Home » Attitudes » Gig on a Rig Tip #2: Don’t Worry Be Happy

Gig on a Rig Tip #2: Don’t Worry Be Happy

Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Don’t worry, Be Happy. I remember when Bobby McFerrin released that chart topping hit in 1988. I remember it mostly because Heidi’s son, who was 7, loved it! I thought it was kind of catchy but trite. And I thought he only loved it because he was 7.

I’ve come to think he loved it because he was smarter about some things back then than I was – things like how worry will rob you of happiness. If you don’t remember the song or if you do, this is a mini-version (all my limited internet can handle):

~

~

I tried to address the Don’t Worry part with Tip 1. Be Flexible but I’m adding Be Happy. I’ll be honest here, I used to roll my eyes when I heard people say things like Happiness is a Choice. I didn’t discover the truth of it until years and years after Bobby McFerrin’s song.

Of course everyone is circumstantially unhappy sometimes. Bad things happen. Sad things happen. But there are people who have a happy constitution. Others not so much and y’all know the type. Just like being happy seems to come naturally to some folks, it’s as foreign as French to others.

I was reading a blog a while back  written by a writer who keeps a list of things that annoy him. It’s a long list. It’s a growing list because once you start looking for things that annoy you it’s real easy to become a collector.

Anyway, this whole Be Happy spiel is a bridge between Tip 1. Be Flexible and Tip 3. I Recommend Pleasant – which I’ll write about tomorrow if the internet is happy and smiling on me after sunset.

Those who can laugh without cause have either found the true meaning of happiness or have gone stark raving mad.  ~Norm Papernick

33 thoughts on “Gig on a Rig Tip #2: Don’t Worry Be Happy

  1. Pingback: Gig on a Rig Tip# 3 – I Recommend Pleasant | FORK IN THE ROAD

  2. Thanks Deb! This was good. I try to live by the motto, “He who is flexible will not be bent out of shape.” Look forward to the pleasant post. Hey I have set up a new blog called “Lillie-Put”. Hope you can come and visit sometime!

    • Hello jel!
      This is the first time I’ve been able to get on line since I wrote this three weeks ago. I’ll certainly visit your new blog! That’s exciting!
      I love your quote – great words to live by!

  3. I used to go beyond rolling my eyes at those “happiness is a choice freaks”–(hide the knives!)–and now I’m one of them! So I s’pose folks read my blog and get grumpy some days–oh well. As far as the possibility that I’ve gone stark raving mad–that’s a happy “Affirmative!” God bless y’all–cute pic!! love, No-Time-to-Wallow Caddo

    • Caddo –
      You are the walking talking picture of choosing happiness and then lavishing it on the rest of us!
      You’re an inspiration, my friend!!!

  4. you 2 have always been an inspiration to us and this just reminds us of why!!! Desides that both of you LOOK SO GREAT!!! Who is the fellow with you?

    • Casey –
      Wow – we miss you guys!
      We learned so much from you and Mike and we’re forever grateful!
      Heidi says the fellow in the middle is our new Sugar Daddy…
      He doesn’t look too keen on the concept, does he? 😉

  5. I think ole Abe hit the nail on the head. While saying that, I am not talking about people who suffer from depression. Depression is a very real and disabling disease. Every day before I lift my head off my pillow,( Well I must admit sometimes I have to use the bathroom before I do my thinking), I think about all the things I have to be thankful for in my life. Not the material things (with the exception of having a roof over my head) but the things in life that really matter. Some of the happiest people I have ever met, have the least material life while the most unhappy people only boast about their material world. Happiness cannot be bought and put on display to be googled over. It comes from the heart. We may be facing difficult times but if we focus on the positive and reflect on our blessings, we will be happy. There is great peace in happiness. That may be way too simple but it is how I choose to live my life.

    • Jill, my friend –
      You are a constant inspiration.
      I love it that you open your eyes and count your blessings! What a way to start a day!
      I certainly agree and in no way meant to minimize depression. It’s a dark abyss of a place that can drain away all joy.
      Your philosophy may be simple but it’s profound and beautiful.
      Thank you for sharing it.

  6. Saying “HI”. Will come back to read. XO I’m sure this is a fabulous post. Just sayiin’ Hope you are well. XO mel

    • Oh Debbie, Heidi and Judi, I know you’ve moved on beyond the misserableness that i still tip toe into. I DO try EVERY DAY to “check my buttons” at the door.

      I can’t wait to read about PLEASANT, and I LONG for calm, pleasant, kindness, “no negative buttons”.

      I act pleasant (except to the few lucky people who get to hear me whine). Lucky. No, trusted friends. I assume I can keep reading Fork and 2MOG and learn some life lessons, and in the meantime, I hope i’m not alone in my tendencies to slip into pissy!

