow!

Time flies… sometimes. The thing about being a TSA is that time carries no inherent sense of proportion. Time flies, time drags, time stands still.

I almost never know what day of the week it is, sometimes I don’t remember what month it is and the year is mostly entirely irrelevant (apart from log sheets) which I’ll have to remember to change to 2013 today.

Today is the one day of the year, according to the Journal of Clinical Psychology, that nearly half of all Americans, will make resolutions. Not too many will keep them, only about 8%. But today, and for about a week, a lot of folks will feel overwhelmingly optimistic! ๐Ÿ˜€

ย _______________________________________________
Statistic Verification
Source: University of Scranton. Journal of Clinical Psychology
Published: 12.13.2012
Rank Top 10 New Years resolutions for 2012
1
Lose Weight
2
Getting Organized
3
Spend Less, Save More
4
Enjoy Life to the Fullest
5
Staying Fit and Healthy
6
Learn Something Exciting
7
Quit Smoking
8
Help Others in Their Dreams
9
Fall in Love
10
Spend More Time with Family
News Years Resolution Statistics Data
Percent of Americans who usually make New Yearโ€™s Resolutions 45%
Percent of Americans who infrequently make New Yearโ€™s Resolutions 17%
Percent of Americans who absolutely never make New Yearโ€™s Resolutions 38%
Percent of people who are successful in achieving their resolution 8%
Percent who have infrequent success 49%
Percent who never succeed and fail on their resolution each year 24%
People who explicitly make resolutions are 10 times more likely to attain their goals than people who donโ€™t explicitly make resolutions
Type of Resolutions (Percent above 100% because of multiple resolutions) Data
Self Improvement or education related resolutions 47%
Weight related resolutions 38%
Money related resolutions 34%
Relationship related resolutions 31%
Age Success Rates Data
Percent of people in their twenties who achieve their resolution each year 39%
Percent of people over 50 who achieve their resolution each year 14%
Length of Resolutions Data
Resolution maintained through first week 75%
Past two weeks 71%
Past one month 64%
Past six months 46%

_____________________________________________________

Funny conclusion in the center of the study: People who explicitly make resolutions are 10 times more likely to attain their goals than people who don’t explicitly make resolutions. OK…

That seems a lot like saying people who set goals are 10 times more likely to attain their goals than people who don’t set any. Goals and resolutions aren’t exactly the same, though. Goals are mundane. Goals lack that sparkly magical thinking of a Special Resolution Holiday. Dave Barry shares some insights on NYR’s.

No, seriously, you need to make some New Year’s resolutions so that you can become a better you โ€” a more-attractive you, an organized you, a you that is โ€ฆ well, less like you.

At this point, you are saying: “Dave, I would love nothing better than to be less like myself, but every year I make the same New Year’s resolution, which is that I will lose weight, and currently my thighs are the diameter of the trans-Alaska pipeline.”

Don’t feel bad! Many people have trouble sticking to their resolutions, and there is a simple scientific explanation for this. In 1987, a team of psychologists conducted a study in which they monitored the New Year’s resolutions of 275 people. After one week, the psychologists found that 92 percent of the people were keeping their resolutions; after two weeks, we have no idea what happened, because the psychologists had quit monitoring. They’d lost their motivation.

I have some goals. I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. This is probably just as well since the study says that the number of people over the age of 50 who are successful in maintaining their resolve tops out at 14%.

I don’t know if that’s because we’re more realistic or more forgetful? But that’s not why I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t make NYR’s because of my propensity to procrastinate.

What if I waited until January 1st to set about meeting new goals and then procrastinated? I’d have to waitย  a whole year until it was time to resolve again. Instead, I try to set small goals, daily resolutions. Things like:

Today I’m going to…

  • be a little kinder
  • be more generous in my thoughts toward those with whom I disagree
  • learn something odd (makes conversations more interesting) ๐Ÿ˜€
  • read/watch things that makes me look at different perspectives
  • laugh out loud
  • smile at everyone – even cranky people – especially cranky people
  • beat Henry in Cribbage (well, maybe not this year – he’s very good)

I like small resolutions – little things, doable things. It works for me and when I follow through, time flies! And as Kemit says:

Time’s fun when you’re having flies. ~ Kermit the Frog

21 thoughts on “Time Flies …

    • hello dear judi –
      “Small steps create movement” – great thought and so true!
      Reminds me of the movie “What About Bob” and baby-stepping. Nothing wrong with baby steps. It’s that ‘deer in the headlights’ lack of response that’ll get a person run over! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Henry thanks you for the encouragement. He’s a humble winner – so far…

  1. Hi Debbie,
    My husband and I are contemplating getting into gate guarding and I’d love to get your take on the real ups and downs of this “career”. I have so many questions that I won’t bore others with them here but I’d love the chance to chat via email if you’re available.

    Happy New Year!
    Mindy

    • Hello Mindy –
      I’ve sent you an email. Let me know if you don’t get it. ๐Ÿ˜€
      I’d be more than happy to answer anything I can and have also including links to some other blogs that aren’t Top Secret that I think you might enjoy!
      Happy New Year to you, too!

  2. This was so much fun, and made me feel better about the whole resolution thing! haha! Laughing about the percentage rate for keeping resolutions when we’re over 50 being low because maybe we forget! That could definitely be it for me. Thank you for all the smiles and making this New Year’s a happier one!
    love and prayers!

    • Happy New Year, dear Deb!
      It’s nice to know that 50 lowers our failure rate. I’m choosing to interpret these stats as lower expectations = less failure = we’re just in the happy 86% who are content! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Over the years I have had every resolution you have listed. I am in the over 50 percentage!! Now I take one day at a time. I couldn’t even compete with that handsome Henry. But I muddle through it all in my own little world!! lol Great post.

    • Hello my friend!
      Wasn’t #8 an interesting resolution: “Help Others in Their Dreams”
      Do you think they meant help others achieve their dreams? OR
      I’d like to be in other people’s dreams where I can help them and then wake up at home?
      I was also kind of surprised that people make Falling in Love a resolution – as if you can will yourself to do it?
      Anyway, thanks for reading and smiling with me!
      Happy New Year!

  4. Love the photo of Henry. David and the children/grandchild surprised me!!! They arrived on Dec 26th, late evening!!! They all had been planning this visit for 2 months, and me none the wiser. David had arranged someone to cover our gate for a few days so we could all spend two days in San Antonio. Hated to come back home. No resolutions, but I will strive to do all 10 things on your top 10 list. Happy New Year. Penny

What do you think?