      I think if we don’t get that “SOMETHING” that we need, or that comfort, or that security, it’s easy to list and focus on all the stupid (and big) things that are stinky in life. Actually, the opposite. I’m one of the “dispositions” that is sort of AMAZED that the world isn’t really a nice place! I want everyone to be kind and gentle and accepting; and find that it is quite the opposite and so my disposition turns to “i’m wrong”; i don’t fit, what am i doing wrong. And i tend to worry about these things that seem “unfair” or “rare” in the world, when in fact the poo poo is the REAL world, and my attitude needs to change.

      Look, i don’t want to vent too much more. I AM so tired of worrying, or thinking i’m wrong, i’m bad, i’m only SOMETIMES one of the happy campers. I don’t know tricks; never worked in a circus…

      BUT

      I can say, that i LOVE pleasant people. The OVERLY YIPPEE YIPPEE YIPPEE folks, i don’t trust, and CERTAINLY cannot spend too much time in the company thereof … so KEEP teaching me how to sort my funky head out.

      How honest is THAT!? MEL,

      Love to you, and i hope the funky internet stops being a naughty parker to you!

      • Hello dear Mel!
        I’m hopeless with technology but Heidi is tenacious and it appears she may have solved our internet-less problem. 😀
        Thank you for such a thoughtful response.
        You’re in many ways, such an “innocent” in this world.

        I hope to write about Pleasant tomorrow. I think it’s a more doable concept than Happy.
        I’m with you – the Nicey Nice people are scary because you can sense the insincerity. That’s not happiness. That’s just a performance.
        You’re family here and at TMOG – my arms are always open – happiness is never required.

        • I’ll try flexible. Sadly, lately, I feel as though i’d be bored if i didn’t worry. Maybe I am a drama queen. I should at least “dress” the part. 🙂

  7. Judi– I am right with you. One of my favorite comebacks, was “Happiness is overrated” I cannot believe that was me. I was so ruled by my emotions that I had no clue they even had a control panel… and that I was the one pushing the buttons!

    Debbie– Wise woman, you are. I’m privileged to be on wheels with ya. Rollin’ rollin’ rollin’ …rawhide! (she always has a music track in her head and I’m just messin with it!)

    PS: The awestruck guy in the middle is our new sugar daddy…

    • Heidi HO!
      You know you’re going to be hearing that tune for a week, at least! You brought it on yourself…
      Thank you for making it so easy to be happy!
      Oh, and I ate 4 of your cinnamon rolls while you were sleeping – I’ve very happy. 😀

  8. I’m one of those “always happy” people and I do think it is a choice. I figure you have a choice of happy or miserable and more good things seem to happen when you “put on a happy face”.

    • Bobbie –
      Life is perspective, isn’t it?
      I have a friend who gets angry when she has unexpected expenses right after she gets her tax refund (which more than covers them).
      This has happened on several occasions and she gets more upset each time.
      And I have another friend who is always so grateful to have enough money to pay her taxes (she never gets a refund).
      Every year she’s happy at tax time. ;D
      I’m with you – choosing to be happy changes the outcome of each day.
      I’m not in the least surprised that you are one of the “always happy” people!
      It suites you and it shows!

  9. Wow – did this post come at an appropriate time! Thank you. Heidi’s little 7 year old was a wise soul. I enjoy all your posts – they invariably put a smile on my face…and thanks for the great picture of you two….

    • Hello Sharan!
      My apologies for being so slow in responding. I’m a Ludite when it comes to technology but Heidi may have just found a way to get our internet cooking!
      Thank you for your kind words!

  10. I loved the picture of happy Heidi and you and your friend! 🙂 And I’m giggling at the long list of things that annoyed the blogger. . .but it’s probably not really funny. oops. Too much happy in me today. I think these tips are going to be good for all of us! Thank you and God bless!

    • Debbie –
      As you can see from the photo, Heidi and I were a bit too much for our new friend! 😉
      Your optimistic, loving,cheerful attitude are an continual encouragement to me!

    • Oh Sherrie –
      When a person’s default is set on rage, much has to be forgiven to get to happy. That takes great courage.
      Good for you for choosing happiness.
      You’re a grand example!

  11. Even a pin-point of light will fill a cave of darkness!
    We must remember to STOP our lists of dark thoughts thats exactly where Satan wants us to dwell
    Besides a list of all the things makes us happy
    Mary Poppins was right!
    God Bless

    • Susie – You made me laugh!
      Mary Poppins was right indeed!
      Another Poppins quote I’ve found to have great personal life application: “Close your mouth, please, Michael. We are not a codfish.”
      Saying less is often the better choice! 😉

  12. I remember when the happy people used to really bother me – I felt more comfy with the misery focus. Thankful for learning like you….it is a better way! Bless you Debbie

What do you think?

